have any NS completed singaporean ever work as one before ?
i am just curious
If there were, i dun think they'll be here anyway...
they think its better than getting peanuts
its illegal for any singapore citizen to work for any foriengn arm force IR FFL
not too sure whats the stand for PMC's like Black waters and such
heard they pay damn damn well, up to 1000us per day for high risk duty, which i can imagine is fucking high risk seeing whats going on in Iraq Afgan now
Originally posted by snk86:its illegal for any singapore citizen to work for any foriengn arm force IR FFL
not too sure whats the stand for PMC's like Black waters and such
heard they pay damn damn well, up to 1000us per day for high risk duty, which i can imagine is fucking high risk seeing whats going on in Iraq Afgan now
what will happen(punishemnt) if kanna caught?
Originally posted by kengkia:
what will happen(punishemnt) if kanna caught?
if U dont come back to sg,U wouldnt get caught.Literally speaking at least.
wat about the French Foreign Legion??
Is it illegal??
Originally posted by Googlelian:have any NS completed singaporean ever work as one before ?
i am just curious
Depending on your own definiton of Mercenary....working as Ah Long,Private bodyguards,enforcers and special contractors hired by law firms..etc included ar not? If so I can tell you there are many.
Originally posted by pigsticker:wat about the French Foreign Legion??
Is it illegal??
The name should give you a clue... It is part of a foreign military!
Not sure about Sg policy on PMCs though. I don't think it is very favourable? The SAF trained you to defend singapore, afterall, not to fight someone else's battles for money.
Originally posted by edwin3060:The name should give you a clue... It is part of a foreign military!
Not sure about Sg policy on PMCs though. I don't think it is very favourable? The SAF trained you to defend singapore, afterall, not to fight someone else's battles for money.
And what exactly is wrong by using the skills learnt to further oneself in other professions that have much greater renumeration? Retired senior civil servants helm private companies all the time in Singapore.
You have to do reservist training until you are past over 40 years old and after that if any foreign security company wants to employ you then good luck! I dont see anything wrong with that.
I dun think it's illegal for Sgreans to work as a PMC...
Originally posted by rooki:And what exactly is wrong by using the skills learnt to further oneself in other professions that have much greater renumeration? Retired senior civil servants helm private companies all the time in Singapore.
I didn't say that it was illegal, just that it probably would not be looked on favourably? No questions about foreign militaries, that would definitely be illegal, but for PMCs it is more grey. For example, if the PMC is overzealous like Blackwater, and causes international incidents like they did, the fact that one of the characters in a massacre is a Singaporean/was trained by the Singaporean Army would not reflect well on the reputation of our military. Also, the Singaporean government has always taken steps to ensure the safety of citizens globally, but how would they account for someone who wants to go into a warzone? Finally, as I said, the military training that Sg males are given is an investment that the country puts in them, and the payoff is that they defend the country whether through deterrence or action. If this Sg male takes this training and fights and dies for someone else, they can no longer defend the country, can they?
Originally posted by edwin3060:I didn't say that it was illegal, just that it probably would not be looked on favourably? No questions about foreign militaries, that would definitely be illegal, but for PMCs it is more grey. For example, if the PMC is overzealous like Blackwater, and causes international incidents like they did, the fact that one of the characters in a massacre is a Singaporean/was trained by the Singaporean Army would not reflect well on the reputation of our military. Also, the Singaporean government has always taken steps to ensure the safety of citizens globally, but how would they account for someone who wants to go into a warzone? Finally, as I said, the military training that Sg males are given is an investment that the country puts in them, and the payoff is that they defend the country whether through deterrence or action. If this Sg male takes this training and fights and dies for someone else, they can no longer defend the country, can they?
Must everything be about country? Since NS training is compulsory, it's only right that one uses the it to its full extent, and one of the ways to fully make use of it is joining PMCs.
No wonder Singaporeans complain that NS is a waste of time. Do something about it! Make it less wasteful!
Utilise your knowledge! Perhaps then there'll be less whining.
Originally posted by rooki:Must everything be about country? Since NS training is compulsory, it's only right that one uses the it to its full extent, and one of the ways to fully make use of it is joining PMCs.
No wonder Singaporeans complain that NS is a waste of time. Do something about it! Make it less wasteful!
Utilise your knowledge! Perhaps then there'll be less whining.
Is your Vocation and training in the SAF half as good enough for the likes of say...Blackwater? If not then why KPKB about it.
Please lah, PMC =/= foreign military forces.
Secondly, if people wish to pursue a PMC career, is it wrong? Why all the stone-throwing?
Please be more circumspect. Thanks.
i dun c anything wrong..
end of the day, i gotta bring the bacon home.. i cant depend on the govt to take care of my family..