ok wat... frugal simple life ok wat if that is what they r looking for...Originally posted by eac:that kinda of cash the ex-regular got is enough to open a zi char foodstall at a hawker centre and then lead a frugal simple life with say... a wife and two young kids, and left some money to give to his parents.
and most importantly...
u forgot to factor in the "depreciation value".
actually....Originally posted by ispyyy:ok wat... frugal simple life ok wat if that is what they r looking for...
lol... tat is because, they do not noe wat to do with their money... lolOriginally posted by Ristar:actually....
some of the Regulars i know own cars and mod until its "very fast".
i dun think that they want a frugal and simple life...
please lah, this kind of people exist both inside and out of the SAFOriginally posted by constancebay:We don't need to be regulars before joining the cut throat world.
All we have to do is to see the chao keng regulars and we know already
excuse me... all here r indeed considerably "involuntary regular soldiers" for 2 years b4 the bright beacon shines and lead us to enlightenment of the outside market.Originally posted by Hellraiza:yah lah yah lah u all working in the "cut throat outside world" damn power. Some people here speak as if they were regulars before joining the outside market
ok this point i agree... BUT only in the saf u r powerless against these regulars if u r a lowly ranked conscript. citing the present young lee junior saga, one of the superior officer's against the awol lta is that he dun want to ruin this lta regular saf career. even young lee junior a nsf 2lt also cannot tahan this asre covering attitude in the saf...Originally posted by Hellraiza:please lah, this kind of people exist both inside and out of the SAF
doesnt this also the same as some of the private sector employment with job benefits/satisfaction/security/income?Originally posted by WiNtEr'SkiLL:haha... at least by signing on, u get a regular income, has job security,
has job benefits/satisfaction
dont blame him .. at least hes making a choice in life
It just irks me that some people here... there's a cantonese saying "Sek siu siu, poon dai biu" to describe them.Originally posted by eac:ok this point i agree... BUT only in the saf u r powerless against these regulars if u r a lowly ranked conscript. citing the present young lee junior saga, one of the superior officer's against the awol lta is that he dun want to ruin this lta regular saf career. even young lee junior a nsf 2lt also cannot tahan this asre covering attitude in the saf...
as from other threads indicates that u r a regular, i noe... u wouldnt bite the hand thats feed u...
BUT only in the saf u r powerless against these regulars if u r a lowly ranked conscript.Isn't it the same outside? Doesn't anyone here have a boss who just shakes leg, sign papers, then fark off early in his sports car while you stay until 7pm then take mrt home?
as from other threads indicates that u r a regular, i noe... u wouldnt bite the hand thats feed u...Of course. To do so would be an ungrateful dog. I have nothing against and fully believe in the SAF. It's some of the people inside that i'm worried about.
So you will rather be a grateful dog and defend the SAF at all cost?Originally posted by Hellraiza:Of course. To do so would be an ungrateful dog. I have nothing against and fully believe in the SAF. It's some of the people inside that i'm worried about.
Some forumites think they damn power cause they "see the light" and live in a "cutthroat world" and view those who sign on as weak and aimless. Politics and balls-carrying occurs in every organisation, even SAF. It's even more cutthroat inside. At least you people don't have to worry about IPPT, SOC, ATP, as factors for promotion. but what am so worried about? I'm not even a commander.
WTF...Originally posted by constancebay:Yup. You got the correct answer.
He did not even try finding a job yet and he say he don't know what to do after ord so he decided to sign on
he forgotten that he/she may get transfer out to another camp... my ex camp have a hushand-wife working in the same camp for 1.5 years... then hushand recently got transferred out to another camp quite far.Originally posted by constancebay:I got a friend who sign on because he managed to woo 1 of the dxo to be his gf and so he sign on so that can everyday see her and work together
Why he so scare to let his parents know about the kid?Originally posted by Ponders:The most stupid reasons I heard are these...
1) When he was 15 years old, he see his dad use handphone. So he asked his dad for handphone. Dad said, " earn your own money then go and buy"
next thing he did was sign on under the LAYE scheme (SAFEC)
He literally used first pay check to buy a handphone.
2) To honour promise he made to gf's parents. He made his gf pregnant and gave birth. Her parents made him promise to marry their daughter once he earns enough money. The deal is, if he work towards honouring the promise, her parents will keep the kid a secret from his parents.
So for 4 years, he has a kid his parents dunno about.
any idea on wat his parents did to him after knowing that they became grandparents for 4 years but had no idea about it?Originally posted by Ponders:The most stupid reasons I heard are these...
1) When he was 15 years old, he see his dad use handphone. So he asked his dad for handphone. Dad said, " earn your own money then go and buy"
next thing he did was sign on under the LAYE scheme (SAFEC)
He literally used first pay check to buy a handphone.
2) To honour promise he made to gf's parents. He made his gf pregnant and gave birth. Her parents made him promise to marry their daughter once he earns enough money. The deal is, if he work towards honouring the promise, her parents will keep the kid a secret from his parents.
So for 4 years, he has a kid his parents dunno about.
I rather ORD than stay around and find out.Originally posted by Ristar:any idea on wat his parents did to him after knowing that they became grandparents for 4 years but had no idea about it?
Nice oneOriginally posted by Ponders:I rather ORD than stay around and find out.
I doubt he even knows about such rulesOriginally posted by Saint`:signing on after 1st yr of ur nsf means u couldnt be back paid .
ur fren nv tink meh
ya i'll probably admit to my parents if i'm in his shoes. my parents are understandable, they will accept it.Originally posted by constancebay:Why he so scare to let his parents know about the kid?
If its me, I will proudly proclaim to my parent "Hey. I just screwed a virgin, made her pregnant and now I am a father and you have been promoted to grandfather too. You ought to be proud of me"
please mind your language.Originally posted by constancebay:So you will rather be a grateful dog and defend the SAF at all cost?
So 1 day if Osama feeds you, are you to be a loyal dog to him too and defend him at all costs?
Yes outside people don't have to worry about IPPT etc. But they have to worry that if the boss don't like him/her, he/she will get sack.
At least you regulars have a contract and can slack and take mc often without having to worry about getting sacked.
You regulars can take excessive mc without getting sacked but those people who work in the coporate world can't. They will get sack if they take too much mc.