sign on as officer lor... ..and btw...will 84mm by any chance be replaced(or should i say phrase out ) with matador in future?i hate this bulky useless thing....Originally posted by SBS9818A:don't sign on. u'll regret it. like u said alr the specs get the most shit, so what for get urself into shit?
U sure you want to sign on...better think twice, thrice.....many times overOriginally posted by vitasoys:it been 3 months + since i last started a topic here.the last time was b4 my enlisting,i had since POP and just finish my 1st week of AIT.my appointment is 2nd law gunner ( matador ).can any ex matador gunner tell me about the weapon?disadvantages or advantages.i only know its very heavy.
i was told tat im a group2ic.wtf is grp2ic?i thought theres only section2ic tat in charge when sect comm is down.
i was tinking of signing on as infantry/guards specs.the previous time i applied,i failed because i fail my ippt.i had since pass my ippt and MIGHT wan to try applying again.
i somehow like army life and what we do.i noe its very different frm been a man than a commander thats y im posting to ask more...any regulars here?
the only reason i feel signing on as specs is stupid because specs seem to suffer most.
few weeks back,the DS sign 3 extra becoz somebody in the platoon is moving in the file.wtf rite?
another incident is when the serg sign 7 extra becoz his men on guard duty nv salute and greet the div commander.lol rite?
You aleady have an idea about the Army and I dont believe there are still people out there who signed on blindly.If you do intend to sign on I suggest you try to attend as many courses as you can in the first few years of your contract and that would really help to speed up with the promotion later on.The lower rank you are the more sh1t you are willing to take and of course later your life as specs or officer would be a lot different.Give yourself a little more time to decide and good luck.Originally posted by vitasoys:it been 3 months + since i last started a topic here.the last time was b4 my enlisting,i had since POP and just finish my 1st week of AIT.my appointment is 2nd law gunner ( matador ).can any ex matador gunner tell me about the weapon?disadvantages or advantages.i only know its very heavy.
i was told tat im a group2ic.wtf is grp2ic?i thought theres only section2ic tat in charge when sect comm is down.
i was tinking of signing on as infantry/guards specs.the previous time i applied,i failed because i fail my ippt.i had since pass my ippt and MIGHT wan to try applying again.
i somehow like army life and what we do.i noe its very different frm been a man than a commander thats y im posting to ask more...any regulars here?
the only reason i feel signing on as specs is stupid because specs seem to suffer most.
few weeks back,the DS sign 3 extra becoz somebody in the platoon is moving in the file.wtf rite?
another incident is when the serg sign 7 extra becoz his men on guard duty nv salute and greet the div commander.lol rite?
if no qualification for snr tech(poly dip),even a AMS or AVS(RSAF),Diver,Chef,Naval Material Spec.(Navy) should suffice as well....Originally posted by SBS9818A:think u might be better signing on air force as senior tech or sth.. the lifestyle and pay is better
Navy must think first hor. If you don't like ship-board life you'll die. And if you sign-on, god save you.....cos there's gonna be hell when you study the system you'll be specialising in.Originally posted by kengkia:if u die die wanna sign on why not try Navy or Air Force? at least pay is better than in Army... even vocations like AMS,AVS starting pay also beat Army combat pay hands down...
then what abour RSAF?Originally posted by SBS3625D:Navy must think first hor. If you don't like ship-board life you'll die. And if you sign-on, god save you.....cos there's gonna be hell when you study the system you'll be specialising in.
Luckily I only NSF, but even NSF need 6 months training then can consider operational.
If you do intend to sign on I suggest you try to attend as many courses as you can in the first few years of your contractVery difficult, unless you're implying studying part-time. But where got time if posted to operational unit, if he's eyeing combat spec? Life in the early years will alternate between postings to the unit & to the formation school or HQ, roughly in 2-year blocks.
does the situation differ for each side...army one..navy one or RSAF one...let's say if i wanna sign on logistics in SAF which side is the best...Originally posted by blitzonic:Very difficult, unless you're implying studying part-time. But where got time if posted to operational unit, if he's eyeing combat spec? Life in the early years will alternate between postings to the unit & to the formation school or HQ, roughly in 2-year blocks.
If he signs on as logistics spec, he must mostly likely begin as a storeman or driver etc. too, i.e. always on call & doing duty on the "service" side.
Best chance to upgrade more quickly as a technical/engineering spec, except I'm not sure he has the basic academic qualifications, for a mono-intaker. No more SAF Boys' School these days, too.
Navy logistic.Originally posted by kengkia:does the situation differ for each side...army one..navy one or RSAF one...let's say if i wanna sign on logistics in SAF which side is the best...
hmmm...is it more pay and more relaxed?Originally posted by will4:Navy logistic.
I realized after a regular kena discharged from service, navy regular tehnd to give outside employer good impression n also the other way round.Originally posted by kengkia:hmmm...is it more pay and more relaxed?
I dunno. But the guys at the workshop at changi seem quite relag one.Originally posted by kengkia:hmmm...is it more pay and more relaxed?
no... nitec pay is still slightly lower than poly/a levels. y? saf is still a govt job. to the govt, paper qualification chasing is top priority.Originally posted by vitasoys:hmm,im higher nitec and prolly going for combat vocations.i like guards but heard its dam xiong and underpaid lol
i tink the pay aren't tat bad for higher nitec ( same/higher than a levels depends on no of subject pass ).however still nid some feedback frm everybody.
so far i ask my sergs and some like while others can't wait to get out of army. lol