You should take a look at Culpable Homicide and Private DefenceOriginally posted by hisoka:nonsesnse law that makes one guilty until proven innocent. the wording is so dam vague that any one can be convicted if with the person.
wtf is the meaning of reasonable grounds for believing
i think its not that easy to die la. i know someone who goes to gang fights on a regular basis, until now still hvn die. close to death, but hvn die.Originally posted by Idle_King:You should take a look at Culpable Homicide and Private Defence
Private defence – Culpable homicide is not murder if the offender, in the exercise in good faith of the right of private defence of person or property, exceeds the power given to him by law, and causes the death of the person against whom he is exercising such right of defence, without premeditation and without any intention of doing more harm than is necessary for the purpose of such defence.
Culpable homicide is punishable by 10years inprisonment or up to Life.
With laws like this, if someone wants to kill me, i might as well not put up a fight and just die.
Not... exactly true. If the person has a heart condition he's finished,Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i think its not that easy to die la. i know someone who goes to gang fights on a regular basis, until now still hvn die. close to death, but hvn die.
u jackie chan shifu?Originally posted by chanjyj:Not... exactly true. If the person has a heart condition he's finished,
Also, in my case, in self defence, it may be a one strike one kill thing. Not a knockout punch, but more of a kill strike. But that's because I'm the minority I guess.
Dear OM dun be too agitated, this is SAF forum not speaker corner, I did not bash PAP ok !! LOL!Originally posted by oxford mushroom:How typical! Blame PRC for anything bad. His name is Teo Ming...far more likely to be local. If he were PRC, it would more likely have been Zhang Ming.
The serviceman did not steal the weapon out of ignorance. Whether a local born or ex-PRC citizen, any SAF serviceman knows how serious it is to take a loaded weapon out of camp without authorisation. There is no grounds for throwing aspersions on foreign-born citizens in this instance.Originally posted by equlus84:Dear OM dun be too agitated, this is SAF forum not speaker corner, I did not bash PAP ok !! LOL!
What I was doing is to provide an alternative view to this case. My hypothesis is that he may have been brought up in a different environment and culture so his understanding of SG society and societal norms is limited, thus he may have did it out of a moment of folly. Eg. in PRC BB guns and guns replicas are allowed, so if he was an ex-PRC citizen he may have thought that stealing the rifle is not big deal as long as he returns the rifle after threatening his gf with it.
I really pity the other guy. Think of it this way, if you know your friend is mentally unstable and he has a rifle with him on the spot.... Do you think it is prudent to tell him you gonna call the cops? No right? If not he might just load rifle and finish you off. Who noes it might be the guy that persuaded him all this while not to use the firearm against anyone. So I hope the court will not be so myopic and jump to a conclusion that he is part of the cahoot.
haha. but ur twist of the story wont come true lah.Originally posted by Ponders:i wonder how many more "twist" to this story there will be.
what's next?
troops from SAF's elite SOF raided the prison to rescue CPL Teo after reports that Prisons dept have mistreating him. In name of comradeship, SAF decided to rescue their own ppl???
Ha!Originally posted by Ponders:i wonder how many more "twist" to this story there will be.
what's next?
troops from SAF's elite SOF raided the prison to rescue CPL Teo after reports that Prisons dept have mistreating him. In name of comradeship, SAF decided to rescue their own ppl???
I am of the opinion that no matter what crime he has done, as long as he is a serving soldier, he should face military justice before civil justice.Originally posted by mancha:Ha!
They did not even speak up for him.
The CO should tell the pollice, "Don't touch him, he is my soldier!"
Kum lan ah.
His unit mind their own business.
They as good as abandon their soldier.
It's not about defending him.Originally posted by SpecOps87:CO, COA, CDF, Minister of Defense speak up for fark? The soldier did something GRAVELY wrong. He knew it, he's been briefed on it...so why does it matter if they voice their opinion/s or not?
Its not like this soldier on guard duty spotted someone scaling the perimeter fence, after following the SOP ROE of warning thrice, open fire on the guy. Turned out to be some unarmed bangla grasscutter climbing back in because he left something behind. If police wanna arrest and charge him...than I feel his CO will have to step in to protect his soldier because he acted in accordance with the ROE.
now u wanna pity Teo?!Originally posted by mancha:I feel like the soldier had been abandoned.
I don't know how his buddies feel.
But I know, that there would be at least a sense of loss.
All this comradeship, brotherhood stuff, .....
Out there your're on your own, buddy
That what they'll learn.
is that a scar or wound on his right eye?Originally posted by sexy girls:
Well his officers may well help in his plea for leniency but that would be later on during the trial. Currently they can't say anything yet as investigations are still ongoing.Originally posted by venny:hmm.... ya hor, so far like no one frm saf has spoke anything. coa, minister, even co also all keeping mum?
maybe he is those kena marked personnel in camp.Originally posted by mancha:I feel like the soldier had been abandoned.
I don't know how his buddies feel.
But I know, that there would be at least a sense of loss.
All this comradeship, brotherhood stuff, .....
Out there your're on your own, buddy
That what they'll learn.
Can say I am more of a Bruce Lee. Jackie Chan different style.Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:u jackie chan shifu?
Yes, parents may be charged too if they fail to report their son.Originally posted by Gordonator:makes me wonder, if CPL Teo called up his parents and told them he has a rifle and ammunitions with him, will his parents be guilty too if they failed to report their son?
under these circumstances, not say the parents are in the wrong as i believe any normal parents will not report their own children.
In peacetime, civil jurisdiction supercedes the military.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I am of the opinion that no matter what crime he has done, as long as he is a serving soldier, he should face military justice before civil justice.
There has been a breach somewhere.