If u do not mind me asking what happened between ur colleauge's parents n this superior? U should ask ur parents to talk to him as well.Originally posted by borntolive:haiz i m working under a regular (SSG) whom in my opinion CMI....Always talk big, qn ppl, n give those kind of look u wana punch.
I was given so little training in wad i am supposed to do, in fact i am doing the actual stuff while learning and of course i m bound to make mistakes etc. N when it happen he explodes, questioning me n scolding me. There was even once my colleague parents when to screw the regular. I have been working overtime to meet the demands n when i call him after office hrs to ask him soemthing, he argued back,saying why i always give him so much trouble even after office hrs...
This is it, i am not going to suffer like a dog, there are several times i almost wanted to explode n argue back but i held back. I was wondering should i vent it out. Seriously i still got until MAY 2008, do i need to show him i m not a person to be easily taken advantage of?
Outside world also like that or even worse ... maybe just my luckOriginally posted by borntolive:well in the 1st place i wasnt train and taught properly. For e.g theres a task for me to do, i learn n pick up from SSG n do on the spot. Now tell me when i do something new, mistakes are bound to be made rite?
precisely i have work to be done, its after office hr , everybody went home including the SSG, i took the initiative to stay back to finish my work!! i too want to relac after office hr.Originally posted by lwflee:You haven't been taught or you forgot? In the posts above you said you forgot. If you forget something it implies that you know that you should have done something but you did not do it.
As I said, suck it in and stop whinging like a girl.
And what do you mean by you took the 'initiative' to work after office hours. That is not a valid concept, the concept doesn't exist in the army. YOu have work to do, you finish it!
ok tell u via PMOriginally posted by will4:If u do not mind me asking what happened between ur colleauge's parents n this superior? U should ask ur parents to talk to him as well.
thats wad i m hoping not to happen though it almost happen numerous timesOriginally posted by Hellraiza:seriously. just explode one times good one. he won't touch u in future
It seems that the instructions are adequate as you do not deny that you forgot rather than were not taught how to do the task. That means you know what you should do.Originally posted by borntolive:precisely i have work to be done, its after office hr , everybody went home including the SSG, i took the initiative to stay back to finish my work!! i too want to relac after office hr.
i have already endured beyond my limit already.
i have been taught yes by mouth once, after that i do it. For e.g a recruit u give up a M16 n ask him to strip a rifle n assemble after 1 demo, u think he can do it? Cmon man.
haiz i m trying to see wad possible solns u ppl can give, why would i want to gain sympathy here? does it solve the problem?Originally posted by lwflee:It seems that the instructions are adequate as you do not deny that you forgot rather than were not taught how to do the task. That means you know what you should do.
Top tip: Post it notes are your friends!
Boo hoo - you have to stay back after office hours. Baby jesus wept I tell ya.
The solution to your problem is obvious to any reasonably intelligent person, as I am sure you are:
1. Talk to him and try to sort it out
2. Go up the chain of command.
If you have not tried any of these then you are simply trying to gain sympathy here. Poor drills man.
yarz...Originally posted by Lin Yu:nobody win in an argument. only hatred will be generated. the winner is the one that take one step back
sorry but i hate CHEE BYE KIAS like you...like army so much go sign on lah nabei...or r u alr a loser in green?!Originally posted by lwflee:You haven't been taught or you forgot? In the posts above you said you forgot. If you forget something it implies that you know that you should have done something but you did not do it.
As I said, suck it in and stop whinging like a girl.
And what do you mean by you took the 'initiative' to work after office hours. That is not a valid concept, the concept doesn't exist in the army. YOu have work to do, you finish it!
Lol. i came here to look for opinions on wad i should do. Yes i may lack work exp or interpersonal relationship skills, but thats wad i want to learn n pick up. N 1 good way is to seek advices from those who has comepleted NS.Originally posted by lwflee:Why indeed.
You are, I see, of sub-par intelligence. The steps you have to take are obvious to any normal soldier.
Exhaust SOP then come and post about how put-upon you are.
I am beginning to understand why the SSG is so impatient with you.
You're no better. Leave the vulgarities at the door.Originally posted by Thongboy:sorry but i hate CHEE BYE KIAS like you...like army so much go sign on lah nabei...or r u alr a loser in green?!
