I wasn't that unlucky to get asked to stay back. I just choose to stay back and because i had to train my understudies to take over my job. Somehow that was also for my own good lah cos if i don't train anyone, my phone will ring everyday in uni.Originally posted by Unknown_X:dkcx: lol my last working week i stay back everyday till 11 leh. cuz last min NSAD giv my office prob, den my dy told me stay back to help. u and me alike sia.
u sept 05, 1 batch after me leh. i viper 03/05. july, pes c modified bmt.
Good for you, i went for 1 week holiday in taiwan and when i came back, everyone happy to see me cause the entire section records dated back to the day before i left for taiwan...Originally posted by LazerLordz:I was blessed to have great juniors who were damned capable that I could leave for Australia for a whole month, 2 months before ORD and still come back to find things in one piece.
Although when I came back after being abroad and clearing my offs, half the workshop didn't know who I was.
WTF.Originally posted by dkcx:Good for you, i went for 1 week holiday in taiwan and when i came back, everyone happy to see me cause the entire section records dated back to the day before i left for taiwan...
Thats why it was the last time i ever took long leave, while people take leave to rest and relax, i take leave to OT the day or days for that matter after i return from leave. The worse thing is they never even record what they done the entire week to help me make the updating process easier. I had to slowly trace everything and i was damn pissed cos i instructed my sect comm to take over since he knows the basics but when i question him he juz say he has been busy... It won't kill him to spent 1 week in the office not that he 1 person can push out all the vehicles anyway.Originally posted by LazerLordz:WTF.
That must have sucked. Then again, I had irritating superiors ringing me in Perth.
Didn't care much for them, as they were not in my chain of command at all.
being garang/siao on doesn't necessary means that one is capable and suitable to lead.Originally posted by stellazio:the army needs people like you to sign on.
You're doing R&I in an AMB huh.Originally posted by dkcx:Thats why it was the last time i ever took long leave, while people take leave to rest and relax, i take leave to OT the day or days for that matter after i return from leave. The worse thing is they never even record what they done the entire week to help me make the updating process easier. I had to slowly trace everything and i was damn pissed cos i instructed my sect comm to take over since he knows the basics but when i question him he juz say he has been busy... It won't kill him to spent 1 week in the office not that he 1 person can push out all the vehicles anyway.
be the scapegoat can leOriginally posted by Gordonator:being garang/siao on doesn't necessary means that one is capable and suitable to lead.
Equivalent to R&I i would say since R&I was no more by the time i got to unit since they changed to the new ES system. It was a regular job but i would say more NSFs do it than regulars and thus are knowledge are better.Originally posted by LazerLordz:You're doing R&I in an AMB huh.
Sigh, 'A' Veh and 'B' Veh side always faces such problems.
Haha, the new ES system, I heard about that being implemented a while after I ORDed. Heard it's a bitch, and it actually makes a lot of the older regulars feel obsolete to the point of depression (well slightly).Originally posted by dkcx:Equivalent to R&I i would say since R&I was no more by the time i got to unit since they changed to the new ES system. It was a regular job but i would say more NSFs do it than regulars and thus are knowledge are better.
I would prefer my MSG not touch the system at all really cause he does many things wrongly which gives me more work but sometimes i would appreciate that they at least bother to update the vehicle status file, man hour file etc which DOES NOT require any ES knowledge but from the looks of things when i came back, the only thing that was access was email...
ES totally sucks. Its supposed to be a paperless system but we end up using up more paper cause we have to print things out or reproduce them on paper since army does not provide every office with a projector that lets me project my screen (reminds me how stupid it was for me to have to teach more than 10 ppl ES on 1 PC and i think less than 5 could see the screen while the rest just hang around because they were forced to be there and their OC was around).Originally posted by LazerLordz:Haha, the new ES system, I heard about that being implemented a while after I ORDed. Heard it's a bitch, and it actually makes a lot of the older regulars feel obsolete to the point of depression (well slightly).
Did you know the actual R&I work should be done by at least a 2WO? But if you look left right and center, it's the CPLs and 3SGs are doing it.
my unit WO n above likes to email whole day long, then dont noe how email also can email until uproar. lack the human touch laOriginally posted by dkcx:ES totally sucks. Its supposed to be a paperless system but we end up using up more paper cause we have to print things out or reproduce them on paper since army does not provide every office with a projector that lets me project my screen (reminds me how stupid it was for me to have to teach more than 10 ppl ES on 1 PC and i think less than 5 could see the screen while the rest just hang around because they were forced to be there and their OC was around).
Even from the time it was implemented, it keeps going through numerous changes so all the regulars that were trained in it were as good as untrained so it was worse for me who didn't even go through any formal training. I learnt the basics from my spec then after that it was phone calls after phone calls to my company ES expert and emails to DSTA for help as i got to more and more complicated issues. I made so many calls and emails that everytime anyone hear me call company HQ, they will auto direct the line without me even asking or saying who i looking for and i know quite a few of the DSTA stuff through email/phone conversations.
Last time i got 1 WO he don't go down to ground work even when we are low on manpower and hes still a SME. When we ask him help he say if he go ground who replies his emails... Next thing he will ask is where is the day's newspaper...Originally posted by BenBenDeZhu:my unit WO n above likes to email whole day long, then dont noe how email also can email until uproar. lack the human touch la
my WO very poor thing, always kena bully by other WO. our team see le also low moraleOriginally posted by dkcx:Last time i got 1 WO he don't go down to ground work even when we are low on manpower and hes still a SME. When we ask him help he say if he go ground who replies his emails... Next thing he will ask is where is the day's newspaper...
