Originally posted by crxiong353:Yes, love for flying, aviation, military aviation..
No one can understand my love for aviation. Hell, I even got an unofficial record with the police for my passion.
I was like you once. Damn garang, applied various positions in the airforce. During BMT, I realised how this organisation functions and understand the shit and regimentation and decided this kinda life isn't for me. I gave up my applications and served my 1 year 10 months and F off. How glad that I made that decision.
You gotta be in the organisation to see and feel yourself the shit and regimentation and ask yourself if this is really what you want.
Wah.. unofficial police record? let me guess. through plane spotting si bo?
Originally posted by crxiong353:Yes, love for flying, aviation, military aviation..
No one can understand my love for aviation. Hell, I even got an unofficial record with the police for my passion.
I was like you once. Damn garang, applied various positions in the airforce. During BMT, I realised how this organisation functions and understand the shit and regimentation and decided this kinda life isn't for me. I gave up my applications and served my 1 year 10 months and F off. How glad that I made that decision.
You gotta be in the organisation to see and feel yourself the shit and regimentation and ask yourself if this is really what you want.
i second this comment.
don't talk to me about passion.
you haven't seen how the organisation can suck the passion out of you and take away your youth.
Originally posted by del_co:
yup. flying the UAV right?
you consider remote control plane = flying?
Originally posted by del_co:why wrong choice for uav? well for me military flying has nth to do with those ads. i haf always been interested in jet planes and the military. so thus its the natural choice. but of cuz i will go to sia when i retire. why uav? its the next flying thing after piloting. i can say its a passion i had since i was 9. started reading tom clancy's fighter wing at 11. lol.
friend, i play alot of flight sims too.
i also like to fly around, land the aircraft, pretend i'm a pilot in the game.
do i sound like a happy employee?
it's obvious ppl hate the screwed up part of the SAF...the regimentation and waiting time etc. but if you really wanna do something (and the ONLY thing) you love for a living, gotta suck it all up and take it in your stride wad. right? anyway i dun play flight sims...the feel isn't there la..the g-force and all. i know of people who are in there now and as much as they hate certain things abt the armed forces, they maintain that it is pure hardwork and passion which got them through. well, i hope i would be able to suck in all that shit thrown at me man...i will never know until i go in there. point taken dudes, thanks. =)
uh huh... let's see how u feel when u diao as LTA to CPT for the longest time.
then everytime arrow u to do ground runs, FCF and airchecks, fly lan lah.
if u die die want to sign on with an officer's rank, get a degree.
with your diploma, i'd love to see how much passion u have after you wake up to reality
Originally posted by del_co:it's obvious ppl hate the screwed up part of the SAF...the regimentation and waiting time etc. but if you really wanna do something (and the ONLY thing) you love for a living, gotta suck it all up and take it in your stride wad. right? anyway i dun play flight sims...the feel isn't there la..the g-force and all. i know of people who are in there now and as much as they hate certain things abt the armed forces, they maintain that it is pure hardwork and passion which got them through. well, i hope i would be able to suck in all that shit thrown at me man...i will never know until i go in there. point taken dudes, thanks. =)
What I can say is this....
Go through BMT first BEFORE making the decision to sign on. Get a feel of whether life in the SAF is the kind of life you want to live.
I've seen far too many people wanting to be gung-ho warriors prior to enlistment, but end up crying for mommy and daddy and whining about the big bad sergeant on their first book out.
if u really love flying and u bother about your life.
go commercial.
i applied for C3 and pilot...
and application is still pending acceptance..
im still J2...haven't received the letter for medical check-up...
C3??? WTTF do you even know what do they do??
Originally posted by kopiosatu:uh huh... let's see how u feel when u diao as LTA to CPT for the longest time.
then everytime arrow u to do ground runs, FCF and airchecks, fly lan lah.
if u die die want to sign on with an officer's rank, get a degree.
with your diploma, i'd love to see how much passion u have after you wake up to reality
ok gentlemen, point taken!
haha...never log in for 2 days nia den got so many comments liao. wah is the SAF so scary like u all described anot? seriously wat i'm worried abt signing on wif SAF is that after u completed ur bond and they dun wana renew ur contract den how ah? somemore i diploma only, very hard to find job leh. u all tok abt SIA but you all know how hard to get inside SIA as a pilot anot? its like as hard or even harder than RSAF lor. But i guess everything comes wif a price and sacrifices to make, so juz take one step at a time lor.
nobody ever said that to pursue passion comes without a price. i have friends who pursue music because they have a passion in it. they know how miserly the pay is and how low the prospects are, but they still go for it. it is really what you really enjoy doing, it isn't an obsession...it is a skill you want to keep using and doing and improving for life. and you find such satisfaction in it that nothing else can equate to it.
you want to know what passion is?
quitting your high paying job, getting a miserly pay just enough to survive but feeling happy about it.
loving to fly an aircraft is passion, understood.
now let's see, you love flying. you sign on but you spend your days planning things, doings WITS projects, clocking USMS, doing ground runs, doing air checks, doing duty. you barely make it for your monthly flying hours... and you try to push for more flying because if u don't hit those hours, you have no extra money.
then you have to clock currency, you have to go for course, you sit in the stupid hot and cramped cockpit with the lousy cushions, you fly the same old circuit everyday. you fly the same circuit so that u can clock flying hours.
you love to fly, but damn its CAT1. you look at the sky, doesn't look like its CAT1, so you can't fly.
your boss arrows u to do a job, you kena scolded by boss, your friend asks u to take over duty.