Good points raised.Originally posted by Othello_Red:Seriously, it may seem counter-intuitive, but do less work.
During my time, 2 platoons, mine and another did a hell lot of work for everyone, and we did it well. Problem is, more work just kept piling up and the quality expected of us increased too. There is a limit to all this of course, I mean, at times we were expected to do the impossible and stupid us did it.
Then it came to a point when we all decided it would stop. We told our officers very clearly what we would do and the quality of work we will provide, nothing more, nothing less. By then, of course we had a good track record so we could negotiate that way. Funny thing is, the last platoon did the least work, got the least work, and no one said anything.
The 2 platoons who could work were simply given more to do and the 1 that couldn't, well, doesn't really matter does it?
The thing is, if you just show outright that you're not gonna get the work done, chances are they'll give you less work. They won't appreciate it if you keep meeting or exceeding their expectations, so don't. If you feel guilty about not being able to provide quality work, there are plenty of reasons why you shouldn't.
And yes, in the Army, rank wins all. So unless someone else with a higher rank is willing to shield you, don't bother arguing.
no choice lah...realli tah boleh tahan..Originally posted by LazerLordz:You're no better. Leave the vulgarities at the door.
x2.Originally posted by ah_tee:are u new to the unit ?
if ur new, this is jus a passing phase
when i was new, the first 6 mths was like wad u describe
my SSG and 1WO wasnt so good to me, although we are suppose to work as a team
but slowly, i picked up n proved myself to them, their attitude changed, esp my SSG, we are good friends now even after i left the force
i still visit his place every cny, to think back, i almost wanted to beat him up
but for my 1WO is different, he wont be happy no matter how much i do
i prove myself in the unit n have a good name, n of cos, when u get to know more higher ups, he will know how to back off
serving the nation doesent means ur a slave, pple take u as one, but u can changed that, if u know, its not fair to u, jus voice out
during my actuve service, i clash wif many WOs and CPTs, many at times direct confrontation even till a 2WO gotta apologise to me after i complain up to S1 branch
but do wad u think its right,if ur bullied stand up for urself, but make sure u earned a good name for urself first
i agree with u i have to prove that i can do my job 1st in order for ppl to respect u, dono if i m a slow learner or not, i cant seem to pick things up fast, i do try my best to pick new stuff up, but the prob is i get screwed,questioned and barked like a prisoner. Theres a mistake i do yes i expect to get scolded, but he goes on barking and questioning for so long before giving me a substandard soln expecting me to solve itOriginally posted by ah_tee:are u new to the unit ?
if ur new, this is jus a passing phase
when i was new, the first 6 mths was like wad u describe
my SSG and 1WO wasnt so good to me, although we are suppose to work as a team
but slowly, i picked up n proved myself to them, their attitude changed, esp my SSG, we are good friends now even after i left the force
i still visit his place every cny, to think back, i almost wanted to beat him up
but for my 1WO is different, he wont be happy no matter how much i do
i prove myself in the unit n have a good name, n of cos, when u get to know more higher ups, he will know how to back off
serving the nation doesent means ur a slave, pple take u as one, but u can changed that, if u know, its not fair to u, jus voice out
during my actuve service, i clash wif many WOs and CPTs, many at times direct confrontation even till a 2WO gotta apologise to me after i complain up to S1 branch
but do wad u think its right,if ur bullied stand up for urself, but make sure u earned a good name for urself first
bro,Originally posted by borntolive:i agree with u i have to prove that i can do my job 1st in order for ppl to respect u, dono if i m a slow learner or not, i cant seem to pick things up fast, i do try my best to pick new stuff up, but the prob is i get screwed,questioned and barked like a prisoner. Theres a mistake i do yes i expect to get scolded, but he goes on barking and questioning for so long before giving me a substandard soln expecting me to solve it
Wad i detest is the way he qn me as though i am here to screw up his job. Theres a difference between questioning ppl like a criminal and reprimanding.
I tried talking to him n things go out of hand n i almost wanted to argue back. haiz...Most of time i m just complying wad he ask me to do, and any accusations he made on me i just accept, swallow it n apologize. I m afraid 1 day i would lose my cool n explode, n like wad u guys said i cant win ranks
maybe i lack work experience n this is the right time to pick things up, just wondering if other SAF camps r liddat