deleted!
For all i know they don't wear specs but they watch TV use computer like us .If SYFC not concerned about grades what are they concerned about .? My CCA grades are like shit ! anyway just to add on both my cousins are from SYFC graduated around 2003 both were offered to join RSAF one made AJT and the other flunk BWC .From what i see being a pilot in RSAF isn't all about flying anyway .
as long as u r a poly student from any of our 4 recognised polytechnics or a jc student, you are eligible to apply for YFC. they will see your attitude thru interview, medical and i think now got some psychomotor tests. so there's nothing to worry abt. YFC is good, sure...but it doesn't mean tt if you are from yfc u sure can make it pass BWC or airgrading. i bet the culture at rsaf is different, and so are the training attitudes.
and walao, my eyesight like shit la....on the verge of failing...degree is fine, but astig 125. how sial? max is 200. SO CLOSE. and i haf NO CONTROL over it. sighs...
Originally posted by Borntolive.:wait a min u from sbab? wad vocation ? ACS?
ground crew
i tink joining YFC for u is not a prob la. dun worry too much la. if u can make it into interview and show ur interest in flying, den confirm can join YFC successfully. wah del_co, ur astigmatism so high ah? i short-sighted plus astig oso leh.L-200 R-175, 50 astig for both eyes. ur degree for myopia how much>?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:i tink joining YFC for u is not a prob la. dun worry too much la. if u can make it into interview and show ur interest in flying, den confirm can join YFC successfully. wah del_co, ur astigmatism so high ah? i short-sighted plus astig oso leh.L-200 R-175, 50 astig for both eyes. ur degree for myopia how much>?
L-150, R-100 Astig-L 125, Astig-R 75
SIAN MAN, my eyesight damn jialat. abit more increment...can say bye bye to RSAF.
hey del_co, air force recruitment centre call mi liao. my interview is on the 19th March at 8.30am. the person say got abt 15 people going for the interview, i was wondering whether are u 1 of them. muz bring exam transcripts leh. jia lat lor! my results not tt gd leh, i'm afraid it will affect my chances of getting selected leh. do u noe whether they select u based on results as 1 of the criteria anot??!
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hey del_co, air force recruitment centre call mi liao. my interview is on the 19th March at 8.30am. the person say got abt 15 people going for the interview, i was wondering whether are u 1 of them. muz bring exam transcripts leh. jia lat lor! my results not tt gd leh, i'm afraid it will affect my chances of getting selected leh. do u noe whether they select u based on results as 1 of the criteria anot??
nah, no call from them.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hey del_co, i'm also a graduating diploma student from SP. i recently called CMPB and asked them about the outcome of my COMPASS test which i have luckily passed! also currently awaiting their call for my interview next.but i'm only interested in the pilot vocation, unlike you. i also went for commando VA on 19th feb 2008 leh. told the encik i would prefer pilot training to commando training. regarding your question about WSO (UAV), i tink all if not most of the air force vocations are eligible to anyone with an A level cert, diploma or degree so dont worry about it. anyway when you took ur COMPASS test?? i took mine on 15th nov 2007. r u a former SYFC member???
ok i found out why im not called up. i only took my medical on 19/11/07. -_-" and my COMPASS was on 14/12/07. that's like almost a month after you. when you go for your medical man? i tried applying earlier before, but i cldn't cuz i was told i need to be PES graded first. zzz...damn...i doubt i can clear before enlistment date liao lo. finally your turn came...so mine wld be approx next mth?
Originally posted by del_co:
Error
alamak! i tink they will call u soon la. u can call and pester them again lor! i apply thru YFC leh. tt's y i go for my COMPASS on 15/11/07, way before my ns med checkup on 17/01/08. i'm damn nervous for my interview. i'm scared of getting a mental block during the interview! wish mi luck man!!
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:alamak! i tink they will call u soon la. u can call and pester them again lor! i apply thru YFC leh. tt's y i go for my COMPASS on 15/11/07, way before my ns med checkup on 17/01/08. i'm damn nervous for my interview. i'm scared of getting a mental block during the interview! wish mi luck man!!
yeah man. well i applied by myself, not thru yfc. so yeah...i haf to wait. my medical was like damn early la...19 Nov. 2 mths before u. dun need to worry la. i doubt u will get mentally blocked. relax. everything will be fine.....
hope so man! haha... there will be a briefing for every1 before the interview. sounds interesting man!! anyway i'll updpate u all abt the outcome of my interview as soon as i log on to sgforums...
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hope so man! haha... there will be a briefing for every1 before the interview. sounds interesting man!! anyway i'll updpate u all abt the outcome of my interview as soon as i log on to sgforums...
pls do bro. i need ur advice too.
hahaz...no prob...i myself am little nervous abt it! i'm not reali confident abt it but i had to gif them an impression of being confident! got to pray hard the nite before interview...
