Pull the other one, tiger. You can't even take an internet gasbag session here in your stride without becoming a drama queen. During BTECs, we used to exploit that exact characteristic to lead the opposition into our killing zones. Said it before, say it again: you'd be a danger to the men around you.
Thank you for your valuable input, Mr McNab.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:i reali duno abt how the army works or anything. but i onli know its a serve and fark off affair lor...sometimes i'm torn between the two sides: just go in and slack or go in and do your best. i will just take everything in my stride though.
You are the typical serve and fuck off type guy,there is no confusion about it.
What the the eyesight requirement for CDO? Heard one say perfect, another say 200 degrees. Some CDOs wear specs, no doubt, i've seen them. But can a left eye 2.5 dioptres (250 degree) be taken in?
Originally posted by lam_sheng_hong:What the the eyesight requirement for CDO? Heard one say perfect, another say 200 degrees. Some CDOs wear specs, no doubt, i've seen them. But can a left eye 2.5 dioptres (250 degree) be taken in?
the eyesight requirements for cdo is not more than 300 degrees per eye if i'm not wrong.
anyway when are you enlisting? your question kinda shows that you are still in school though...
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:
the eyesight requirements for cdo is not more than 300 degrees per eye if i'm not wrong.
anyway when are you enlisting? your question kinda shows that you are still in school though...
less than 250. I'm one of the specky.
Yo James.Shiwen here.Finally back on sgforums after a long sabbatical.In1st year uni now.
Relax on the 'Cdo & Pilot'. He's a young guy who's probably still idealistic and hasn't experienced the system yet.
Cdo,wait until you serve.The ads are very glamorous,but just go into the system and experience it first.Gedanken was a former commando who did his training in 1993.He's got the injuries to prove it.Pilots are also the creme de la creme,so good on you if you can make it,shows you have some spark.
But don't make claims unless you can back them up.Trust me on this and take it from me.I've learnt the hard way,so learn from someone elses mistakes and be a but more intelligent than you're coming off.
Originally posted by Sardaukar-Prime:Yo James.Shiwen here.Finally back on sgforums after a long sabbatical.In1st year uni now.
Relax on the 'Cdo & Pilot'. He's a young guy who's probably still idealistic and hasn't experienced the system yet.
Cdo,wait until you serve.The ads are very glamorous,but just go into the system and experience it first.Gedanken was a former commando who did his training in 1993.He's got the injuries to prove it.Pilots are also the creme de la creme,so good on you if you can make it,shows you have some spark.
But don't make claims unless you can back them up.Trust me on this and take it from me.I've learnt the hard way,so learn from someone elses mistakes and be a but more intelligent than you're coming off.
I also got injuries lo. knee problems.. :(
Originally posted by Sardaukar-Prime:Relax on the 'Cdo & Pilot'. He's a young guy who's probably still idealistic and hasn't experienced the system yet.
It's a dog-eat-dog world out there, buddy boy. The kid may as well get used to it now.
Vis-a-vis injuries, thankfully nothing was permanent, although my shoulders and hips still do tend to give way if I'm not careful. Reckon I'm still good in a scrap.
Welcome back, by the way. How's uni treating you?
Blanket party!
looking back, i'm proud of my time in ndu.
is it true that for guards and commandoes who take part in parades wear their berets with their number ones instead of the big caps?
Originally posted by the eyepowerer:is it true that for guards and commandoes who take part in parades wear their berets with their number ones instead of the big caps?
obvious answer. watch the parade on 9th Aug leh.. :P
Students will engage in a major system analysis and development project integral to this unit. They will use ORM as part of the Design process, they will Develop a working information system and Evaluate it's effectiveness given an understanding of audience, interfaces and accessibility. They will work collaboratively in teams and apply theoretical knowledge and processes in practical implementation.
Adam
Hello,
I just finished BMT and got posted to SISPEC. Anyway, I'm very interested to sign on as Guards Spec or Guards Officer if I can cross to OCS.
Anyway, I read up a bit on Guards and the physical part scares me a bit. Especially when I am considered small, 50+KG for 1.83m, when my PC made us fireman lift our buddies during BMT, I could barely walk with a 60KG+ buddy plus 2 SAR-21s.
And I read up from the army website or somewhere that says that there's this course to go through. 50M swim, then an obstacle course with rappelling then 5KM run with the last 1.5KM casevec-ing an 'injured' teammate with FBO.
So I'm seeking advice/tips/experience from 'old' or 'new' Guardsmen alike on what they have to say on life as a guardsmen.
Thanks in advance.
this FAQ page 1 to 7 is guardsmen life liao... what else...
I'm enlisted into commando next year. However, I've got lazy eye, meaning my left eye has got perfect vision, but not my right eye. Being a right hander, I'm worried that I will have to wear glasses in order to take aim with my right eye. Is it possible if I hold the gun using my left hand and take aim using my perfect left eye? I don't want the trouble of wearing glasses! :S
Originally posted by coldzero:I'm enlisted into commando next year. However, I've got lazy eye, meaning my left eye has got perfect vision, but not my right eye. Being a right hander, I'm worried that I will have to wear glasses in order to take aim with my right eye. Is it possible if I hold the gun using my left hand and take aim using my perfect left eye? I don't want the trouble of wearing glasses! :S
if using m16 rifle, choice of using deflector for left handers.
if using sar21 rifle, even left handers also follow the majority right handers.
Originally posted by coldzero:I'm enlisted into commando next year. However, I've got lazy eye, meaning my left eye has got perfect vision, but not my right eye. Being a right hander, I'm worried that I will have to wear glasses in order to take aim with my right eye. Is it possible if I hold the gun using my left hand and take aim using my perfect left eye? I don't want the trouble of wearing glasses! :S
or u can wear an eye patch like captain hook to cover ur lazy eye, and then shoot with the good eye.
anybody noes wat is the oldest age to go thru a guards officer conversion cse? or commando? like some 26 or 27 yr old regular officer? i've seen before in infantry ...
Originally posted by kenjutsu:anybody noes wat is the oldest age to go thru a guards officer conversion cse? or commando? like some 26 or 27 yr old regular officer? i've seen before in infantry ...
I quote one old timer enchik(Education only Primary 6) from SAFTI 'Is you can you is the can'
how would you know if you are enlisted for cdo?
Originally posted by Nokia-lover:how would you know if you are enlisted for cdo?
got pre selection round - get letter to report for VA assessment / interview.
then, go home wait for enlistment letter to see report to tekong or pasir ris camp
Originally posted by Nokia-lover:how would you know if you are enlisted for cdo?
report at pasir ris camp in pt kit
got pre selection round is they ask one or you ownself wna?