the weather is so hot, you're arrowed to do a ground run. you have to start the aircraft for 15mins and there's no air conditioning, what's more you don't clock flying hours.
now, please don't tell me its a passion just because you're from SYFC and you love to play military games and you like to go to the bloody airshow to see f-16s break the sound barrier.
its a joke to see all this online when i can see the real thing at my workplace.
all come out, black face, finish flying, tired... all looking forward to finishing their bond and going to SIA.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:haha...never log in for 2 days nia den got so many comments liao. wah is the SAF so scary like u all described anot? seriously wat i'm worried abt signing on wif SAF is that after u completed ur bond and they dun wana renew ur contract den how ah? somemore i diploma only, very hard to find job leh. u all tok abt SIA but you all know how hard to get inside SIA as a pilot anot? its like as hard or even harder than RSAF lor. But i guess everything comes wif a price and sacrifices to make, so juz take one step at a time lor.
harder to go in
i rather try going through that than to go in easily and live a crappy life for years.
eh i think i was wrong to give all that negativity.
go ahead and sign on with a diploma as an officer
then when u leave, you'll bloody appreciate commercial flying much much more.
fully agree.
neither rsaf nor any saf service is the place for a person if they so desire to achieve big bucks. if you want to earn good money and enjoy the flying, commercial is the way to go.
i think only passion for your job and military flying can keep someone going once they are fully in service and under bond. no doubt the organisation is far from ideal but then again even the biggest armed forces around the world are having the same issues as us.
at least we don't have to send people into combat for a protracted period of time unlike some western countries. i've got some friends who've been to iraq twice or more in certain western airforces and they've been complaining about the hardship and all. at least in singapore no such stuff. but yah nobody put a gun at you and force u to sign the contract, so think carefully before you sign cos you will have to accept all the good and bad that the job brings to you. no point complaining bout the job everyday, makes life more miserable.
Don't come C3 also unless you're a scholar, you'll get stuck damn long!
That is if you even know what C3 does.
yeah i agree with what you guys say. it sounds damn fcked up and frustrating. with only a diploma, my ROA are very limited and slow. commercial flying is definitely the way to go but...i need to be at least 26. zzz. kopiosatu, you're currently flying with the RSAF? can fill me in more?
i'm not flying. i work on the aircraft.
what do u want to know?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:i'm not flying. i work on the aircraft.
what do u want to know?
pilots without a degree will get tekkan upside down all the time 1 ah? and also...will RSAF send them for any courses for upgrading? for example, degree courses...
anyway, you working there as a career or NSF?
pilots without a degree will get tekkan upside down all the time 1 ah? and also...will RSAF send them for any courses for upgrading? for example, degree courses...anyway, you working there as a career or NSF?
regular.
most of the time pilot without degree = highest rank, captain. with the occasional exception going to major, which is quite rare.
but don't worry, you'll be a lieutenant for the longest time too, you'll get your CPT and u won't feel the difference.
RSAF will not send u for degree courses, unless you apply for it and u leave work to study full-time. but after you finish studying, you're bonded to SAF for more years. so good luck if you want to leave early.
another option is that u take it urself, but you will be working shifts. so you tell me how are you gonna take a part-time degree?
it is the military, people use rank. so you tell me, if you're gonna be a LTA or a CPT vs the old pilots + scholars who are MAJ, LTC. you tell me who is gonna be there to do the stuff they don't want to do?
Originally posted by kopiosatu:regular.
most of the time pilot without degree = highest rank, captain. with the occasional exception going to major, which is quite rare.
but don't worry, you'll be a lieutenant for the longest time too, you'll get your CPT and u won't feel the difference.
RSAF will not send u for degree courses, unless you apply for it and u leave work to study full-time. but after you finish studying, you're bonded to SAF for more years. so good luck if you want to leave early.
another option is that u take it urself, but you will be working shifts. so you tell me how are you gonna take a part-time degree?
it is the military, people use rank. so you tell me, if you're gonna be a LTA or a CPT vs the old pilots + scholars who are MAJ, LTC. you tell me who is gonna be there to do the stuff they don't want to do?
hmm you mean there's an option to further my studies? but my current grades aren't good enough for nus or ntu. i don't see how can i ever to apply to go there. haha! anyway, will the studies be fully paid for? most probably not right?
yeah people use rank. i guess if i enter, i would be spending a long time doing things i wouldn't like.
hmm you mean there's an option to further my studies? but my current grades aren't good enough for nus or ntu. i don't see how can i ever to apply to go there. haha! anyway, will the studies be fully paid for? most probably not right?
yeah people use rank. i guess if i enter, i would be spending a long time doing things i wouldn't like.
you actually apply for scholarships... which are paid for.
bad thing is that your bond will be extended.
if you want to leave earlier, either u break the bond by paying it all back OR wait till you serve finish your bond then you leave.
i don't understand why people still want to go in.
recruitment is terrible now. ever wondered why they are promoting Air Force so much now?
because the current batch want to get out.
with the airshow that just went by, they can probably hop on the wave to secure a whole new batch of idiots like us who went in.
then again, i should be promoting it so people will join, replace me THEN i can get the hell out.
no i'm not interested because of the ads. maybe i will be an idiot to sign on, but in the first place i've not gone for my interview and aeromedical. it's been over 2 months since my compass test. oh well. the process is long. maybe because afterall, i still have about 3-4 months before enlistment. from what i see, it's like there's alot of people applying to be pilots. the queue is long man. i just hope cdo dun take me in. no offence, but i really dun wanna waste time at a mono-intake. i so need to do well in tekong and qualify for ocs.