Originally posted by expeditious-:my bad. there is a non-controlling position within the tower environment, which is the tower executive officer, TXO. he is basically there to oversee the entire operations and lend a helping hand in an event of an emergency, where there is a lot of coordination to do, especially with the squadron executive officer and the base executive officer.
no need to worry too much into the working process. if you are in the system, you will know it.
ALS, which is assume kopiosatu is from, you still have a WOIC and a shift IC to be in supervision. for FSS case, we do have a CWO for the squadron, but thats about the makeup. because each shift consist of officers and specialists, it is a slightly different setup from ALS.
then again, if you are in the system, you will know how it works. these are the small details which should not be a consideration for career.
anyway, kopiosatu. which base are you from?
sbab, 125
Originally posted by del_co:
wah you good lah. dunnid to go thru tekong and fight it out to go OCS. haha! why UAV?
girls still have to go through bmt.
well at least they dun haf to fight so damn hard to get into OCS. anyway, i'm curious...will smokers who apply for an officer vocation in the SAF have their application blacklisted? well i was told that it isn't really the case for pilots, but usually smokers cannot make it when it comes to aeromedical. is that true? any idea?
Well yeah, got to agree on tat. Gals surely dun haf to fight so damn hard to get into OCS. But tat is provided dey recruit us. Im not sure if the RSAF act nid so many gals.
Originally posted by expeditious-:my bad. there is a non-controlling position within the tower environment, which is the tower executive officer, TXO. he is basically there to oversee the entire operations and lend a helping hand in an event of an emergency, where there is a lot of coordination to do, especially with the squadron executive officer and the base executive officer.
no need to worry too much into the working process. if you are in the system, you will know it.
ALS, which is assume kopiosatu is from, you still have a WOIC and a shift IC to be in supervision. for FSS case, we do have a CWO for the squadron, but thats about the makeup. because each shift consist of officers and specialists, it is a slightly different setup from ALS.
then again, if you are in the system, you will know how it works. these are the small details which should not be a consideration for career.
anyway, kopiosatu. which base are you from?
hmmm which batch of air wing were u from?
yeah. i'm juz frigging waiting for NS to commence. haven't even receive enlistment letter. kinda sian...not knowing when i'm going in and all. hard to plan for the future. and right now, i'm juz a bummer lazing about, doing exercises and just hanging around waiting to go in. can't really apply for jobs now besides those seriously temp jobs cuz the min is to be able to commit for a few months. if i'm going in for june, i have only 3 months. not much of an option too.
master: 61/05
Originally posted by kopiosatu:regular.
most of the time pilot without degree = highest rank, captain. with the occasional exception going to major, which is quite rare.
but don't worry, you'll be a lieutenant for the longest time too, you'll get your CPT and u won't feel the difference.
RSAF will not send u for degree courses, unless you apply for it and u leave work to study full-time. but after you finish studying, you're bonded to SAF for more years. so good luck if you want to leave early.
another option is that u take it urself, but you will be working shifts. so you tell me how are you gonna take a part-time degree?
it is the military, people use rank. so you tell me, if you're gonna be a LTA or a CPT vs the old pilots + scholars who are MAJ, LTC. you tell me who is gonna be there to do the stuff they don't want to do?
I read somewhere (forgot where) that degree holders will be promoted to Captain one year after graduation. Does that only apply to scholars or does it apply to the SAF as a whole(including RSAF Pilots)? Thanks.
looking at how reality is...i'll be glad to juz be a lowly LTA or CPT pilot in the airforce. damn sian hanging around waiting for NS.
Originally posted by mrblitzer21:I read somewhere (forgot where) that degree holders will be promoted to Captain one year after graduation. Does that only apply to scholars or does it apply to the SAF as a whole(including RSAF Pilots)? Thanks.
got degree, jump to CPT
Originally posted by del_co:looking at how reality is...i'll be glad to juz be a lowly LTA or CPT pilot in the airforce. damn sian hanging around waiting for NS.
don't talk cock.
you haven't even touch the military lifestyle yet.
clarification.
if you have a degree, it does not jump you straight to captain. it really depends on whether you are on scholarship, study award, or just someone who apply as an officer with a degree.
if you are an officer with a degree, not payable by SAF, you will skip the 2LT phase, which means you will commission as an LTA. the rest of the advancement is the same.
if you are on LSA, my understanding, dependent on how long you serve the force before you leave for your studies, more often than not, approximately one year from returning, you will be "promoted" to the rank of a captain. note that it is an emplacement rather than a promotion. meaning, your salary range will start on the lower bracket of that of a captain.
if you are a SAFOS, or SMS scholar, then your route of advancement would be totally different.
there is 3 scheme of salary within the SAF for the officers, scheme A, scheme B and scheme C. you can ask your recruitment officer about it. generally, scheme A is the pay scheme for diploma holders, scheme B is that of degree holders and study award holders, scheme C are that of scholars, meaning SMS or SAFOS.
del_co, if you are a captain all the way, or worse still, a LTA, your life is pretty much fucked. anyway, in all jobs, you want to go up and up. if you just want to stay stagnant in the force, would you not be better off as an NSF?