10 people to 1 PC? That's madness.Originally posted by dkcx:ES totally sucks. Its supposed to be a paperless system but we end up using up more paper cause we have to print things out or reproduce them on paper since army does not provide every office with a projector that lets me project my screen (reminds me how stupid it was for me to have to teach more than 10 ppl ES on 1 PC and i think less than 5 could see the screen while the rest just hang around because they were forced to be there and their OC was around).
Even from the time it was implemented, it keeps going through numerous changes so all the regulars that were trained in it were as good as untrained so it was worse for me who didn't even go through any formal training. I learnt the basics from my spec then after that it was phone calls after phone calls to my company ES expert and emails to DSTA for help as i got to more and more complicated issues. I made so many calls and emails that everytime anyone hear me call company HQ, they will auto direct the line without me even asking or saying who i looking for and i know quite a few of the DSTA stuff through email/phone conversations.
My understudy did came VERY late, think i had just 3-4 weeks left and 10 days of off/leaves. I was pestering my OC for them cos they don't sent soon i would just say bye bye and don't call me back.Originally posted by Unknown_X:dkcx: maybe your understudy came late for u lor. mine came like 5 mths b4 i ord. so i got more than enuff time to hand over things to him and teach him who to avoid and how to keng. cuz he a little mama boy kind and i dun wanna see him get bullied. i think u gordy and lazerlord shld sign on. lol
I was also surprised by the turnout, my instructions were to train the sect coms but in the end the OC made everyone came down so instead of just 4-5 sect comms, i had the OC, 2IC, CSM, 2PS, and 4-5 sect coms. Only the PCs were missing but then transport PCs are people who i almost never even seen once in my entire tour in camp. That training was the most stress ever since i only started ES myself for a few weeks and was still in training, half the things i was to teach i only just learnt so i wasn't even confident in it and the 2IC was asking so many questions till i even got blur.Originally posted by LazerLordz:10 people to 1 PC? That's madness.
During my time, we had LMIS and BCMIS. They had to toss us to DSTA for a Train-the-Trainer course before some of the workshop WOs started to stuff up the newly introduced components.
SAF never has a proper implementation plan, and as usual, us NSFs get the awful job of having to learn by ear and teach by sight.
before i ord my unit got change pcs, our team finally thought can get a decent 1 do paper work. in the end we never changed at all, that com like over 10 yrs liao, all our impt admin stuff insideOriginally posted by LazerLordz:10 people to 1 PC? That's madness.
During my time, we had LMIS and BCMIS. They had to toss us to DSTA for a Train-the-Trainer course before some of the workshop WOs started to stuff up the newly introduced components.
SAF never has a proper implementation plan, and as usual, us NSFs get the awful job of having to learn by ear and teach by sight.
Feels like you have been "pang seh-ed" by upper management.Originally posted by dkcx:I was also surprised by the turnout, my instructions were to train the sect coms but in the end the OC made everyone came down so instead of just 4-5 sect comms, i had the OC, 2IC, CSM, 2PS, and 4-5 sect coms. Only the PCs were missing but then transport PCs are people who i almost never even seen once in my entire tour in camp. That training was the most stress ever since i only started ES myself for a few weeks and was still in training, half the things i was to teach i only just learnt so i wasn't even confident in it and the 2IC was asking so many questions till i even got blur.
By the time i did my 2nd training which was almost 6 months later, close my eyes i can also do everything liao.
Anyway, i would say that training was more a waste of time cos in a few months they changed so many things that most of what they were taught were obsolete already and thus they made ALOT of errors which resulted in the CO this time requiring us to give them an updated lesson and who else but me to give it... This time however 4 companies were requested to sent 2 rep each but only 1 coy (the 1 that the whole coy came the other time) sent 2 reps while the others i don't care already so 2 guys were alot eaiser to teach and Q&A was easier this time since i am clear of what i am doing.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Feels like you have been "pang seh-ed" by upper management.
Sometimes, when we look back, we wonder "how the hell did we get it done" .
Damn..they should have just consolidated all the coursework, saved you from doing double work.Originally posted by dkcx:Anyway, i would say that training was more a waste of time cos in a few months they changed so many things that most of what they were taught were obsolete already and thus they made ALOT of errors which resulted in the CO this time requiring us to give them an updated lesson and who else but me to give it... This time however 4 companies were requested to sent 2 rep each but only 1 coy (the 1 that the whole coy came the other time) sent 2 reps while the others i don't care already so 2 guys were alot eaiser to teach and Q&A was easier this time since i am clear of what i am doing.
Most of the notes they made (if any) were also not of much use cause the entire working procedure changed, some minor some major and the worse thing is they never inform anyone of the changes, alot of times its when we do something wrong or something cannot get through, we ask then we are told the system has changed... The whole communication from the core team designing and maintaining the software and the users are not there. We are always lagging behind. It has been 4 months since i left, i won't be surprise if some of the things i'm used to have changed but i don't thin there will be anymore drastic changes if not they might as well just change the entire system.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Damn..they should have just consolidated all the coursework, saved you from doing double work.
Aiyah, I'm suddenly remembering all the awful stuff from work then..