the only thing that sets apart a military pilot and a civilian pilot is the type of flying u get exposed to and u can only get that in a military organisation. we're just talking bout the flying bit here.
airliners just go from point to point, the transit process is just pretty mundane. military flying is much more hectic, with demands for mission planning and execution and the dynamism of each flight in a jet. u won't be able to get it elsewhere.
i would go as far as to say once u've had your fair share of fun flying in a jet, you probably had enough and u'd be happy to cross over to the airlines to earn the $$ once ur time is served knowing u had that sort of experience. by than u'd prob be in yr mid 30s and u want a more 'relaxed' sorta lifestyle right. but at least u can say u been there done that. if u regret ur decision then tough. if u thoroughly enjoyed it, then good for u.
no doubt the job comes with alot of added baggages in terms of stupid work chores. but not everybody can make it into the cockpit of a jet. thats some achievement u can keep in yr pocket.
its safe to say that some commercial pilots were once military pilots. but not necessary commercial pilots can become military pilots.
seriously again think carefully.
Originally posted by cheeze:anyway, for commercialisation- they are only commercialising the not so critical stuff right? like training and some maintenence and the less sensitive operations. i think the fighter side is not going into that area anytime soon.
Think again. Proposals are finalising already.
Originally posted by stellazio:no ar, the acc command can set a lower tasking requirement to be met if they want to. F16's also usually never meet their tasking one..
isn;t nsfs even cheaper labour then those uncles from ST?hahaha..
yeah i see the techs work so hard and long hours, its not justified for the pay that they're getting and the food they're eating.
Its not just savings in terms of pay. Hiring uncles means transfering of staff liability to the contractor. RSAF won't have to be bothered with their insurance, safety, medical coverage etc.
But isn't it true that "ah gong" wants to encourage more techs to move over to ST once their contract expires?
Originally posted by del_co:dudes...is the rsaf REALLY that screwed up? man...even i dun hear abt the Navy being that bad. anyway, if i were a pilot i wun like the idea of ST uncles working on my plane man. if this whole ST uncles thing is true...that wld really be weird. like flying with the syfc. haha! no, im not siao on. but its more of...for the sake of doing wad i wanna do and to make my parents proud. the tradition. u noe? been wanting to join the SAF since i was a kid. can say i kena influenced by family, although my mum is against it she has finally accepted it. haha!
Once anyone has been with any organisation for an extended amount of time and can't choose to leave, its very hard for them to not get disgruntled. A lot of the lao jiaos in the force grumble day in and out (you can't begin to imagine how whiny some pilots can get! haha), but i understand where they come from. Its just time for them to leave. if you really have the passion, go for it, but after you have weighed the pros and cons. And weigh them by your own standards and beliefs, don't compare them to someone else's. At the end of the day, it is your life afterall and what you want to do with it.
man, i really dun wanna go for RPK man. how do i not go for that if i complete my bwc?
Hey one and all,
need some career advice here.
Im 20 this year currently serving ns in cdo for 1.5 yrs now. I sat for both pilot and wso ftr test earlier this year and only wso ftr got back to me. Im up for interview soon and was wondering if everything goes well, will the contract of 10 years for wso ftr be worthwhile.
I have secured a place in NUS and was wondering if i make it to wso ftr, will they sponsor or subsidise my studies? If so, how will the route be? Am i able to take my degree first or only after some basic training first?
Any idea how much is the pay scheme for trainee WSO ftr like? And any idea what if i fail air grading or something? Is it worthwhile signing on to a military life although i have secured a uni placement?
Yes, i do enjoy military life. But in terms of career-wise, what are ur opinions on these?
Cheers.
Hello Guys, I have a question to ask and I'll explain my scenerio.
I applied for pilot vocation before my BMT, took my COMPASS test before BMT and only got my medical appointment along with others who applied for pilot during BMT. That sucks, because some of them took their compass only a few days before and they got a medical appointment on the same day as me when i took my compass months ago.
Anyway, our medical appointment is only 1 week before our posting results. Most of us got posted to SISPEC. Does that mean we have already failed to qualify to become pilots? My other friend from YFC said once the medical results are out and if we passed the interview and medical, we will be pulled out from sispec. How true is it?
I do not want to spend my time waiting in anxiety about the process and outcome of our application, so I hope somebody can shed some light about our chances now.
