Originally posted by specialOps:
The directive states that specialists and warrant officers can recommend extra duties, and approval by a commissioned officer.
Usually the OC will auto-approve and gives the CSM the freedom to give extras, because it is only practical so that the CSM can help him with managing discipline.
Your CSM's informal punishment book gotta let your OC check and sign to approve that the extra given is reasonable and within guidelines.
So there's nothing wrong with your CSM "give u extra'. There's nothing to complain. Its your hero 2LT dunno what he's talking about, just smoke you to try win some khaki.
Anyway, what's the big deal about the 2LT? Respect meh? In fact I dun respect this kinda 2LT for "trying to help" sia.
As a commissioned officer, he should support and enforce discipline. Even if he feels not kiwi no need extra, he is wrong to undermine a higher appointment holder's decision to give out punishment. A CSM is higher in appointment than a PC. The most he should do is talk to CSM in private or something.
Undermining somebody higher in authority/appointment behind his back is really childish.
SAF directive is appointment is above rank. Although your CSM by-right may give him face to call the young kid "sir", but he can also whack this 2LT for discipline matters. Although very rare and usually refer to OC to talk to PCs, but he CAN do that if he want to. Your 2LT is no big deal. CSM cannot punish him, but he can refer him to senior officers who will whack this kid to wake up his idea.
But for Commissioned officers, 2LT and above, can directly GIVE YOU EXTRA, without anybody's prior approval, though he will refer you to CSM to write in the informal punishment book.
nothing wrong one...3SG also can recommend u extra...just not auto-approve only...must OC/CSM approve.
I think your definition of childish is rather unique though.
And you would know that he hasn't talked to the csm already? + you yourself said the csm has the authority to whack the 2lt and you expect the 2lt to talk to the csm and risk his skin without any good chance to succeed? If he feels that its inappropraite, then getting ayukat to compain is the right way as that will get somethign done.
as an officer, he also has to take care and look out for his men(I won't argue about whether he should support and enforce discipline given that its point of views).