i don't even want my 3sg if i could get away with it, i would have been very happy to not get cpl too. saves half a yearOriginally posted by tulanboy:Haven't you guys given this a good thought before, that some personnels are conveniently promoted to 3SG after attending a theory course without going through Sispec or other combat equivalent schools.
It's pure injustice. These non-combat 3SGs are usually soft, pale and feeble. Yet, they are privileged and excused from 'falling in' and get to watch the platoon from the sideline. All they need to do is put both arms behind their back (while pacing up and down) and look serious while the last parade is given out.
There are many worthy and capable corporals out there because of some reasons are denied such relaxing theory courses and remain stuck at the CPL rank. Their education or intelligence (if you can measure that) are no worse than some 3SGs, definitely.
For people who beg to differ with my view, you may argue that it's all in the appointment. Yes, a theory instructor needs to exert some command over his trainees but the army is a very different institution; personnel who has to be promoted because of their appointment should clear the Sispec course and prove their physical worth. The IPPT criteria alone is not enough, I believe.
I came back from reservist recently and was disgusted at how indiscriminately they promoted 2SGs to 1SGs. There were NO corporals or lance corporals promoted at all. According to the head, the list had 26 sergeants waiting to be promoted! It seems as though being a specialist guaranteed a further promotion regardless of perfromance. It was as if god had sent a decree. I mean...26! That's ridiculous. Compare this to the total number of LCPs and CPLs promoted: 0! Is that to say all the men performed autrociously bad?
I advocate the abolishment of the non-combat 3SG rank. Too many LCPs and CPLs are grieving with no alternatives.
Ranks of servicemen in uniformed services
The ranks of servicemen in the uniformed services of the
Singapore Armed Forces, in order of seniority, shall be as
follows:
General/Admiral
Lieutenant-General/Vice Admiral
Major-General/Rear Admiral (Two-Star)
Brigadier-General/Rear Admiral (One-Star)/ME8
(Military Expert 8)
Colonel/ME7 (Military Expert 7)
Senior Lieutenant-Colonel
Lieutenant-Colonel/ME6 (Military Expert 6)
Major/ME5 (Military Expert 5)
Captain/ME4 (Military Expert 4)
Lieutenant
Second Lieutenant
Chief Warrant Officer
Senior Warrant Officer
Master Warrant Officer
First Warrant Officer/ME3 (Military Expert
3)
Second Warrant Officer
Third Warrant Officer
Master Sergeant/ME2 (Military Expert 2)
Staff Sergeant
First Sergeant
Second Sergeant/ME1 (Military Expert 1)
Third Sergeant
Corporal (First Class)
Corporal
Lance-Corporal
Private (First Class)
Private
Recruit.
last time lah. they penalise those pple with higher education by promoting them to cpl at least even if they were absolute kluts and make them serve another half a yearOriginally posted by Ristar:wat half a year? ppl serve only 2 years now wat.
my time 2.5 yearsOriginally posted by Ristar:wat half a year? ppl serve only 2 years now wat.
Last time it seemed to be violation of human rights to be promoted against one person's real will but promotion in reservist also cannot reject.Originally posted by hisoka:last time lah. they penalise those pple with higher education by promoting them to cpl at least even if they were absolute kluts and make them serve another half a year
that is true.. rather dun want to be promoted during reservist..Originally posted by tokyofire:U registered just to post this??
U seem like beri siao on.. how come u never sign on?
If u ask any of the reservist around, most of them will tell u that they do not want to be promoted. The higher the rank, the more sai kang u have.
Ppl come for 14days ICT, those with appointments have to come back a few days earlier to do all the sai kang.
Anyway, I wont be promoted to 2SG because my performance is POOR. Hip Hip Hooray~ Hip Hip Hooray~
Totally agree with you for nsmen and nsf unless u are an officer,most pp don't even want the rank,the differences in allowances are only a little and yet more duties are to being perform got 3SG compare to cpl not forgetting durning my time LCP and below only serve two yrs of NS while cpl and above 2.5 yrs,if given a chance my batch will more than willing to give away our ranks to those regularsOriginally posted by tokyofire:U registered just to post this??
If u ask any of the reservist around, most of them will tell u that they do not want to be promoted. The [b]higher the rank, the more sai kang [/b]u have.
Ppl come for 14days ICT, those with appointments have to come back a few days earlier to do all the sai kang.
Anyway, I wont be promoted to 2SG because my performance is POOR. Hip Hip Hooray~ Hip Hip Hooray~
x2... must be new to reservist...Originally posted by tokyofire:U registered just to post this??
