I had encountered a similar case during my active days. One of my men was downgraded with back injury, due to sloppy bearing turn out, he was punished with confinement over sunday as well. He was told to clear out the recreation room which was filled with furniture and other odds and bits.Originally posted by Ayukat:My CSM put mi confine on Sunday coz I never kiwi my boots.
Den my 2Lta heard about it a few weeks later. Then he told mi... never kiwi boots is not big deal, + he make u do saikang during the confinement (Carry some bloody heavy boxes... cb), and by right u r permanently Light Duties de...
So he told me... want to complain not? I help you!!!!!
RESPECT SIA!!!!! I love that guy!!!!
Classic example of NSF help NSF!!!!!!
But I never complain lah... zzz coz my csm treat us eat pizza hut tat day... Dunwan sabo him...
But I realli realli respect my 2lta.
Some regulars just think they are some big shots (in the army). of course, to the rest of us who 'suffered' under their injustice, we just brushed them off as somebody who cannot make it in the society and therefore sign on as specialists.Originally posted by specialOps:The directive states that specialists and warrant officers can recommend extra duties, and approval by a commissioned officer.
Usually the OC will auto-approve and gives the CSM the freedom to give extras, because it is only practical so that the CSM can help him with managing discipline.
Your CSM's informal punishment book gotta let your OC check and sign to approve that the extra given is reasonable and within guidelines.
So there's nothing wrong with your CSM "give u extra'. There's nothing to complain. Its your hero 2LT dunno what he's talking about, just smoke you to try win some khaki.
Anyway, what's the big deal about the 2LT? Respect meh? In fact I dun respect this kinda 2LT for "trying to help" sia.
As a commissioned officer, he should support and enforce discipline. Even if he feels not kiwi no need extra, he is wrong to undermine a higher appointment holder's decision to give out punishment. A CSM is higher in appointment than a PC. The most he should do is talk to CSM in private or something.
Undermining somebody higher in authority/appointment behind his back is really childish.
SAF directive is appointment is above rank. Although your CSM by-right may give him face to call the young kid "sir", but he can also whack this 2LT for discipline matters. Although very rare and usually refer to OC to talk to PCs, but he CAN do that if he want to. Your 2LT is no big deal. CSM cannot punish him, but he can refer him to senior officers who will whack this kid to wake up his idea.
But for Commissioned officers, 2LT and above, can directly GIVE YOU EXTRA, without anybody's prior approval, though he will refer you to CSM to write in the informal punishment book.
nothing wrong one...3SG also can recommend u extra...just not auto-approve only...must OC/CSM approve.
I personally feel that it does not reflect very well on him as a SAF officer if he spoke of these words.Originally posted by Ayukat:So he told me... want to complain not? I help you!!!!!
He is definitely not an Officer or a Gentleman but he doesnt have to worry about going to combat with his slacked men or getting shot in the back cuz the TS is probably talking about BMT life.As for the CSM, he must not abuse his power also.During my time we get confined for just about anything and everything and it was like weekend hard labor in a gulag where we all shared the same first name,it was 'Chee Bye'.Originally posted by flash9933:I personally feel that it does not reflect very well on him as a SAF officer if he spoke of these words.
Agreed. The CSM may sound wrong but be reminded that this is coming from one side so it tends to distort some facts. Discipline should have been upheld and such behaviour of trying to belittle the instructions of appointment holders do not reflect well on the discipline of the 2LT.Originally posted by Rockhound:i still think that all this could have been avoided if u spent 5 minutes kiwi-ing ure boots
There is this thing in the SAF called "Going through proper channel" which means that the OC would not waste his time to see you unless it is really important (to him).Originally posted by borntolive:Can i confirm this?
Specialist Regulars can only recommend extras? Which means if he wana give extra to ppl under him he needs to seek OC commander?
So that means for us we can talk to the OC if we feel that the extra shouldnt be given to us?
yupz. but on the other hamd it also means the chances of you getting your grievances answered is so much smaller. and that you got extra chances of getting charged if you missed just 1 personOriginally posted by Short Ninja:There is this thing in the SAF called "Going through proper channel" which means that the OC would not waste his time to see you unless it is really important (to him).
So just sign the minor offence book and be a good soldier lor or kena confine some more until Aunt Agony becomes the only relative that would want to listen to GF problemsOriginally posted by hisoka:yupz. but on the other hamd it also means the chances of you getting your grievances answered is so much smaller. and that you got extra chances of getting charged if you missed just 1 person
Agreed.Originally posted by specialOps:I'm a 3SG (NS) by the way...for those who asked..
specialists and Warrant Officers (regular or NSF or NSmen) can recommend extra, a commissioned officer can directly issue out or approve recommended extras.
Extra duties and confinements are informal punishments, to be recorded clearly in a book.
Corporal punishment however, such as push ups, etc. can be given by any 3SG and above to men directly under their command, no need officer approval, but subject to be within guidelines.