from jc, and just poped from the jan bmt batch. i applied before bmt and took my compass in dec and my med in late feb. and i don't think so, sorry..coz most of us din go for interview before or during bmt. the airforce guy i called said the board of directors were busy then..
haha..u wanna know my current situation?? just pray that u don't kanna fep can liao.. i everyday report to gombak camp the AMD records room to file this file arrange that file, find that shit etc. the job sucks but we get to go home everyday though.. flying experience programme trainee sounds nice right? but the job sucks..they just want us to be on standby for any test or medical checkups or followups etc. but how?? to fly we just have to suck thumb and do.. the people at afrc even worse..some of them got nth to do den just stone there for the whole day and den go home at 5.30. can't sleep, play psp, listen to music, read book... just stoooooone. the good thing is also that we go excursions to some airforce base or museum or whatnot. like pri sch kids sia... and there's a very important thing.. we don't know how they choose fep trainees... i'm so curious its becoming frustrating..
delco..how long since u took ur compass? if abt 1mth they shd have ur results alr.. give them a ring dude..
edited: took my med in mid march
then crapdung, you r stil waiting for your interview la? but why ur selection process so different when u apply at a time where they oredi change the whole process? it used to be application - COMPASS - medical - interview but everything remains the same except u go for interview 1st before medical...so i assume u haven go for ur interview?
yup..left with the interview
seriously man, i called them many times already. i was told i passed the compass test. but priority is given to men currently serving and ppl with better compass scores. that was wad i was told.
aiya, i havent even receive my enlistment letter. u noe how sian that is? well, my mindset is different now. now i let nature take its course. i do my part, and i let God handle the rest. the day will take care of itself. =)
Originally posted by crapdung:from jc, and just poped from the jan bmt batch. i applied before bmt and took my compass in dec and my med in late feb. and i don't think so, sorry..coz most of us din go for interview before or during bmt. the airforce guy i called said the board of directors were busy then..
haha..u wanna know my current situation?? just pray that u don't kanna fep can liao.. i everyday report to gombak camp the AMD records room to file this file arrange that file, find that shit etc. the job sucks but we get to go home everyday though.. flying experience programme trainee sounds nice right? but the job sucks..they just want us to be on standby for any test or medical checkups or followups etc. but how?? to fly we just have to suck thumb and do.. the people at afrc even worse..some of them got nth to do den just stone there for the whole day and den go home at 5.30. can't sleep, play psp, listen to music, read book... just stoooooone. the good thing is also that we go excursions to some airforce base or museum or whatnot. like pri sch kids sia... and there's a very important thing.. we don't know how they choose fep trainees... i'm so curious its becoming frustrating..
delco..how long since u took ur compass? if abt 1mth they shd have ur results alr.. give them a ring dude..
took it in 14th dec. 4mths liao....still nothing. u can imagine how sian i have been. haha!
i feel for you dude..but to let those in bmt go for med and interview makes perfect sense wad.. coz even if you pass everything, they still have to wait for you to complete bmt before posting you to afs. sooo, just be patient i guess, and let God do the rest. if its yours, no matter how long it takes, it'll be yours..
well true...i'm letting God do His job. lol! not gonna pester them liao....damn waste of time. shall just leave it in His hands. i'm fine with anything. but im sure im gonna sign on somewhere in the SAF.
Originally posted by del_co:well true...i'm letting God do His job. lol! not gonna pester them liao....damn waste of time. shall just leave it in His hands. i'm fine with anything. but im sure im gonna sign on somewhere in the SAF.
since u want a govt job, then join the non-military civil service... all the ministries. www.vog.gov.sg
Originally posted by eac:
since u want a govt job, then join the non-military civil service... all the ministries. www.vog.gov.sg
huh? i'm currently working for LTA while waiting for enlistment. Temp staff. Lol...its very much like corporate world. Nothing interesting there.
sighs...seems like i won't be called up for interview this month. kinda demoralising. its already the 11th, and yet no call from them. will i even be called up for interview during bmt? or will they forget about me until i go sispec or ocs? its so uncertain man.
del, why are you so upset abt it? if u pass ur COMPASS den dun worry abt anything la. they will definitely call u down to cmpb for interview coz i heard its very hard for them to gather the members of the pilot selection board so it will take some time. betta dun aim for sispec coz i tink onli getting selected for ocs then will you hav a chance or even a better one to get selected during the interview since you hav proved that you are of officer calibre. you either be a man or officer in SAF, dun be the middleman coz the shit will travel down from officer to man and if travels back then confirm stuck at your position, so in the end you get the shi.t as sergeant...
up til now, i havent got any call from the airforce. sian. dun even know my enlistment date. grr...
just took my medical today. gotta go back this friday to clear my glasses. i was told that my astig has decreased, and i haf to go and make new glasses and get it cleared. it's kinda weird how i haf to clear my specs too. lol...kinda worried about medical. its the killer. something tt we cant do anything abt or work hard to pass. really worried about it. one station not cleared, everything gone. really scary. when would i know my medical results? any idea anyone? i don't haf any review letter from them other than going back with my new glasses for eye check. does tt means i'm quite clear of any trouble? blood etc. anyone has anything to share?
