no diff, if you're accepted, you're accepted. you'll be pulled out to do your pilot training the moment you sign the papers as a regular. because from then on, you are an employee of the republic of singapore assforce.
i still stand by my word, don't join.
if i'm evil, please join.
still cant help envying those who fly those jets over Jurong Island while i'm below doing work.. :D
Maybe not.. :D
roger that kopiosatu. i dunno if im pessimistic or not, but i feel that with so many people applying...i may not even be offered anything until i'm halfway through my NS. i'm kinda unhappy because if i'm not accepted, i plan to sign as a WSO and then go further my studies then come back again. and all these plans i have are currently on hold because God knows what RSAF is gonna do. i understand that all the admin work are basically sorted out by NSFs and when i called them today, they sounded damn bochap. they just asked what's my name, then i hear that guy shouting to his friends "eh is my name on the interview schedule?". and then he gave me the reply. like wow...okie. is it THAT few people applying, so few that they even know people by their names just like that? haha!
Originally posted by stellazio:Don't come C3 also unless you're a scholar, you'll get stuck damn long!
That is if you even know what C3 does.
please explain....
Originally posted by Rewrite:
please explain....
Explain what?
Originally posted by stellazio:Explain what?
probably explain what it means to be "stucked there for so long"?
and "scholar" as in what kind of scholar?
and what on earth is C3?
Haha...well, it is common sensical to know that if you're going if with a lower education standard, you'll get a lower pay, lower prospects, slower promotion etc. C3s work in the control tower?
Yar as kopi has said, Probably retire as a captain or if you lucky a major.
Plus you definitely earn lesser then a pilot of the same rank i think.
C3 stands for command, control and communication, tower officers are 1 of the few things that you can do. Others are more confidential which i will not say.
Originally posted by stellazio:Yar as kopi has said, Probably retire as a captain or if you lucky a major.
Plus you definitely earn lesser then a pilot of the same rank i think.
C3 stands for command, control and communication, tower officers are 1 of the few things that you can do. Others are more confidential which i will not say.
few things. great. diploma...should be at least a major right? anyway, i shouldnt be caring about all this things now. i haven't even enlist in the first place. haha! haven't even clear interview and medical. 2 months plus already since compass test. oh well. the long wait continues. i understand that A lvls students get it better. they will clear things damn fast 1. smooth transition.
there is nothing to hide what exactly WSO(C3) does.
basically, a WSO(C3) is separated into two different groups, one focuses on air traffic, whereas the other focuses on air defence.
needless to say, the details of the latter, borders on security clearances, so i cannot say much about it.
the other group deals with the air traffic control. these group is one again separated into the radar and the aerodrome. the radar guys deals with the departure, arrival and approaches into the military bases, whereas the aerodrome guys deals with the air and vehicle movement on the aerodrome.
once you are streamed into air defence or air traffic, you are pretty much stuck in that particular focus.
if you belong to the air traffic, you will be cross-trained along the way, but you will commission with either a school-trained categorisation in either radar or tower, before going to unit to get your operational categorisation.
in a nutshell, we are all controllers.
with regards to the working culture in the air force and the armed forces as a whole, the top-down management style is more prevalent in the force. the shit flows down the pyramid, from the base commander, to the CO, to the OC, to the officers, to the specialists, and finally, the shit collectors are always the NSFs.
i guess no one can dispute the fact that such shit-flowing culture is also prevalent in other private organisations, where the lower management and the employees gets the shit.
join the airforce because you have passion for aviation, but bear in mind passion for flying is not going to get you promoted, but a good secondary appointment holder will get promoted.
anyway, being a controller should not be a fallback plan if you fail to become a pilot. its a different scope entirely, and requires a different skillset.
good luck and all the best. =)
thanks sir. i believe you're a wso there. C3 ain't for me man. many people apply for the positions in RSAF yeah? my application is taking superbly long. i just hope the commandos dun take me in and thus cancelling my chance of qualifying for OCS thru tekong.
Yeah i actually haven't yet met anyone with the passion for what C3 does.
Even for air traffic controllers, the civilian world seems a much better place like in CAAS.
Originally posted by expeditious-:there is nothing to hide what exactly WSO(C3) does.
basically, a WSO(C3) is separated into two different groups, one focuses on air traffic, whereas the other focuses on air defence.
needless to say, the details of the latter, borders on security clearances, so i cannot say much about it.
the other group deals with the air traffic control. these group is one again separated into the radar and the aerodrome. the radar guys deals with the departure, arrival and approaches into the military bases, whereas the aerodrome guys deals with the air and vehicle movement on the aerodrome.
once you are streamed into air defence or air traffic, you are pretty much stuck in that particular focus.
if you belong to the air traffic, you will be cross-trained along the way, but you will commission with either a school-trained categorisation in either radar or tower, before going to unit to get your operational categorisation.
in a nutshell, we are all controllers.
with regards to the working culture in the air force and the armed forces as a whole, the top-down management style is more prevalent in the force. the shit flows down the pyramid, from the base commander, to the CO, to the OC, to the officers, to the specialists, and finally, the shit collectors are always the NSFs.
i guess no one can dispute the fact that such shit-flowing culture is also prevalent in other private organisations, where the lower management and the employees gets the shit.
join the airforce because you have passion for aviation, but bear in mind passion for flying is not going to get you promoted, but a good secondary appointment holder will get promoted.
anyway, being a controller should not be a fallback plan if you fail to become a pilot. its a different scope entirely, and requires a different skillset.
good luck and all the best. =)
thanks...that was what im curious about...
it is not difficult to find someone with a passion for controlling, and i can assure you that most of the WSO (C3) in RSAF have total passion in controlling.
unfortunately, in a organisation like the SAF, more often that not, the controller does more secondary appointment than controlling. in the end, controlling seems like a secondary appointment to the controller with all the secondary appointment.
and yes, i am a WSO(C3).
with regards to the comment that civilian world is a much better place than the RSAF for air traffic controllers, one must bear in mind that the type of traffic and the traffic disposition is totally different.
money is also different. =)
anyway, if your application is taking a tad too long for your liking, give the recruitment officer a call and check on your status. i am sure they have some idea about how your application is coming along etc.
