myopic pilot trainees r sent for PRK during their OCS term, not lasik.Originally posted by cheeze:are you sure pilot trainees are sent for prk/ or lasik?
i thought it was only a small controlled group that was allowed so that they can monitor the long time side effects if any before allowing people to do this kinda of operation n fly for airforce.
flying ability plays a part of course. but u don't want a half blind pilot flying a fighter jet and amidst the manouvring, the glasses get slight dislodged in the helmet n u got to adjust it because you can't.
n u're not allowed to wear contacts to fly.
erm... correction.Originally posted by DayDreamer.SG:I cant even pass the COMPASS test. lol.. u can pass the COMPASS test first then say la. Go apply lor. no harm unless you sign their contract.
Compass test is a 5hrs computerised test. If u pass, u proceed to interview.
Bare in mind. 12 yrs bond in RSAF. Gdbye to your 20s.
You cant choose which type of pilot to be BUT in COMPASS, they will ask you to rate from fighter to heli.
If you got selected, they will send you for Lasik or smt. After BMT, they will take you out and send u OCS. All pilots must grad from OCS. Then you will go Air Force Sch and further training at Aussie,US .. blah blah..
Remember, if you sign on and u got injured in the process.. tts it for life.. 12 yrs you might downgrad to some RSAF vocation..
omg! he's still there?!?!?!?!Originally posted by Rock^Star:You should really hop down to manpower base at depot road.....
Capt Aaron Mak, the recruitment officer is a really nice chap and his main job is to round up all suitable pilot wannabes.
Anyway, if your interest is flying, you should accept whatever plane you are assigned. Being a transport pilot, flying a C130 or F50 is already a dream come true. Not everyone can handle the g-force of an F16.
It is all in your destiny. If you are meant to fly, you will.
Dear Justin,Originally posted by justinwie89:yea i dont mind the bond actually. as long as i get to fly. lol. whats all this about farmer and scholar pilot. dont they give that LSA thing to pilots who have good academic results? does that still make u a farmer.
i noticed in the online sign up page they asked bout ur cca records. are they more interested in brains or brawn. whats the physical training for being a pilot like? just abit curious.
yeh, he's not the combat kind lah......more suited for frontline PR job.Originally posted by tetsumi:omg! he's still there?!?!?!?!
he hentak kaki there so many yrs liao!!!
are you trying to say that by going to commandos and learning how to do a MFF will bring you ahead in front of your fellow pilots?Originally posted by KoolKool:Given this opportunity, I will complete Commandos training first. To be a pilot, you have a long career ahead, so it does not hurt to lose a few months in Commando training.
Learn how to parachute safely to the ground.
When you become a pilot, you will be trained how to pull the ejection seat, and learn how to land, but never get to do an actual jump.
So, with jump experience, you will be ahead of your pilot colleagues, who will never know what it will be like if they ever bail out from the aircraft.
I know jumping out of an aircraft and flying are 2 different things, so it does not make you a better pilot if you know how to jump. but having one experience beats having none.Originally posted by expeditious-:are you trying to say that by going to commandos and learning how to do a MFF will bring you ahead in front of your fellow pilots?
hah.
sorry to burst your bubble, but when its time to ditch, a pilot instinct will take over a person, not the commando instinct.
and no, having clock a jump does not help you when it comes to ditching. that i can tell you.
the timeline for pilot training is about 2.5yrsOriginally posted by KoolKool:Given this opportunity, I will complete Commandos training first. To be a pilot, you have a long career ahead, so it does not hurt to lose a few months in Commando training.
When you become a pilot, you will be trained how to pull the ejection seat, and learn how to land, but never get to do an actual jump.
So, with jump experience, you will be ahead of your pilot colleagues, who will never know what it will be like if they ever bail out from the aircraft.
i beg to differ.Originally posted by KoolKool:Given this opportunity, I will complete Commandos training first. To be a pilot, you have a long career ahead, so it does not hurt to lose a few months in Commando training.
go ask airforce recruitment for all your questions. but they will sell u all the good points mainly.Originally posted by justinwie89:crosshairs thanks for the advice and yea it'd be really good if u had some ppl to introduce whom i could consult.
hmmm. so the best choice for me now is just to give CMPB a ring bout what the air force's like and what it takes to be a pilot; prospects etc etc?
yea also quite curious bout what pilots really do besides flying especially after they reach the age when they cant fly anymore. crosshairs mentioned projects?
in ther words if im more interested in a flying oriented career commercial is the way to go?
koolkool is right...Originally posted by the_fallen:i beg to differ.
when u become a pilot, u at least have to take the Air-Borne Badge/Course too..that's when you're on-par with those Commandos already..
Moreover...Commandos train people to think that they are "Super-Man" and are well versed in almost everything..
If you really want to be a pilot, you have better express ur interest in pilot now online, and let them know that you're in Mono In-take, thus they can make the necessary arrangements.
The recruitment talk which i heard from my Warrant Officers are SDU & SOF talks since your fitness level is considered very fit.
That's just what I know.
You can ask your seniors if you want to..
Keep your options open..
he has left the force about half a year already.. now in jandakot as a SIA pilot trainee.. not because he hentak kaki.. cause he dun need to climb anyway.Originally posted by Rock^Star:yeh, he's not the combat kind lah......more suited for frontline PR job.
Wouldn;t see it as hentak kaki though......
pilot do not have to take airborne badge.. and Commando's airborne badge and normal peeps airborne badge is different. Commando does combat jump, normal peeps dun thus Commandos have the red backing. they are NOT on par. and the only reason why u see so many pilot has airborne badge is because that is the easiest confidence badge to attain and they need at least one confidence badge to promote. (all regular needs that one confidence badge to promote actually)Originally posted by the_fallen:i beg to differ.
when u become a pilot, u at least have to take the Air-Borne Badge/Course too..that's when you're on-par with those Commandos already..
Moreover...Commandos train people to think that they are "Super-Man" and are well versed in almost everything..
If you really want to be a pilot, you have better express ur interest in pilot now online, and let them know that you're in Mono In-take, thus they can make the necessary arrangements.
The recruitment talk which i heard from my Warrant Officers are SDU & SOF talks since your fitness level is considered very fit.
That's just what I know.
You can ask your seniors if you want to..
Keep your options open..
Thats how SAF works, nothing is done fast and normally at the last minute. Interview for?Originally posted by d3athy:Anyone know roughly how long do they take to organize a interview ?? I was waiting from april till now and when i call and ask, they say will get back to me asap . It's like 7 months + le =.= goin to enlist on dec 11th ....
When was the last time you call them? Army efficiency sucks, sometimes need pester them alot and they still won't care.Originally posted by d3athy:interview for WSO pilot de ... >.<
freak ... i enlisted to police ... -.-
dont wanna go thru bmt 1/2 way than got pulled out >.<