the degree holders, not scholars who are AMOs all jump straight to CPT
but we do have a pilot who is a diploma holder under the degree scheme.
either way, you're just there to approve my leave.
otherwise officers have not much use at where i am.
i was just talking cock. right now im a very sian person waiting for NS to commence. so with an average diploma grade...after serving in the force for a period of time, i can apply to go and study? exp, you are a dip or deg holder? are dip holders at a very disadvantage?
anyway i shldnt care so much. i need to go thru bmt first and qualify for ocs. haha!
hey everyone! so many comments since my last post. hey delco, i spoke to major jeffery nah of black knights in the Army Career Experience 2008 in marina square recently. found out alot of details about the selection process and the stuff u do in air force as a pilot. anyway from wat i read in ur posts, dun worry too much about OCS coz he told mi tt even if u r not selected for OCS but selected for pilot training, RSAF will try their undertable means to get u into OCS. tt's wat he told mi la. den he say dun worry too much abt the selection process. if you hav a genuine interest in flying for RSAF, the interview and maybe aeromedical wud not b too much a problem. if u r selected for airgrading, try to get the flight manual of CT-4E from SYFC if possible so tt u can memorise the various aircraft checks b4hand. i heard ex-YFC members are considered lao jiaos in airgrading but cannot b complacent if you wana hav a concrete chance of clearing airgrading. interview for us may only be during our bmt period coz basically those who are serving now are given priority.
Hi all. I got a qn. My sis just got into a poly n she's doin some engin course. She wanted to sign on with the navy but she's a PR. Any chances she will get a shot at the navy? Act, i got another qn. Haha... I applied for the post of WSO and I've oready gone for the med checkup. But I'm oso a PR. Will I get recruited? I'm tinking if dey dun want PR why wld dey even ask me to go for the med checkup.
they always want females.
so they can make the males there work harder!
females should join the airforce so they can hope to marry a pilot.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hey everyone! so many comments since my last post. hey delco, i spoke to major jeffery nah of black knights in the Army Career Experience 2008 in marina square recently. found out alot of details about the selection process and the stuff u do in air force as a pilot. anyway from wat i read in ur posts, dun worry too much about OCS coz he told mi tt even if u r not selected for OCS but selected for pilot training, RSAF will try their undertable means to get u into OCS. tt's wat he told mi la. den he say dun worry too much abt the selection process. if you hav a genuine interest in flying for RSAF, the interview and maybe aeromedical wud not b too much a problem. if u r selected for airgrading, try to get the flight manual of CT-4E from SYFC if possible so tt u can memorise the various aircraft checks b4hand. i heard ex-YFC members are considered lao jiaos in airgrading but cannot b complacent if you wana hav a concrete chance of clearing airgrading. interview for us may only be during our bmt period coz basically those who are serving now are given priority.
that's good news man. flight manual?! that's gonna be hard yeah? lol...u got lobang? yeah i guess it will only be in our bmt. and let's pray to God we dun get selected for commando. why wld ex-yfc ppl be laojiao sial? anyway, i really don't know what airgrading is like. i just noe tt people with PPL from SYFC can skip it. tell me more about what you found out leh!
Originally posted by Softiefootystar:Hi all. I got a qn. My sis just got into a poly n she's doin some engin course. She wanted to sign on with the navy but she's a PR. Any chances she will get a shot at the navy? Act, i got another qn. Haha... I applied for the post of WSO and I've oready gone for the med checkup. But I'm oso a PR. Will I get recruited? I'm tinking if dey dun want PR why wld dey even ask me to go for the med checkup.
the way things are going now, they can't afford to be choosy. lol~
check out the amount of advertisements recently!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:the way things are going now, they can't afford to be choosy. lol~
check out the amount of advertisements recently!
from the way you said it...u've juz made me happy. but then again, there haf always been alot of ads all year round and esp during graduation periods.
Originally posted by del_co:
from the way you said it...u've juz made me happy. but then again, there haf always been alot of ads all year round and esp during graduation periods.
well, good luck to u when u come in.
i won't be around to see all the crap anyway, my time is already up.
i heard its possible to get the CT-4E flight manual from YFC. Airgrading is basically to test whether u r suitable for flying lor. its not all abt precision flying but also ur attitude and enthusiasm towards flying. we r considered laojiaos in a way that airgrading is also something like what we do in YFC e.g. straight & level,turning,climbing & descending, RT calls etc. I'm trying to find whether there's any ex-trainees who went for the airgrading too...wish mi luck man!
Originally posted by kopiosatu:sbab, 125
wait a min u from sbab? wad vocation ? ACS?
eh ask a inrelavant question do you think that my L1R4 <14 can join SYFC anot ?? cos i'm a die die pilot wannabe like you guys . my cousin's a fighter pilot at 145th squadron . My cousin's brother flunk BWG now waiting to join SIA .
Raspberry, join YFC wun c much of grades la. but with ur L1R4 of <14, shud b able to join. whoa! ur cousin in 145 ah? air superiority at changi airbase ah? wat u mean by BWG? izit BWC (basic wing course) instead? eh both ur cousins all perfect eyesight ah??