Originally posted by Ashearo:
Hi everyone. I am a Transport Supervisor at 1 SAF TPT BN. I was just informed a few days ago that I will be going to ROC as a driver to support 5SIR during their ATEC Evaluation exercise. I was told that I will be there from 7 April to 24 April, and I will likely be part of the advance party to do recce. Can anyone give me for information? Because that the above is all the info I have. What is it like there? Recce party do what? Stay outfield for the entire time there? Nothing was mentioned about RnR. In fact, i know nuts about it.
First time go ROC? IF yes, good luck

Taiwanese mei mei very sweet and friendly.
Advance part: You will go there and do preparation works like collecting SAF vehs from the ports mostly at the southern part of taiwan. Kaosiong harbour. If you are driving the vehs back from there to ur camp, good luck. Sibei siong and tiring. Becareful when driving.
Or they may send the vehs to somewhere near ur camp by using railway. Then its much easy for u.
After collecting the vehs, u maybe needed to go for orientation driving to get urself familiar with the roads and ex area. And do bear in mind, when u stop by the roadside outside those stall selling binglang, dun go in and disturb the chio chio binglang mei mei. They are protected by gangsters.
Some of these stalls do have a dark partition

and if the mei mei asked u go in. You better say no.

Wait u come out with ur wallets empty

Life as a MT line spec is ok lah. Not siong.
Of course stay in camp lah. U think the SAF book hotel 81 for u meh?

Think everyday also can get nites off. Going for nites off, if u want to get those 'pirated' taxi its fine but if the taxi driver ask u about SAF thingy, dun say too much. Juz say u SAF cook can already. And pls note: There are PRC spys there driving a cab jus to get info about SAF.
I'll tell u more later about veh ops.