Nope... I don't think so. I'm just your normal ol' LCP, no appointments or anything.
Yo guys, I'm also posted to this unit... And received the call-up my ICT's on 15-26sept... But I'm enrolling in uni this year, haven go in uni yet so like dun haf the necessary course documents so like dunno how to defer sia... then sch most prob start in aug, wa like tt how ar...
Originally posted by lemon1974:bring uniforms (how many sets, depend on u, for me, i bring 4 sets for ICT and then slowly reduce to 2 sets for last ICT), plus SBO/helmet/full pack (if got) plus personel belongings, such as toothbrush/shower foam/slipper etc etc. if dun have SBO/Helmet/fullpack, i think they will issue u new sets. the emart there got sell these personel items as well, if u forget to bring. just remember to bring some cash and coins (for vending machines). bring dog tags/11B/IC/lock as well. Canteen only got one chinese stall and one drink stall and for 1st ICT, dun have much time for canteen break. Cook house food is quite ok though..For smokers, need to bring enough ammunition for one week. Also, no camera hp is allowed. so pls standby a non-camera phone.
it is stay in and u get to book out on the first sat(usually evening) and then book in on sun night and then outprocess on fri evening (26 sep). usually no night off, cos alway got night training or early training the next day. be prepared to get up at 5am almost everyday. . And IPPT is usually on the first tuesday. be prepared for it. 2.4km route is two rounds round the camp. if failed, will get another chance to take before outprocess.
also, i think it is better to drive(if got car) or take cab (share a cab, if u can find other who stay close to u), cos need to reach by 7.30am and consider the amount of things to carry, i dun think u want to take MRT/bus.. also, Alpha Company -stay at 3rd floor, Bravo -4th Floor, Charlier -5th Floor, Delta - 6th Floor. good luck if u kenna delta, although there is a cargo lift, which is very slow.
btw, i think they will call u all up for a briefing in clementi camp around 3 months before the ICT. It is a half day event if i am not wrong.. they will let u know what to bring etc etc and if want to defer or got any questions, can ask during that briefing..
very good info. thanks.
question, if one is using the old SBO and field pack and want the new lbv and new field pack, can we say we don't have our sbo/field pack so they can issue us new ones?
Originally posted by Gordonator:very good info. thanks.
question, if one is using the old SBO and field pack and want the new lbv and new field pack, can we say we don't have our sbo/field pack so they can issue us new ones?
for the old SBO/field pack, i am not very sure whether u can say you dun have it or not, cos think u ORD quite recently right? in my case, i ORD in 1995 and were called up in 2002 and i return all my SBO/Fullpack when ORD. anyway, u may try it. if they never say anything, then maybe u will get the new one (or maybe old one, cos PDF need to clear the old stock first ) . If they say that u have been issued, then no choice loh..
so far, everyone in my unit were using the old fieldpack/SBO. The only one is see using the LBV is the 2LT trainer from PDF. Even the WO Trainers from 2 PDF are using the old SBO.
Originally posted by j-c:Yo guys, I'm also posted to this unit... And received the call-up my ICT's on 15-26sept... But I'm enrolling in uni this year, haven go in uni yet so like dun haf the necessary course documents so like dunno how to defer sia... then sch most prob start in aug, wa like tt how ar...
u got the place in Uni alrd right? NUS or NTU right? Just send them deferment letter or apply for deferment at NS.sg, indicating that you will be starting school in Aug 2008. attached the letter of acceptance from NUS/NTU, if you have it. Can get a letter from the Uni administration department as well.
Originally posted by blitzonic:PDF troops are second-line peng, lah. Won’t have to fight ATEC like the ex-SIR people during their own ICTs, as far as I know. The bad news is that you must do the old BMT/infantry stuff again (IFC, trench digging, FIBUA, etc.), so the physical discomforts shall be a mighty cultural shock. Also no chemistry with each other from the get-go, unlike them. But got chance to operate from military vehicles like MG-mounted jeeps, I believe, again unlike them.
The POI duties won’t come until later in the cycle, if I’m correct.
FIBUA only done once in whole ICT cycle. one day event only.. fun.. wait for your turn and that it. Dun worry, not as siong as u think.
IFC will be in first two ICTs. not as siong lah. usually it is walking lah. sometime must jog a bit when doing flanking loh. however, must prepare to step on mud loh and get yourself dirty if grd is wet. IFC in next few ICTs will be during the mission exercise loh but usually they dun bother so much lah.. i forget all about the movement thing alrd..
Trench Digging only during mission exercise (4 days 3 night field camp loh). Dun be surprise of the size of the trench need to be dig,but at least sometime got Kobelco to help..
Chemistry wise, just get to know each other during first ICT and try to not to defer to future ICTs. In my case, most of my platoon mates have went through ICTs together and we are close to each other even though we dunno each other before first ICT.
One thing to pray hard, is that u get a good PC/Sect Com/OC.
Err.. never got chance to operate from military vehicles leh for PDF units leh.. even MG/84MM team got their own trench.
POI duties is last ICT if i am not wrong. but there are PDF units which are purely doing POI duties only for ICTs as well.
Originally posted by BloodChildVagueSoul:Nope... I don't think so. I'm just your normal ol' LCP, no appointments or anything.
normal LCP ah? if u kenna three weeks, then maybe u will be holding some appointment loh. u will get to know loh. maybe u wan to try call your unit to check?
hey
thanks lemon1974 for the reply. I tried logging into ns.sg and go to deferment section, but they ask qns like how many hours of classes you've each week, no. of lessons per week? Em i haven even go in NTU yet lor, how'd i know... they specify they need to fax in besides acceptance letter, they nid exam time table, course time table... by right we're given how many weeks before the ICT to defer? If I wait until august then send will it be ok? cause it's like not possible to ans and produce those doc.
Originally posted by j-c:hey
thanks lemon1974 for the reply. I tried logging into ns.sg and go to deferment section, but they ask qns like how many hours of classes you've each week, no. of lessons per week? Em i haven even go in NTU yet lor, how'd i know... they specify they need to fax in besides acceptance letter, they nid exam time table, course time table... by right we're given how many weeks before the ICT to defer? If I wait until august then send will it be ok? cause it's like not possible to ans and produce those doc.
u can call 1800- 3676767 to check ....
i jus called n asked bout my deferment too
they r quite infomative... but u mus speak to the customer service ppl
Originally posted by j-c:hey
Once you maticulate in NTU, go to their student laision office to obtain a student-status letter. Attach it with your deferment application to send to your unit. This is the traditional method - not sure about online - so the university clerks will know what to do, having processed many such requests through the years.
http://www.ntu.edu.sg/OAS/Undergraduate+Studies/Administrative+Services/deferment.htm
MANY THANKS
Originally posted by blitzonic:Hey lemon1974, thanks for the info. I’ve got a cousin who converted from NSF MP to reservist PDF infantry back in the ‘90s, & my knowledge was gleamed from the small talk whenever we met up over CNY over the years.
One thing I’d never got around to ask, so can you confirm for me: Do PDF troops undergo a field-EX test to assess their ops readiness during ICT, like ATEC & FATEP with the frontline counterparts?
yes... PDF troops undergo Field Ex Test to assess their ops readiness.. so called mission exercise.. my one coming up in the next ICT after going through 4 High Key ICTs. PDF one is the defensive one. build trench at coastel areas and then wait for intruders.. If perform well in this test, then the next high key ICT will be changed to low key.. so called motivation.