I heard somthing along this lines too.. but the video shows clearly a SNIPER+SPOTTER. it's an SAF documentary. Plain weird. This is either wayang wayang until like mad, or something new implementedOriginally posted by specialOps:There's no role as Company marksman.
Company level also no snipers lar. Sniper units are part of higher unit commands, I will not say at which level though.
Section marksman/sharpshooter, I don't know still have anot. Last time one person from every section has a scope on M-16. Now with SAR-21, supposedly one guy will have a 3x scope to be sharpshooter, but don't know issit implemented.
Anyway everybody's 1.5x scope is already better and more accurate than the ex-sharpshooter scope on M-16. Every SAF soldier also can do the sharpshooter role liao.
The clip mentioned Company level snipers.Originally posted by specialOps:There's no role as Company marksman.
Company level also no snipers lar. Sniper units are part of higher unit commands, I will not say at which level though.
Section marksman/sharpshooter, I don't know still have anot. Last time one person from every section has a scope on M-16. Now with SAR-21, supposedly one guy will have a 3x scope to be sharpshooter, but don't know issit implemented.
Anyway everybody's 1.5x scope is already better and more accurate than the ex-sharpshooter scope on M-16. Every SAF soldier also can do the sharpshooter role liao.
Originally posted by Hellraiza:There WILL be a company marksman role when the infantry battalions get re-organised.
its not a Extreme-Makeover thingy lah.... but it's going to be interesting for sure...damn it lah...don't know whether can say or not! LOL!Originally posted by LazerLordz:
There's even cooler stuff yet.Originally posted by kross1991:Wow. Cool la sei~ =D
Wish I can be a sniper one day and blow up people's head off @_@"
Sniper units are part of higher unit commands, I will not say at which level though.I believe GDS units have snipers, but no idea if they operate at a team, section or PLT level. That fatality in the CDO dunking case, SGT Hu, was a GDS sniper.
2 SIR CO last batch was a ColOriginally posted by blitzonic:I believe GDS units have snipers, but no idea if they operate at a team, section or PLT level. That fatality in the CDO dunking case, SGT Hu, was a GDS sniper.
SIR units supposedly have them in the '70s, or as I was told during my childhood. Dunno if my uncle, who had served with the pioneering NS batches, was BSing me or not.
More realistically, perhaps the sniper team in the video clip was a BDE one, embedded to 3 SIR for that particular urban-ops EX. INF EXs usually have a motley bunch of attached elements from elsewhere, anyway.
What's more peculiar for me is noticing that it was a LTC who was commanding 3 SIR. That's two ranks higher than a typical frontline CO.
i think they should worry about whether the snipers are able to acquire the targets fast enough.Originally posted by equlus84:I thought all INF and GDS BDEs got snipers in them? The snipers are attached to the battalions during ops. Maybe they are getting more and more into urban ops, so they want to have snipers organic to the battalions rather than having snipers attached.
I was wondering why SAF never purchase semi-auto sniper rifles like M21 or M40. They provide more rapid fire power in enclosed urban operations where new targets might pop out more frequently........
not really new. already implemented. or maybe it'z cuz 3 sir same camp as me, i see and play till sian? lol.Originally posted by LazerLordz:I see quite a few new pieces of equipment too.
i would like to call them guinea pigs. structure wise, agar the same as all other infantries la. wat's different is only what they specialise in lor.Originally posted by lwflee:That is 3 SIR, the FIBUA Battalion. Hence the structure is different to other infantry battalions.