Sterotype leh.Originally posted by laoda99:Even if you finished your NS liabilities (known as Minimum Term of Engagement), you won't get any NS increment.
You will get a gal's pay (without NS) if you resign and join another department in the civil service.
Your career progression will be like a gal's.
So think twice before signing on. Don't make the same mistakes many have made. Just serve your NS and #&#&#*# off.
Read the previous sentence.Originally posted by motoway:Sterotype leh.
yup this is what i am facing now.....feeling #^^$&#$*#*#(*#Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Let me give a lowdown since I'm in this position.
All Ministries and stat boards follow the civil service guidelines anally (in a sense) so dun expect any flexibility.
As an ex-regular, you will not be given any NS-increments when you are hired by any of these government organisations since you have been deemed to have been "employed" during your NS period. You can consider yourself lucky if the organisation chooses to give you increment for your "work experience" during that period instead.
If you further your studies and gain a degree after resigning from the military, all your previous "work experience" (including positions other than the military) will not be considered at all, hence you will be employed as one "without NS" and without working experience. In other words, start from scratch.
even if you serve and complete your contract ? maybe it deter people for joining for the sake of iron rice bowl.Originally posted by laoda99:Even if you finished your NS liabilities (known as Minimum Term of Engagement), you won't get any NS increment after that.
This applies to all services: SAF, POLICE, CD......
You will get a gal's pay (that is, without NS) if you resign and join another department in the civil service.
Your career progression will be like a gal's because your regular service will not be taken into consideration.
And you will still need to serve reservist whether you like it or not.
So think twice before signing on. Don't make the same mistakes many have made. Don't be lured by the contract pay or gratuity they promised. It is not worth it.
Lesson learnt: Just serve your NS and #&#&#*# off.
yes...even if u serve and complete ur contract.Originally posted by Arapahoe:even if you serve and complete your contract ? maybe it deter people for joining for the sake of iron rice bowl.
that sounds like some pretty anal rules to me.Originally posted by Obersturmfuhrer:Let me give a lowdown since I'm in this position.
All Ministries and stat boards follow the civil service guidelines anally (in a sense) so dun expect any flexibility.
As an ex-regular, you will not be given any NS-increments when you are hired by any of these government organisations since you have been deemed to have been "employed" during your NS period. You can consider yourself lucky if the organisation chooses to give you increment for your "work experience" during that period instead.
If you further your studies and gain a degree after resigning from the military, all your previous "work experience" (including positions other than the military) will not be considered at all, hence you will be employed as one "without NS" and without working experience. In other words, start from scratch.
whoa now u like army life liao arOriginally posted by DarkMatter:I want to sign on leh
Originally posted by sir sickolot II:NO offense to regulars, but seriously how much of ur work experience is relevant and transferable, unless u r from technical vocations?
What is the rationale for negating all 'previous work experience including NS' when you attain a degree after discharge?[/b]
It is very difficult for many former regular to find work after they left the service. Some of them chose to come back after a stint in private sector.Originally posted by NYPD^blue:NO offense to regulars, but seriously how much of ur work experience is relevant and transferable, unless u r from technical vocations?
and before u go on abt man management skills yada yada, i will say its non-existent
but still, I feel that its unbecoming for a guy to have served ns (reservist/ex-regular) to receive a gal's pay...surely those yrs in green must have counted for something
wait long long. yesterday another reservice letter came. ARGH!Originally posted by caleb_chiang:I though no need re service if you finish your contract as a regular???
NO offense to regulars, but seriously how much of ur work experience is relevant and transferable, unless u r from technical vocations?You're thinking too linear-ly, too much in terms of vocational trade. Also a bit antiquated since MINDEF already has a number of recent schemes in place to help ex-regulars switch to a new job outside. I first noticed them after the economic recession & SARS epidemic earlier this decade, then discovered the initiative has been around since 1998. To summarize briefly:-