If u ask any of the reservist around, most of them will tell u that they do not want to be promoted. The higher the rank, the more sai kang u have.
Originally posted by tulanboy:Haven't you guys given this a good thought before, that some personnels are conveniently promoted to 3SG after attending a theory course without going through Sispec or other combat equivalent schools.
It's pure injustice. These non-combat 3SGs are usually soft, pale and feeble. Yet, they are privileged and excused from 'falling in' and get to watch the platoon from the sideline. All they need to do is put both arms behind their back (while pacing up and down) and look serious while the last parade is given out.
There are many worthy and capable corporals out there because of some reasons are denied such relaxing theory courses and remain stuck at the CPL rank. Their education or intelligence (if you can measure that) are no worse than some 3SGs, definitely.
For people who beg to differ with my view, you may argue that it's all in the appointment. Yes, a theory instructor needs to exert some command over his trainees but the army is a very different institution; personnel who has to be promoted because of their appointment should clear the Sispec course and prove their physical worth. The IPPT criteria alone is not enough, I believe.
I came back from reservist recently and was disgusted at how indiscriminately they promoted 2SGs to 1SGs. There were NO corporals or lance corporals promoted at all. According to the head, the list had 26 sergeants waiting to be promoted! It seems as though being a specialist guaranteed a further promotion regardless of perfromance. It was as if god had sent a decree. I mean...26! That's ridiculous. Compare this to the total number of LCPs and CPLs promoted: 0! Is that to say all the men performed autrociously bad?
I advocate the abolishment of the non-combat 3SG rank. Too many LCPs and CPLs are grieving with no alternatives.
And I have one thing to add on to what you said: you are clearly not engaging in this discourse on the same frequency. I suppose you view me as some power-hungry lad who goes all out to flame all 3SGs because I don't have the necessary 'capacity' to take on a higher rank. My advice to you: read more, think more and you'll make comments more like a human being. And what exactly constitutes 'having seen enough of the SAF'? Have you, yourself? I'm talking about incapable pieces of shit who get promoted to 3SG by passing a no-brainer theory course and swagger while they walk and pretend to shout orders with booming authority.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I only have one thing to say.
Threadstarter has not seen enough of the SAF to understand the importance of the 3SG rank as the basic Specialist rank in the Armed Forces.
I'm glad someone put the idiot in his place.
Why should I be inured by your seemingly one-sided dialectics about the inability of non-combat soldiers to fully appreciate their Specialist rank?Originally posted by tulanboy:And I have one thing to add on to what you said: you are clearly not engaging in this discourse on the same frequency. I suppose you view me as some power-hungry lad who goes all out to flame all 3SGs because I don't have the necessary 'capacity' to take on a higher rank. My advice to you: read more, think more and you'll make comments more like a human being. And what exactly constitutes 'having seen enough of the SAF'? Have you, yourself? I'm talking about incapable pieces of shit who get promoted to 3SG by passing a no-brainer theory course and swagger while they walk and pretend to shout orders with booming authority.
Yet there are lame people who digress into how much more responsibility a 3SG has to bear...I mean, that's common sense! In no way have I refuted that point if you read my posts carefully.
And before you start labeling others as an 'idiot', take a good look in the mirror and tell me what you see. I wish you the best of luck in your future endeavours based on my observation about your brazen and odious analysis of strangers.
That is true.Originally posted by khk:life is unfair lah
tonnes of corporals out there haf to take over responsibilities of their specs who haf orded, doin the same stuff as their specs (less the men they can tekan n help them with the dirty jobs) in addition to the minute dirty jobs tt they haf been doin since enlistment... they get their usual miserable allowance n back to being tekaned n arrowed during ict even though they may haf accumulated even more knowledge n experience than their specs...
i prefer rank based on seniority, like tt of the NCC, where everyone goes thru the same shit, n the worthy ones take on higher rank, but everyone eventually take on a spec position... the saf works differently, n i can't help but feel sad for the wose regulars who haf to pay respects to the new 2lts despite their immense experience.
What does a project spec do?Originally posted by LazerLordz:That is true.
And then, in some units, junior specialists are treated like men. It's mostly in BMTC that people have this misguided impression that being a Spec = authority.
Sometimes, the stuff that Specialists have to answer for, can have an impact on their lives and careers actually.
From the people I've worked with, generally they assist System Managers (either in DSTA or DSO) in monitoring projects, be it in implementation, integration or just doing some junior level R&D stuff.Originally posted by will4:What does a project spec do?