I'm in a similar situation as you. Got posted to SISPEC, reporting on Monday, but Air Recruitment Centre said that I'm eligible to proceed to next phase. Kinda stuck as well. It seems that they might not pull us out immediately, but only at the end of the 9 week BSLC...
I just received my call for an interview on the 15th of August, 8am I think. I was too excited to correctly ascertain the time!
Waited about 4months to get my interview, as I took my COMPASS on 22nd of April. A dam long wait, but a truly fulfilling one I hope! Any fellow pilot wannabes here going next week?
Erm.... i supposedly received a call from them too! i missed it, called them back but they couldnt find the caller. -.- oh well. waiting for them to call me back or sth.
Wow. My wait was much shorter. i took it on 22nd July!
Hmm. Shall confirm with you rylche after i get my call!
I got a friend going next week. I called them up but they havent gave me a proper reply yet. I took my compass last yr at like late july or somewhere arnd august. Haha, quite long alr. But that time is cos still under syfc, so its compulsory to take it then.
I suppose my interview shld be pretty soon cos they say they'll get back to me in a short while...
Anyway you know wad's the number to call?
62701010. That's the number that called me. I think it was some officer who was doing the calling? Not very sure though. Add me on MSN : luluzynhahaikai[at]--msn.com if you can!
Aye. I called them. They say no more interview slot for August already. Have to wait till sept. Hopefully can schedule one right after my prelims then!
I have a question.. I heard that only those with perfect eyesight will be allowed to fly the F16, and that if you are shortsighted you will only be allowed tofly the choppers or transport aircrafts eventually though they will take u in for pilot training, even with lasik. Can anyone confirm this? From what I heard its some kind of unwritten rule that noone mentions but happens?
Thanks.
Not true. There are fighter pilots out there who have done lasik. It's your performance during AGC and BWC that matters.
hey rylche. how's your interview?
Passed and onto medical!
Cool... What did they ask you? haha.
They call u using their hotline no: 62701010.
U can call em back using the toll free no: 1800 2701010. Actually its the same as above other than the 1800. lol. I'm not very sure whether both are toll free, but for cheapskate reasons i use the 1800 no. when calling them.
And how sure are u that u are going ndu? They called u down for interview alr? Cos if thats so and u showed interest, then good luck. U will be stuck in there for 9 bloody months taking shit and hell, while the rest of us tekong boys will be going over after 3 months. If u really wanted to be pilot, shoulda turned down commandos and ndu if they ever ask u.
hey i was just wondering...i fail my SBJ, so that means my IPPT is a fail, can i still get into air wing? anyone has any friends whose ippt fail yet still make it to air wing?
Doubt u can make it if u fail ippt man. I dunno of any pilots who fail their ippt. Go train on ur sbj. Its really easy to go past 250 or 260 once u get the technique right. In fact, getting full points for napfa or ippt is a piece of cake if u train.
Hi guys..
I'm 16 and taking 'O's this year...I've an interest in flying, i plan to flying in the airforce then join SIA..how should i get into the flying career? Poly or JC? Thnks=)
Dont think of joining SIA so easily, or by using rsaf as a stepping stone. Its many many many years of ur life u have to give to the air force before your contract even expires, so I think that if u go in thinking abt SIA half the time, might as well not join rsaf right? Just go join SIA straight once u reach 26.
Anyway, if u wanna be a pilot next time, no difference as to whether u poly or jc. However, a university degree is almost always a requirement for SIA. For the air force, they do take in people with just a plain poly diploma or A Level cert, but then do take note that u will forever be one of the people down at the bottom of the chain if u go in without a degree. Dont make urself so disadvantaged.
Let me just give u advice from a JC point of view. If u like to study, or have no idea what kind of course u want to do in poly (like me), then choose JC. But remember that the JC route is much more academic-intensive. If u are the type who cannot study one, then die die also dont come jc. Go poly instead. Poly route spans 3 yrs, but overall if ur goal is to go university, then both routes would result in the same number of years studied. So doesnt matter either way. Go the route that suits u most that can allow u to go university.
However, if u dont fall into the study person type, or even the type who can survive well in poly, then my advice is to just go poly. Cos the fact of life is that a poly grad will always earn more than an A Level grad without degree. The poly grad would be armed with skills that can get him a better pay grade. Hope this helps.