Whatever it is, get out fast or you'll start looking like a rag doll flipping all over the place.Originally posted by SpecOps87:SAF got 2 types of parachuting...Static Line Parachuting and Military Free Fall aka. NDP style. Most CDOs, correct me if i'm wrong here, will do the Static Line one. For some, they say its simple as "Standy-up, Hook-up, Shuffle to the door, Jump right down by the count of 4", others say it took an eternity and a helluva lot of pushing to get to the door. All in all, have fun and enjoy it. I know I will.
No.Originally posted by sir sickolot II:chanjyj think the last time you showed me a picture of your uniform was only the right breas.t pocket... didn't know you had other accesories along with the local confidence badges.
u're no longer in the service right?
and yes, most NSF commandos only go through static line parachuting... and dam if i was ever the first at the door, i'd be scared shi.t
Firstly, must make it clear I'm not commando before Gedanken comes knocking on my door to talk about old friendsOriginally posted by sir sickolot II:hopefully this might jolt some memory back
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=251840&page=1
although i've seen many(perhaps too many for my own good) commandos and their beautiful 'x'mas trees'... perhaps it's cause you're the only one that post them online.
True - I'm not sure if you've ever come across WO Sundram, but he was my platoon sergeant and he used to have to rotate the badges on his No 3 because there wasn't enough space.Originally posted by chanjyj:You look like an idiot with those badges plastered all over you (in new No. 4)
No sweat - I got that in your earlier post.Originally posted by chanjyj:Firstly, must make it clear I'm not commando before Gedanken comes knocking on my door to talk about old friends
Nah. And in any case I was too fatigued to remember much of anything. JCC is a walk in the park compared to the ranger course. And airborne is..Originally posted by Gedanken:Heyyyyy, nice collection of kuti-kuti there, chan!
Hmm, Ranger tab - you wouldn't happen to know Chris and Ari, would you?
That's cool - just thought you might have come across two of the wild men from my batch.Originally posted by chanjyj:Nah. And in any case I was too fatigued to think clear
I wonder if it was a mistake to post the pic there.. I know it'll return one day to haunt me when some wannabe starts posting "what are the requirements for ranger?" or "can I join ranger course if I am not commando?" or "how to survive ranger course"?
I have seen that man, and I would have sworn he was wearing a plate of mediaeval armour had I not looked closerOriginally posted by Gedanken:True - I'm not sure if you've ever come across WO Sundram, but he was my platoon sergeant and he used to have to rotate the badges on his No 3 because there wasn't enough space.
Two absolute pros and absolute gentlemen, to be sure.Originally posted by chanjyj:I have seen that man, and I would have sworn he was wearing a plate of mediaeval armour had I not looked closer
Another one-of-a-kind is SWO Gunga.
when you asked this question, you proved 1 point. WEAK!Originally posted by forum_dude:hey dude i not weak one leh knn. whts in the forum don reflect me in the real life at all
What is your defination of weak? Scared? What's his? People have different ideas of what weakness is.Originally posted by bladez87:when you asked this question, you proved 1 point. WEAK!
well sorry for bringing up the past haha..Originally posted by chanjyj:Nah. And in any case I was too fatigued to remember much of anything. JCC is a walk in the park compared to the ranger course. And airborne is..
I wonder if it was a mistake to post the pic there.. I know it'll return one day to haunt me when some wannabe starts posting "what are the requirements for ranger?" or "can I join ranger course if I am not commando?" or "how to survive ranger course"?
No prob at all. To quote Ged, "try it and see" is always a convenient answer.Originally posted by sir sickolot II:well sorry for bringing up the past haha..
And well, whist you will not hear me ask those questions.. can't say the same for the rest of the folks around here.
DO I DIE DIE HAVE TO JUMP PARACHUTES FOR COMANDO?
Well, if both fail, you have the rest of your life to worry about it.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:But of course if you are so sway that something goes wrong and both your chutes cannot deploy, the way you die is more horrible lah.
Me 2.....Originally posted by chanjyj:I want to try free-fall. *sigh*
Great leader.Originally posted by chanjyj:Firstly, must make it clear I'm not commando before Gedanken comes knocking on my door to talk about old friends
Secondly, I don't usually wear this uniform. The one I wear is plain No. 4 with no badges. I find that
You look like an idiot with those badges plastered all over you (in new No. 4)
Sometimes it's just better to hide you rank and skill and remain inconspicious
It makes it easier to come down to the level of the men under your command rather than sitting in the ivory tower contemplating your toenails
i thought u have plenty of opportunity where u r staying right now.Originally posted by SingaporeTyrannosaur:Well jumping is fun but I'm the kind of grunt that likes to have his boots on the ground... hence I'm infantry.
Don't mind heli-deployments though, but watch the blades and jet blast when you approach the chopper, and heli-rappeling isn't too bad either. Thing is you can't really go very wrong in a static line jump, it's just step out and know how to land.
But of course if you are so sway that something goes wrong and both your chutes cannot deploy, the way you die is more horrible lah.