Originally posted by del_co:just took my medical today. gotta go back this friday to clear my glasses. i was told that my astig has decreased, and i haf to go and make new glasses and get it cleared. it's kinda weird how i haf to clear my specs too. lol...kinda worried about medical. its the killer. something tt we cant do anything abt or work hard to pass. really worried about it. one station not cleared, everything gone. really scary. when would i know my medical results? any idea anyone? i don't haf any review letter from them other than going back with my new glasses for eye check. does tt means i'm quite clear of any trouble? blood etc. anyone has anything to share?
hey del, you pass ur interview liao ah?? why nv hear from you sia? so how's ur medical?? receive enlistment letter liao bo?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:
hey del, you pass ur interview liao ah?? why nv hear from you sia? so how's ur medical?? receive enlistment letter liao bo?
yeah. damn heng. havent get enlistment letter. i don't know why sial. so long already. almost everyone got liao. zzz...just done medical lor. gotta wait 2 mths for my result. i believe within 3weeks if they dun call up means don't nid go for any review...tt means ok. cuz now i only left blood test to clear den send the results to the selection board for further review. hope everything goes smoothly...and most probably im in the sept batch liao lor.
Originally posted by del_co:
yeah. damn heng. havent get enlistment letter. i don't know why sial. so long already. almost everyone got liao. zzz...just done medical lor. gotta wait 2 mths for my result. i believe within 3weeks if they dun call up means don't nid go for any review...tt means ok. cuz now i only left blood test to clear den send the results to the selection board for further review. hope everything goes smoothly...and most probably im in the sept batch liao lor.
ic... anyway your interview batch got how many ppl? all poly grads or mixed with a lvl students? how many questions were asked and were they the same as mine or ard the same??
ard the same. i got fcked too cuz the diploma i took not related to flying and for other things. but i just tahan lor, and just be honest n sincere. the major kept insisting i have no interest in flying and that i only like f-16 becuz rsaf got. indirectly say im bootlicking them la. but overall it was cool. they got ask how come i got chopped out frm yfc too. the later part not as jialat cuz i explained to them about how i've learnt my lesson from this and that and come out a stronger person who knows how to prioritise. my interview took ard 10mins. got 15 people i think. 3 poly ppl. the rest A lvls i think, cuz they are currently serving either in ocs or bmt. yup.
hahaha, i just had a chat with a senior pilot yesterday
he told me that his son said to him "daddy, i want to be a air force pilot"
then he told us that he will slap him on the head if he really joins. muahahahaha~
the grass is always greener on the other side.
you aren't in the force yet.
fighter pilots are paid lower then commercial pilots.. i don't even wana mention rotary and transport pilots..
its harder to qualify to a commercial pilot right? and yeah the pay may be lower but what to do? i really appreciate wad u guys say as it is for my own benefit, and i really believe what you all say is true. but there are some things in life we all just wanna do no matter how stupid it is. be it quitting our jobs to travel around the world, training for a triathlon, put studies on hold to joing star search or singapore idol etc...there are just some stupid things we have to do. and this stupid things come by once and that's it. this is my chance...and i am determined not to miss it. even if i get chopped, i'd be a happily axed person and move on with life. thanks dudes.
Originally posted by del_co:its harder to qualify to a commercial pilot right? and yeah the pay may be lower but what to do? i really appreciate wad u guys say as it is for my own benefit, and i really believe what you all say is true. but there are some things in life we all just wanna do no matter how stupid it is. be it quitting our jobs to travel around the world, training for a triathlon, put studies on hold to joing star search or singapore idol etc...there are just some stupid things we have to do. and this stupid things come by once and that's it. this is my chance...and i am determined not to miss it. even if i get chopped, i'd be a happily axed person and move on with life. thanks dudes.
del, dun worry la. at least u get to try out flying with RSAF. i dun even have the chance rite now...maybe my destiny lies with cdos...anyway take it easy man, i believe you can do it! juz try your best lor. anyway post ur medical results here man!
del_co > bro, seriously dont worry so much. Honestly speaking, its pointless of you broadcasting your passion and interests to the rest. Pretty sure a handful of them whose care factor r absolutely zero regarding your passion. Most of the ppl here alrdy made it clear to you on how the whole uniformed organisation works, and you alrdy made your stand clear in signing on. So, what's left ? Wait for your enlistment and get inside army .if you are really that good, you will make it. Otherwise, finish serving 2 yr of NS come out and work in private sector loh. And i do kind of agree what the others say, don't rush to the decision yet when your not even in the force, don't tell the rest that " im gonna enjoy flying" when you are not in the force yet . What i'm trying to say is, before you compliment about something, make sure you alrdy experienced it in person and not "assuming" .You r a pre-enlistee currently, same as me. And with all big words you used in your posts like "dreams", "passion" "give up my job etc", u bound to get more negative replies than positive ones. IMO, get into army, get selected for OCS then pilot, bla bla bla graduate liao then come back and tell the rest about your experience. Like that more convincing right ?
Whatever your decision is, i sincerely wish you good luck
-just a opinion coming from a pre-enlistee.