got free transport to PL?Originally posted by Gordonator:30 Aug - 3 Sep 07 @ Pasir Labar Camp. i'm going.
definitely have, at boon lay interchange. in fact i think some private minibuses will be there too. those which charge $1 per trip kind.Originally posted by MJ Ranger:got free transport to PL?
where did you get those detail from ?Originally posted by snk86:do try to secure tickets for the "mission world" ride. properbly the only thing really worth it this year.
highlights
SM-1 live firing(real HEAT rds, not blanks)
bionix live firing(pure 25mm goodness, not blanks)
Motar live firing(not too sure what round, explosion looks great thou)
and one that i feel really rocks
MILAN live firing(10k lei. TEN FREAKING THOUSAND LEI!!!)
and i can tell you. this year they really mean it. they fire machiam like dun care later need to spend years cleaning the weapon one lor
Of cos they'll be doing it la!!!Originally posted by Unidentified:where did you get those detail from ?
live firing on tank ? Cool...
motar firing is they fire we see or we go try fire ?
wow motar this year ? next year can try the bazooka ??
sian , i thought i got a chance to launch a motarOriginally posted by wonderamazement:Of cos they'll be doing it la!!!
Next time go NS pray u go mortar unit lo...Originally posted by Unidentified:sian , i thought i got a chance to launch a motar
when i was still active, a few of my friends were sent for the motrar course but if memories serves it was mentioned that SAF is going to phase out the motars soon.Originally posted by wonderamazement:Next time go NS pray u go mortar unit lo...
Hmm what will take their place?Originally posted by Gordonator:when i was still active, a few of my friends were sent for the motrar course but if memories serves it was mentioned that SAF is going to phase out the motars soon.
I think now all the 120mm are officially organic to the various battalions and I think the 81mm are held as reserves or with PDF.Originally posted by Gordonator:when i was still active, a few of my friends were sent for the motrar course but if memories serves it was mentioned that SAF is going to phase out the motars soon.
I think now all the 120mm are officially organic to the various battalions and I think the 81mm are held as reserves or with PDF. How abt the 155mm mortar? Are they still with SAF or disband liao?The ones regularly used in SAFTI live-firing all these years are the 120mm SP mortars, mounted inside M113s. It used to be 21 SA's weapon, until they switched to the Primus. But I think the SAR units still have them (much smaller scale) -- don't think they're phased out there yet.
ultras SP 120mm mortars maybe gg soonOriginally posted by blitzonic:The ones regularly used in SAFTI live-firing all these years are the 120mm SP mortars, mounted inside M113s. It used to be 21 SA's weapon, until they switched to the Primus. But I think the SAR units still have them (much smaller scale) -- don't think they're phased out there yet.
upcoming Bronco mobile tracked carriers*slaps head* Of course, the Bronco ATTC. I'd read about it last year ....
regarding breaking tracks of the ultras, probably ur guys lacked the proficiency baOriginally posted by blitzonic:*slaps head* Of course, the Bronco ATTC. I'd read about it last year ....
Found a copy of the ST article here:-
http://www.dsta.gov.sg/home/DisplayPage/ContentPage12.asp?id=3051
It didn't sank in then that, as the article stated, 42 SAR got 4 of them (since renamed as Mortar Tracked Carriers). My fault. Much like with the Primus, I was blinded by skepticism that the maintainence factor with the MTC, esp. given a reduced crew. For example, it used to take a whole morning to manually unchain & re-chain the two sets tracks of the M113s during my time. Now the Bronco/MTCs have 4 sets, with fewer help available!
Regarding breaking tracks of the ultras, probably ur guys lacked the proficiency baNah, more like our M113 drivers were more "lazy", once posted to unit life. ~lol~ Still, it was a good way to build team spirit, by involving the other mortarmen & signallers, et al. in the vehicular maintainence. I myself no licence, but still managed to learn the basics of operating the steering sticks & the ramp door.
sorry , the flash version is hereOriginally posted by Unidentified:Hi guys , finally found the details
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/news_and_events/events/2007/30aug07_event.html
How to go there details
click event highlight for more info
this year got wad goodies ?Originally posted by vito_corleone:thanks to aoh we of the involved personnel are burning weekends and days like nobody's business.