Hi all. was reading this as i just finished my interview today and going my medical on thursday
I took my compass on 29th jan so actually damn long to get back to me. almost 7wks plus.
my basic NS medical was 26 nov last yr then i applied pilot within a week so actually very slow. if you're impatient give the career center a call.
anyway you don't need to worry about the interview la. sure pass. Apparently 6000 pple apply a year. then COMPASS will cut about 70% according to the RO. So if you pass compass you're alr the top 30%
then interview must see la. cause you're going to be an officer so means you need to do paperwork. if your english chui then you jialat. very impt to speak properly and think through first
the question they confirm ask is tell me more about yourself. so you say why you want to be a pilot, give background, talk about what you have done to further your interest. the major there will give briefing before the interview don't worry.
but the more i've read this thread. the more I feel that i have better opportunities elsewhere. i worked hard more my dip grades to go uni so i don't think i should waste with the SAF. the RO tell me can get scholarships but someone said the course is they choose for you some kum pui course. personally i still need to think more before i decide to sign on or not. but if you really love to fly, you see yourself flying till 45 then go SQ by all means go for it.
Originally posted by Mephiston1:Hi all. was reading this as i just finished my interview today and going my medical on thursday
I took my compass on 29th jan so actually damn long to get back to me. almost 7wks plus.
my basic NS medical was 26 nov last yr then i applied pilot within a week so actually very slow. if you're impatient give the career center a call.
anyway you don't need to worry about the interview la. sure pass. Apparently 6000 pple apply a year. then COMPASS will cut about 70% according to the RO. So if you pass compass you're alr the top 30%
then interview must see la. cause you're going to be an officer so means you need to do paperwork. if your english chui then you jialat. very impt to speak properly and think through first
the question they confirm ask is tell me more about yourself. so you say why you want to be a pilot, give background, talk about what you have done to further your interest. the major there will give briefing before the interview don't worry.
but the more i've read this thread. the more I feel that i have better opportunities elsewhere. i worked hard more my dip grades to go uni so i don't think i should waste with the SAF. the RO tell me can get scholarships but someone said the course is they choose for you some kum pui course. personally i still need to think more before i decide to sign on or not. but if you really love to fly, you see yourself flying till 45 then go SQ by all means go for it.
you waited only 7 weeks. its been 3mths and im still waiting. how come yours so fast? u called to pester them? or you got a PPL from SYFC?
no PPL. I am an aerospace student however. just call and pester. it works.
Originally posted by Mephiston1:no PPL. I am an aerospace student however. just call and pester. it works.
lol okie...i juz did that. they just told me to wait...as usual. and the guy said tt he will try to arrange for me before i enlist. he said maybe next mth. anyway, call and pester how often? every other day?
wah lau! mephiston1, is the interview easy to pass anot? i onli got so so grades leh! i'm afraid they will shoot mi to death wif my poly results! how many people took the interview wif u? wats the percentage of ur interview batch tt got selected?
Originally posted by Mephiston1:my batch had 12 people. I think 2 were post NS pple. got their degrees, alr, 3 were poly and the rest a lvl. the guy will so so results also passed. all 12 of us passed. must see the interviewer on that day. just don’t say stupid things, think before you answer and you should be fine. as long as you’re motivated enough it’s good enough for them. so so results means at least 2.5 or higher la. cannot be 1. smth la. i don’t think they will take. cause ground sch must study alot.
ok man, point taken. glad my grades are at least so-so. lol! all 12 passed. wow...that's good news. i like such scenarios. everybody happy. anyway i was juz wondering if i shld extract my wisdom tooth now...i scared go medical, they see my wisdom tooth still there...and decaying. zzz...
will ppl be penalized for having a decaying wisdom tooth?
wah heng man! my results got so so standard! haha... ur interview was at wat time? mine is at tml 8.30am leh! i was afraid the interviewers will be damn tired and show us their black faces! del, tt's the scenario i liked too! abt ur wisdom tooth, i guess u shud ask the ppl at recruitment centre abt it and consult them if they know anything abt it. no worries la...
del_co, my dream of becoming a RSAF pilot juz took a blow. i wish the best of luck in your interview but i can tell you that wearing a necktie to improve your chances doesnt help at all. the recruitment officer ask me to apply again after i get into OCS and he will consider my application. hahaz...i'll b wasting valuable time if i dun get it at the 2nd attempt! guess i'm not destined to be a RSAF pilot. my world came crashing down...do you hav strong leadership records and a good YFC flying record? from my interview experience today, i guess these 2 components are damn impt and honesty is the best policy!
my turn is next...good also lah. im ready. if cannot then nvm...i can't force it. must go in with open-mind. afterall havent enlist, still can change career plans.
god bless