I HAVE PROBLEM DOING THAT COZ I NOT COMBAT FIT!!!Originally posted by Hellraiza:an average soldier won't have any problems wearing vest-slacks plus BPV run 3 click.
What you see now, is just the tip of the transformation.Originally posted by equlus84:Sometimes, I thin SAF is obsessed with mimmicking the western armies in every way......
Yes, body armour is good, offer more protection against ballistic fragments, rounds, 3G FIBUA fighting gadgets and tools can increase the efficiency and capabilities of the troops in urban operations.......BUT SAF have forgotten that our infantry men are stil basically foot soldiers, and they carry whatever load they have to battle. Besides, our weather is very hot and humid, troops may end up suffering from heat exhaustion even before they hit for the objective. Western armies have wheeled AFV as mobility transport, so no matter how heavy the gear, they dun mind carrying. Furthermore, the built of westerners are larger, so their ability to carry more load is definite.
I think SAF should seriously spend more time to take care of the basics. Eg. is they should invent a variety of bandolieers that can carry things like maps, better LBV water pouch, more wear resistant LBV. Bcos even during my time, we have to carry those maps in those commercial plastic canister, and extra things have to be hooked onto the field pack using nets and bicycle hooks.
Oh come on. I give our soldiers more credit than that.Originally posted by WiNtEr'SkiLL:madness .. havnt fight war already entire platoon down
one more thingOriginally posted by blitzonic:Disagree that we're apeing the West. If anything, IMO it's a recognition that our troops are increasingly put in potential harm's way. You don't agree that now are we're deploying NSFs to do POI, for example, & they don't need every protection they can get?
LBV CAN be worn over BA. Oh and some BA can add on pouches for ammo, grenades, water bag etc.Originally posted by SpecOps87:Haha...HAhAHAHA! A few moons ago...ppl were kpkb-ing say WTF?SAF boh issue BA for ops...or WTF?!!!SAF only during war issue BA, den trg. used to not wearing BA liao den live ops...Hong Kan lor. Now SAF wanna issue BA...kpkb again...say heavy...heat-stroke. As a S'porean...i tink the prob. lies with us man. Now trg. issue BA, kpkb...when 1st round fly over your head, hit your buddy, u see him bleed and die, u will bloody wish for all the farking protection u can get!
Anyway,I've got a humble question to ask...if issue BA for ops...den the LBV how sei? Wear over BA?Or will the BA have its own set of pockets for mags etc.? Cuz the current LBVs, don't look like they can be worn over BA.
Issue Ballistic Shield as well.Originally posted by Ponders:hmm..
The Ideal Infantry Soldier.
Number 4 with LBV with Body Armour in MOPP 4 suit. with 940 Signal Set, SAR 21 and 8 mags, 2 grenades, 1 smoke, 1 Gore Tex Jacket, 3 x 24hrs ration, 4 litres water (LBV + bottle), helmet and NVG,
need to think of more things to weigh him down....
chee bye....last time concorde....wayang sia....wear the BA with all the pouches on them....then when assemble and inspection..everyone gasping for breathOriginally posted by Hellraiza:LBV CAN be worn over BA. Oh and some BA can add on pouches for ammo, grenades, water bag etc.
Makes good sense. I can see the sense of armour for urban, but it would be more of a hinderance than a help in the jungle.Originally posted by chanjyj:My 2 cents after doing the ranger course-armour in urban areas, none in jungle, armour for training.