del, i believe u can do it! dun worry, as every1 said its how they c u react with the shit thrown at u, i believe u r articulate enough to shoot them back!
it's very important to speak well cause officers need to do paperwork. they also see your background and what you've done to fuel your dreams of becoming a pilot.
if they ask you a damn funny question, take some time to think and clarify the question if need be.
sorry man Cdo & Pilot that you didn't get it. At least you can try again. I'm beginning to think whether I really want to sign on. Being a pilot is one thing. but the bond length is quite another. I would love to fly but must also think of my future. How long do I want to fly? Maybe I fly a few times shiok shiok then I realise actually I just wanted the experience only.
My medical is tmr. If I fail then I think case close. Out of 6000 they are left with 120 after medical so the attrition rate is damn killer.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:ground crew
technician? i from sbab too
thanks man. i hope i will get thru...i just hope they dun ask funny things.
hey mephiston, when did u had ur interview? if u r taking ur medical this week then i assume you had ur interview last week? dun worry too much abt aeromedical la. if you are a normal person with any abnormalities and i wud say u got a 60-70% chance to make it! juz go for it la since u r almost there! dun hesitate now coz not every1 can b a pilot, u shud grab this opportunity given to you. ur statistics of 120 out of 6000 people getting through are based on which yr to which?
Update us abt your medical man!
edited: without any abnormalities*
Originally posted by Borntolive.:technician? i from sbab too
yeah, 1MS
The recruitment officer just gave that figure saying it was on average. I went through the medical yesterday. The interview and medical can be within the same week, depends on how crowded the medical bookings are. I passed everything laready, just need to go back next week to do a whole day test for my eyeball pressure and peripheral vision test. If i pass those means I can move on to the australian phase.
hi all..
i'm wondering what is the different stages of the airforce medical. i just went for my medical at aeromedical centre. and i just got posted as FEP trainee.. have to report at AFRC, can anyone tell me what is the job scope of a FEP trainee? thanks
Originally posted by Mephiston1:The recruitment officer just gave that figure saying it was on average. I went through the medical yesterday. The interview and medical can be within the same week, depends on how crowded the medical bookings are. I passed everything laready, just need to go back next week to do a whole day test for my eyeball pressure and peripheral vision test. If i pass those means I can move on to the australian phase.
so you mean you will noe the result of your medical on the day itself?
ya. the moment you flunk any part of the entire battery of tests you don't need to continue already. the last part will be the consultation with the doctor where you will go through your entire medical history. if you don't make on criteria you can go home.
FEP trainee? i think means go ground school. go study all the stuff like theory of flight, radar, communications and all. have you signed the contract already?
Originally posted by Mephiston1:ya. the moment you flunk any part of the entire battery of tests you don't need to continue already. the last part will be the consultation with the doctor where you will go through your entire medical history. if you don't make on criteria you can go home.
FEP trainee? i think means go ground school. go study all the stuff like theory of flight, radar, communications and all. have you signed the contract already?
ic that's good. dun haf to waste time. thanks man. anyway, if i fail the medical does it means i can forget abt flying for good? what about working in the tower?
whoa congrats mephiston! u r almost there, hang on man! i assume u r wearing glasses therefore nid to go for those last 2 vison tests rite? anyway u r how old dis yr? poly or jc?
wats FEP trainee? izit pilot trainee?
FEP i tink its those recruitment guys. clerks?
anyway i called rsaf this monday to pester them. then i was told tt right now, the guys with better compass results haf priority. then he will try to see wad he can do for me. so tt means my compass cannot make it lah. sighs. sad.
my wearing specs has nothing to do with the test. apparently most people have some signs in their eyes that is common in those with glacouma. majority of the time it's nothing, but they need to test. the other eye test is for peripheral vision. so specs or no specs, you could be going through these tests anywayjust graduated from poly
Originally posted by Mephiston1:my wearing specs has nothing to do with the test. apparently most people have some signs in their eyes that is common in those with glacouma. majority of the time it's nothing, but they need to test. the other eye test is for peripheral vision. so specs or no specs, you could be going through these tests anywayjust graduated from poly
they never check degree meh? when u say "signs", u mean what?
huh? del, wat u mean by betta compass results? i doubt i ace my compass test la lol. but i duno y i'm called up so early and i tink its mayb coz i pester them reali early like in feb.anyway i'm 'doomed' now. hope they wil accept my reapplication and the pilot selection board will be changed.
hey Cdo & Pilot, i think we might have some things in common.. I'm currently serving my NS as a commando officer, and i applied for the pilot position too.. i passed the compass, interview and medical tests, left with a heart scan in april ( doctor heard some suspected heart murmurs, but was assured it was most probably nothing) the whole thing is going wayyyy too slow! haha.. from what i heard, cdos & ndu divers have to go through their entire training phase or until 6 months before their ORD, before they can cross over for the pilot training, airgrading whatsoever.
anyway just wanted to tell you that if you do indeed get posted to the commandos, it's not impossible to be selected for OCS, but it would not be an easy feat. just be sincere and do what is needed when things have to be done. good luck!
hey flabtabulous, you muz b a veri garang fellow to b a commando officer! my case abit diff frm you coz i juz fail my interview not long ago and i have not enlisted yet. some more the RO told mi to make it into OCS in order to have any chances of going for a 2nd interview.
but i personally feel that if you become a commando officer then muz well juz sign on coz i heard that commando officers get promoted veri quickly so you may wana consider signing on. but i assume you are oso veri interested in flying. anyway how old are you now? you graduated from poly or jc?
hey guys, i din visit this forum for a long time so i didn't see the questions.
1. fep is flying experience programme and it a temp vocation for abt 3mths for recruits who signed up for the pilot and wso(ftr).
2. basically, there are abt 23 in the jan BMT intake who are in fep now, and we are either posted to AFRC or mindef hq at gombak camp to do admin work(sai kang).
3. the airforce people will arrange for us to go for like airforce museum trips, air base trips, joyrides at yfc etc. (some are kinda lame)
4. during this 3mths, the trainees will go for their compass, med and interview and for people like me who passed compass and waiting for med results and for interview, its a total waste of time. chiong so hard in bmt to qualify for ocs and they post me to do admin work..pes A clerk sia...
5. the only good thing is that this vocation is a 8-5 job.. AHAHHAHA.
well i just try to do my best.. haha.. i was from a jc, from the 1988 dragon babies.. hmmm contary to what many people think, commando regulars actually have a harder life than regulars of other vocations. this is because the commando formation is only so small, the number appointments available are very limited.. so chances are you may "henta-taki" if the time isnt right..
haha yeah i'm attracted to the pilot position both by the career and chance to fly..
any pilots here that can share their experience?
hey kopi.. have you been posted to overseas detachments like PC? if have, can share your experience?
Hi there! I got called up to attend a medical assessment at paya lebar airbase. Can anyone enlighten me on wat they are going to do? I applied for the post of wso (uav) btw.
walao, i havent even received my enlistment letter yet. and airforce hasnt called me yet. i believe my compass results kinda bad. but oh well, let nature take its course. =)
hey crapdung, you graduated from jc or poly? so u applied for pilot during bmt izit? hey u got any frenz or mates who apply before bmt and fail the interview but reapply after getting into OCS? care to share about ur current situation too?