last yr i remembered a 30++ yr old man complained on the straits times forum page on receiving his 1st ict letter only after past his 30++ b day... though he every year went for the ippt tests no prob. as he is on reserve holding list (RHL). again, once in a blue moon admin lapse till like that... the forgetten reservist ..Originally posted by wisefool83:Hi people, I've ORD for sometime le, but still haven't receive any news about my reservist unit. Any idea where to find out? Or should I adopt a they don't say, I don't ask attitude?
don't worry they will call you. 10 years is the limit. They will put you back into Arty unit n you will served till your 40. Just focus on your work.Originally posted by wisefool83:Originally Mortar Commander. Then disrupt fo study, come back that time injured leg and operate, so downgrade to PES C9 and vocation changed to Admin Asst, but never did a single paper work because served my remaining at home due to MC
he arty unit meh? now arty still got mortar?Originally posted by Arapahoe:don't worry they will call you. 10 years is the limit. They will put you back into Arty unit n you will served till your 40. Just focus on your work.
when you go for your ICT you will be an Old bird. Halfway thru your ICT years they will try to upgrade you. My friends got upgrade in reservist for the first time in his life he had to do IPPT at age 37
have fun. mean time i suggest you focus on your career.
For some reason i believe the reservist tow unit still around. i think it is still a relevant defensive fire support. especially from Lentoh.Originally posted by khk:he arty unit meh? now arty still got mortar?
anywae he now admin liao... C9L? if L3 den prob wun follow nsf battalion (frm observation, not necc true).
aniwae wat's the hurry? can't wait to wear ur greens again? dun worry they will surely contact u when they wan u back, like ah long like tt... yah like wat the others haf said, wait a few years... if u goin IHL, then got chance put u in holding list or something... if ur unit is IHL unit (means alot gg uni one), prob they will get u ard 2 yrs after ord, everyone go back for ict while still in studies. if u in combat battalion during nsf, most likely u will noe ur reservist unit. i've seen C9L3 ppl dun need to go back for such ict...
i noe now still got mortar, i am referring to active arty battalion (NSF)... i dunno of any active arty unit still operating mortar... he just orded in jan, so i tot tt most likely his NSF unit is not an arty battalion...Originally posted by blitzonic:>>now arty still got mortar?<<
So? Lots of troops change vocations during reservist, most of the time only via semi-formal refresher classes instead of proper training courses. MP, RP, PTI, ammo tech etc. -- they'll all do something else after their NS. Those most lagi sway kena infantryman again, even if it's only PDF. (Must dig trench again, so imagine their shock ~lol~)
I wouldn't be surprised if the TS's old unit had converted to towed Arty prior to ORD. (Mine certainly did.) Even if his did not, he'll be like some NSF school instructor joining a reservist unit ~shrug~ The field SOPs will take some getting used to, but the basic theory/concept stuff won't be completely foreign (having learnt it during his course time).
i noe now still got mortar, i am referring to active arty battalion (NSF)... i dunno of any active arty unit still operating mortarOh, I see. Different wavelengths. You're right: no more mortarmen in the formation now, all gunners. I was from 21SA, back when they it was still SP mortar & not SP howitzer like now. We'd trained to convert to towed arty before ORD, a fate which I figured my unit "descendents" might've also kena -- unless you're telling me the SAF has proper 'Primus' BNs for reservist now.
I was never converted to Arty, don't know who say I arty one. jiat Lat, few days never come read my own thread and I kenna posted to another vocation without my own knowledgeOriginally posted by khk:i noe now still got mortar, i am referring to active arty battalion (NSF)... i dunno of any active arty unit still operating mortar... he just orded in jan, so i tot tt most likely his NSF unit is not an arty battalion...
i dun ask questions for nothing, i expect a constructive answer, not a general "lots of troops change vocations" or "unit had converted" ...
but i'm curious as to wat's ur nsf battalion (mortar?) n y converted to arty? issit just a formation change?
What is ur vocation?Originally posted by martin_lim85:wah i last year oct ord still in holding list
admin supportOriginally posted by will4:What is ur vocation?
I also admin support n no reservist for the past six years.Originally posted by martin_lim85:admin support
i check up with ns.sg they say im still liable for ICT just that i in holding list and no unit yet, i would like to go ICT and slck in unit leh. 2 weeks off from workOriginally posted by will4:I also admin support n no reservist for the past six years.
What is ur PES status? U mean u called up NS.Sg to find out whether u still need to go back for reservist?Originally posted by martin_lim85:i check up with ns.sg they say im still liable for ICT just that i in holding list and no unit yet, i would like to go ICT and slck in unit leh. 2 weeks off from work
pes e1l9, yup that wat they say. i not exempted or pes f etcOriginally posted by will4:What is ur PES status? U mean u called up NS.Sg to find out whether u still need to go back for reservist?
U asked them which unit u be posted to or by latest when u can be called for reservist?Originally posted by martin_lim85:pes e1l9, yup that wat they say. i not exempted or pes f etc
they say i not unit, which ever unit need ppl they pull me inOriginally posted by will4:U asked them which unit u be posted to or by latest when u can be called for reservist?
Is it true once a reservist turned past thirty n has not been getting any call up, he will no longer be called u for reservist anymore?Of course not.