Originally posted by stellazio:31 years old major without degree? its damn hard..
and erm, there is no such thing as a 26 years old degree holder pilot unless you're a scholar.. most pilots less the scholars who decides to take up a degree course only gets to go uni after they get their Cat B which is around 27 years old.
i agree with you that 31 yr old non grad can't be Major. That is true. I was only focusing on basic degree holders. 26 yr old degree holder pilot is possible. Most of the graduate pilots are LSA or ATA people. They apply for some study award as and when they apply to be pilots. Can be after right A levels (and they only qualify for ATA, got kicked out of SMS), can be during their uni yrs, can be after at 23 or 24. Pls note that SAF study awards can be applied anytime.
These people are not SAFOS, which is a one-time thing after A levels. You never find some loser at 21 apply for SAFOS do you? Anytime anyone wants to apply to join SAF, they apply for an award and hope for the best and see what they can get. Some get SMS, some get ATA, some get LSA. They apply to be pilot and get the award, get backdated course fees.
And no, they're not scholars. Not everyone who gets some kind of sponsorship from SAF is a scholar.
Because almost all degree holders in SAF have some kind of sponsorship. Despite what they go around claiming. If they dare to claim (which I know some do all the time), ask them to talk cock to a president's scholar. And i'd love to see their balls shrink.
Originally posted by wonderamazement:*buzz sound. wrong answer, they are making money.
I was wondering are you a student? if you are not, i guess you must be working for some SME.
For a GLC to make loss, it's very 'cham' liao. The alarm bells ring when profits DIP. You don't need to wait for a loss for a GLC to shout for help. That one, is gone case already.
Our GLCs generally year on year, go ask anyone who's worked in a huge company like a GLC before, post profits. Even during the last crisis which was SARS, they posted profits, just drop in profits. When profits don't post double digit growth, they worry. When profits drop, it's considered VERY BAD.
Are you aware that DBS recently axed 900 people? Of course it seems like a drastic move to most. And i guess it's pretty serious. Did they post a loss? It will not come to that stage for GLCs, which are 1) huge *unlike nobody SMEs or some silly MNC outpost in Asia 2) conservative *unlike American investment banks.So you prob think that for such a drastic action for DBS to axe 900 people, they posted a loss? Of course not. Huge companies backed by govt never wait for "loss" to react. The L word is taboo. for people who haven't started working or have never worked for big companies, they don't know this. http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Money/Story/STIStory_306976.html DBS also made money this yr, it just posted a 38 per cent drop in profits. Yet 38 per cent drop is considered very alarming already, severe enough for them to axe 900 people. that's how big boys operate.
According to this news report, hmmmm, http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/companies/story/0,4574,310140,00.html
"SIA reported its biggest slump in traffic in more than five years as a global recession cuts travel demand. Passenger numbers slid 6.1 per cent last month to 1.54 million.
That's the biggest drop since a 7.6 per cent decline in August 2003
SIA's traffic has declined in two of the past three months as financial firms cut business travel and people cancel leisure trips. Global air traffic will decline 3 per cent next year, the first drop since 2001, the International Air Transport Association has said. The airline gained 0.2 per cent to $11.06 in trading yesterday. The shares have declined 36 per cent this year."
If you want to wait for SIA to post an actual loss before you find out the truth about commercial airline pilot pay, its just holding on to a broken dream.
hi guys
i know this is a little out of what you are discussing but i would like to ask if u dun mind
what is life as a wso ( c3) like ? wso( fighter) ? i have a rough idea of what they do, but i would like to find out more if those who know/who are in it shed mnore light thanks
Originally posted by Guard9:hi guys
i know this is a little out of what you are discussing but i would like to ask if u dun mind
what is life as a wso ( c3) like ? wso( fighter) ? i have a rough idea of what they do, but i would like to find out more if those who know/who are in it shed mnore light thanks
ok i was trained as a wso(c3) so i can tell u that wso(c3) are basically controllers. they are the one who control how aircraft move about in the air.
wso(fighter), on the other hand, is the "co-pilot" in a fighter plane. his main objective is to deliver the payload and fulfill the mission objectives while the pilot is just his "driver". think of the wso(fighter) as the tank commander + gunner while the pilot is the tank driver. you get the idea.
discuss here: http://www.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/324100
i think you're giving far too much respect to the wso fighter..the pilot is not just his driver, the pilot will and always be the captain of the aircraft and that tells you something.
WSO(ftr) are not pilots and therefore do not qualify as pilots. It is not an easy job because you'll need to make decisions under physical and mental stress.... Some pilots think that WSOs are just dead weights...