Originally posted by expeditious-:it is not difficult to find someone with a passion for controlling, and i can assure you that most of the WSO (C3) in RSAF have total passion in controlling.
unfortunately, in a organisation like the SAF, more often that not, the controller does more secondary appointment than controlling. in the end, controlling seems like a secondary appointment to the controller with all the secondary appointment.
and yes, i am a WSO(C3).
with regards to the comment that civilian world is a much better place than the RSAF for air traffic controllers, one must bear in mind that the type of traffic and the traffic disposition is totally different.
money is also different. =)
anyway, if your application is taking a tad too long for your liking, give the recruitment officer a call and check on your status. i am sure they have some idea about how your application is coming along etc.
hello sir,
i don't understand the second appointment part.
cheers.
secondary appointments are added appointments to one's basic duties, for example, a controller can be a controller, and also hold the appointment of the safety OIC, and the same goes for just about every vocation in the RSAF and the SAF.
secondary appointments can range from munitions, to safety, to publications, to syscomms, and more often that not, it is used as a yardstick for the promotion board.
more often that not, people call these "sai-kang".
secondary appointments is SAF being ngiao.
in commercial aviation, when i'm employed as a technician, i work as a technician.
other nitty gritty stuff will be taken care of by other people.
in here, i work as a technician and i double up as a vehicle / tools / publications and any other SMLJ IC.
at the end of the day, you can do well in your work. but u f*ck up your secondary appointment. then you'll be given a bad grade.
the ultimate ball carrying move is when you can provide them with free service. like photography, poster design and do extra meaningless things (e.g. you give a brief on your recent motorbike trip and you state that the RSAF values has helped you along the way), plus anything to help SAF save money = good job.
so far they haven't accepted my suggestion that to save money, fire the useless people on the top.
i see...thanks..
im just waiting for the medical check-up...maybe that's when RSAF will call me up for interview and etc...
i'm done with my pes grading and compass test. waiting for the interview. called them to check, they just told me to wait cuz priority is given to those currently serving. oh well...wait i shall then! how's life as a WSO (C3)?
How bad can it be when everyone has to call you Sir?
having people calling you "sir" is just a title, and if you think that it is pretty cool to have people calling you sir all day, you can patronise macdonalds everyday, and who knows, you might just feel as good as you reckon it would be.
being an officer is more that having people salute you or calling you sir, but i guess this discussion can be conducted elsewhere.
in a C3 community, all controllers have to be officers to begin off with. rank-wise, you will be the bottom among all controllers.
in the air traffic environment, in a radar position, the assistant (AOSS) assisting the controller will never be the same for every session, so there is no "officer & men" separation that you see more often than not in the army. in the tower environment, there is a tower assistant, local assistant and ground controller to assist the tower controller, in which only the latter is a officer. but just like in a radar position, the manning rotates, so every session, you tend to have a different combination of specialists and officer working.
anyway, life is just a matter of perception. if you love it, its great. if you hate it, it sucks.
No ar, i'm sure i saw a 2lt and a major in the tower before. So my guess woud be 2 specs and 2 officers?
doesn't matter if you have to work.
manpower planning is dynamic. its just who you slot into the roles of the day.
but that's how it runs on my logistics side. not sure about FSS.
my bad. there is a non-controlling position within the tower environment, which is the tower executive officer, TXO. he is basically there to oversee the entire operations and lend a helping hand in an event of an emergency, where there is a lot of coordination to do, especially with the squadron executive officer and the base executive officer.
no need to worry too much into the working process. if you are in the system, you will know it.
ALS, which is assume kopiosatu is from, you still have a WOIC and a shift IC to be in supervision. for FSS case, we do have a CWO for the squadron, but thats about the makeup. because each shift consist of officers and specialists, it is a slightly different setup from ALS.
then again, if you are in the system, you will know how it works. these are the small details which should not be a consideration for career.
anyway, kopiosatu. which base are you from?
Hi all! I'm going to graduate from NTU with a Biz degree soon and I actually applied for the post of WSO (UAV) some time back. The good news is they got me to go down down for a medical checkup a few days ago n I'm certified fit. The bad news is I have no idea what's going to come after that. Help pls?
N anyone knows what the job scope is like? I'm quite worried about my future shld I sign on. I'm a she btw. Xp
Originally posted by Softiefootystar:Hi all! I'm going to graduate from NTU with a Biz degree soon and I actually applied for the post of WSO (UAV) some time back. The good news is they got me to go down down for a medical checkup a few days ago n I'm certified fit. The bad news is I have no idea what's going to come after that. Help pls?
N anyone knows what the job scope is like? I'm quite worried about my future shld I sign on. I'm a she btw. Xp
wah you good lah. dunnid to go thru tekong and fight it out to go OCS. haha! why UAV?