Originally posted by sir sickolot II:COL Philip Lim also served tours in the Armour and Infantry too...
This is the first time i'm going to see a general from the Commando formation.
Seven Colonels (COL) promoted to the rank of Brigadier-General (BG) / Rear-Admiral(One Star) (RADM) are:
COL Chan Chun Sing
Commander, 9th Division/Chief Infantry Officer
COL Hoo Cher Mou
Commander, Air Defence and Operations Command
[b]COL Lim Chern Tjunn Philip
Assistant Chief of the General Staff (Operations)
COL Ng Chee Peng
Director (Policy)
COL Tan Chuan-Jin
(currently on course)
COL Tay Kian Seng
Head, Naval Operations Department
COL(Dr) Wong Chee Meng John
Chief of Medical Corps
Source: MINDEF webbie
Correct me if i'm wrong but COL Philip Lim is a CDO right? haha
Not to forget too.. CDF, COA, CAF also promoted in rank.
Cheers
wad is BG Tan's current appt? His name is familiar... was he involved in Ops Flying Eagle?Originally posted by LazerLordz:I foresee that BG Tan Chuan Jin may move up slightly faster than the others..
Yup, Task Force Commander of OFE and Defence Attache to Indonesia then as well.Originally posted by sir sickolot II:wad is BG Tan's current appt? His name is familiar... was he involved in Ops Flying Eagle?
Originally posted by sir sickolot II:Big deal....
This is the first time i'm going to see a general from the Commando formation.
Seven Colonels (COL) promoted to the rank of Brigadier-General (BG) / Rear-Admiral(One Star) (RADM) are:
COL Chan Chun Sing
Commander, 9th Division/Chief Infantry Officer
COL Hoo Cher Mou
Commander, Air Defence and Operations Command
[b]COL Lim Chern Tjunn Philip
Assistant Chief of the General Staff (Operations)
COL Ng Chee Peng
Director (Policy)
COL Tan Chuan-Jin
(currently on course)
COL Tay Kian Seng
Head, Naval Operations Department
COL(Dr) Wong Chee Meng John
Chief of Medical Corps
Source: MINDEF webbie
Correct me if i'm wrong but COL Philip Lim is a CDO right? haha
Not to forget too.. CDF, COA, CAF also promoted in rank.
Cheers
all high flyers sia. Chan Chun Sing seems like a potential COA.Originally posted by jaspeanuts:Most of them are SAF Scholars.
Philip Lim is a CDO and Tan Chuan Jin was involved with Operation Flying Eagle.
These group will form the next generation of Chief of Army together with Chan Chun Sing.
I second that.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Big deal....
whatever rocks your socks.Originally posted by Coquitlam:Big deal....
Originally posted by Fatum:hmmmmm ......
lemme guess ....
former scout ... ACSian .... MIT alumni ? ....
Originally posted by Fatum in Legend of SAF - BG Lee:speaking of colonels .... I'll always remember this very young chap who's a full colonel during an exercise ....
ACS boy ... went to MIT .... scout also .... know how we knew ? ... cos he's full of himself and would drop in snippets of his personal life while holding court in the planning room ...
got pwnzed pretty quickly by the opfor during the actual exercise though .... by a career soldier no less ..... (I don't count scholars as career soldiers, their real careers start when they jump over to some GLCs, stats boards, or for a lucky few, the parliament ... )
Hi.Originally posted by jaspeanuts:Most of them are SAF Scholars.
Philip Lim is a CDO and Tan Chuan Jin was involved with Operation Flying Eagle.
These group will form the next generation of Chief of Army together with Chan Chun Sing.
no one knows who will be the next COA, although we can make guesses. Like perhaps BG Hugh Lim, who is current COS.Originally posted by nuratz:Hi.
How do you know those BGs will be next-in-line for COA?
anyways BG Tan Chuan Jin was my CO when i was at 3 guards. he rocks.
saw at where? my ex big big big boss! he's kinda young, 38 this year IIRC.Originally posted by sir sickolot II:no one knows who will be the next COA, although we can make guesses. Like perhaps BG Hugh Lim, who is current COS.
I saw a interview of BG CS Chan, CIO recently. He is one very very young BG! Looks like MINDEF believes he has got some good potential.
38 is not young for a BG. Lim Chuan Poh was LG at 39. BG CS Chan looks early 30s in my opinion. Perhaps, he might be older than he looks.Originally posted by Unknown_X:saw at where? my ex big big big boss! he's kinda young, 38 this year IIRC.
i just came to realise he might have. Cause if I am not wrong there is also a BG Phillip Lim, who is the Chief Armour Officer. And as mentioned, BG Lim did serve in armour although he has been with the red berets.Originally posted by Joshua1975:dun think so. must have gave up his vocation to get the star.
correct me if i am wrong.