No. A compass test is valid for 2 years. So if you failed the first one, you are not allowed to take it again within 2 years.
In any case don't join ADA, pretty sad job IMO
Regular WSO who wash out from other courses (i.e my friend who was from UAV) are offered positions as ADA officers. Don't do it for pride, you will regret it
heard in the US quite a number of top grade fighter pilots are getting plucked out of their F-16 seats to get thrown into flying UAVs... decent number of them are very disappointed as they are most likely gonna be stuck doing that for the rest of their careers.
how about Air Crew specialist leh? how to join sia...
Originally posted by wonderamazement:heard in the US quite a number of top grade fighter pilots are getting plucked out of their F-16 seats to get thrown into flying UAVs... decent number of them are very disappointed as they are most likely gonna be stuck doing that for the rest of their careers.
how about Air Crew specialist leh? how to join sia...
U must go SISPEC 1st.....
all along i thought SISPEC for army nia...
Originally posted by wonderamazement:all along i thought SISPEC for army nia...
Well SISPEC is a specialist course, but of cos they are for biased towards infantry training. But in order to be spec in other vocation u must go BSLC 1st....
Originally posted by tarutaru:Well SISPEC is a specialist course, but of cos they are for biased towards infantry training. But in order to be spec in other vocation u must go BSLC 1st....
SISPEC is a must if you sign on as a combat specialist like ADSS, infantry, guards etc etc.
If you are signing on as service specialist such as AOSS, Senior Tech, you do not need to go through BSLC.
hi teraexa
what are the working hours for c3 , would there be drp outs? im eligible for wso c3 already nw waiting for the interview which i heard they will call me up during my three wks confinement
Originally posted by Guard9:hi teraexa
what are the working hours for c3 , would there be drp outs? im eligible for wso c3 already nw waiting for the interview which i heard they will call me up during my three wks confinement
working hours for C3? if you are a controller kind, theres no fixed hours..
basically as a C3 officer hardly are there fixed ones, even those posted to tower.
the ones manning radar no need to say.
so its not ur standard 8-5 job.
ok kinda figured that out already but whats the training for the next 9 mths like do u have any idea? sorry kinda nervous
after the tri service in ocs, its air force school all the way until the final 3 weeks to prepare for commisioning parade.
but dont worry, air force school is a place like no other..if u compare it to all the other stay in training schools, i guess you can really call it "Above All".
thanks alot... but is the c3 training similiar to that of pilot and wso (fighter) ? as in if u dun make the cut they would void ur contract ?
seldom a C3 officer will drop out..unless u really super super cmi like keep failing the tests or cant stop stuttering, pronounce or speak properly those type..
ok thanks so much im just waiting for interview now=)) is there anything else i need to take note of? thanks
Originally posted by Guard9:ok thanks so much im just waiting for interview now=)) is there anything else i need to take note of? thanks
To be a C3 officer, you need to know that your training never stops, not even after you are commissioned. You will continually undergo operational cat upgrade.
Do not have the illusion that WSO(C3)'s chopping rate is low. For the last 3 WSO(C3) courses, at least 3 cadets have been chopped.
As a WSO(C3), you will realise that training is unlike playing a computer game. It's not easy to adapt to the RT brevity of a controller. Also, you must think like a controller and be able to be calm on position. That's because you will be exposed to periods where high intensity of stress will be rained mercilessly on you. I am not kidding you as the pressure will not only come from the situation but also the pilot(s) and your instructor beside you. You must be able to remain calm and project a sense of confidence on position (whether you break down after standing down is a different matter).
For your Pro term training, your typical day starts with a muster parade before simulator slots and/or theory lessons. Compared to WSO(ADA), there is significantly less emphasis placed on physical training although you are still expected to pass your IPPT. There is a lot of emphasis on theory knowledge (if not how are you going to ensure that your ops is carried out smoothly? there is no time to refer to references on position. the info has got to come from your head.)
But first, do 'enjoy' your first 2 weeks of CLT in an OCS army wing before moving on to Air Wing. Air Wing is significantly less regimental than army wings but Air Force School is a vastly different matter altogether.
thanks for the heads up ill keep it in mind thanks alot.=)) ill do my best
Originally posted by stellazio:31 years old major without degree? its damn hard..
and erm, there is no such thing as a 26 years old degree holder pilot unless you're a scholar.. most pilots less the scholars who decides to take up a degree course only gets to go uni after they get their Cat B which is around 27 years old.
Friend of mine 24 this year, Degree Holder, Pilot trainee, what say you?