i haf completed the interview, compass and medical. now juz waiting for medical results.
well since you have make up your mind, go all out for it then and don't regret. All the best to you then...
Originally posted by kopiosatu:ah yes, but u also have to state that they like to punish and pick on the dumbest things.
jaded servicemen won't help because they screwed up that serviceman from the beginning. i went in, wanting to be in the military... but now it turns out with the 3G wayang, the pay doesn't justify my work.
ask my colleagues... all of them signed on, wanting to prove themselves... now, everyone is jaded. i have a senior who wanted to conver to be an officer, was siao on. now he totally switches off and in the past you would never hear "air force sux" come out of his mouth. he's even prepared to pay money to break his bond.
i don't mind pilots coming in. but i think there are not much experienced technicians left... besides, they are starting to commercialise, soon everything will be prepared by ST Aero uncles... got war or any humanitarian effort, ho sey liao
i hope i dun come across as being pro-organisation.
i guess being jaded/ disgruntled/ disatisfied applies to whichever job u're working at. the only difference that in the military if u're at the bottom of the chain u don't really have much speaking right. and most of us are probably tied down with some bond or other and thats a pain to serve out.
but i guess we have to keep telling ourselves why we signed up in the first place and do our job to our best right? even though u hate it, shouldn't go around poisoning others. just serve and then leave and find something better that u're happier with.
i don't even know myself if i'd be staying after my first contract but juz make the most of it and see what lies ahead when the time comes. maybe one will get condemned, maybe one will do well?
anyway a military job is never one for us to earn big bucks, much less in singapore. militaries are money spending organisations, not earning money so bonuses are minimal, workload is high cos not many people join cos' i think the asian thinking of 'good sons don't become soldiers' still holds true.
a capable person would probably find a better paying job outside. if u're in the forces its either cos' of interest, passion, service to country and lastly the pay. i do agree that the pay is rather low compared to outside job for the amount of work but what to do? i think the best thing is to encourage more ppl to join so that there;s more ppl to spread the workload and then maybe the pay is justified? heh.
but obviously, the manpower policies i think need to be tweaked.
good luck to those wanting to join. join for the right reasons please.
poisoning?
man, i think i am saving them from pain.
i don't think you've been around long enough to see all the pained regulars
manpower policies were screwed the day they introduced the PP scheme.
pay will never be justified, it is the ngiao government way of running things.
why are they commercialising? why are they saving costs getting NSFs to maintain equipment? its all for cost saving... the day my pay is justified is when i only turn up for work for 3 days, because the amount i get outside for working 3 days is that rate.
i've been around enough to see how its going down. the military will still be around, but at the rate that its going, its asking for more problems.
when i first came in, people were smiling, people enjoyed the work, even the lao peng. not anymore now.
there is no longer a right reason to join the military..
Originally posted by stellazio:there is no longer a right reason to join the military..
not even "for my country"
the guy is better off boosting the economy with his enthusiasm.
i see some of my colleagues, some enciks... bloody wasted to be in the military, they would be doing way better out there.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:not even "for my country"
the guy is better off boosting the economy with his enthusiasm.
i see some of my colleagues, some enciks... bloody wasted to be in the military, they would be doing way better out there.
last time the lump sums offered was high to attract people, now they pay pathetically when the outside economy is doing quite well.
the only people that should consider signing on are the scholars, but it is those same people who make the people who really wana work and serve, suffer.
Originally posted by stellazio:last time the lump sums offered was high to attract people, now they pay pathetically when the outside economy is doing quite well.
the only people that should consider signing on are the scholars, but it is those same people who make the people who really wana work and serve, suffer.
basically SAF screwed themselves when they decided to employ more educated people at the lower bottom of the shit pile.
the military (generally) has been a service when the "uneducated" or "lowly educated" are given a good pay to work for the country. the smart ones (scholars), will lead the guys and that's how it goes. the lower ones won't complain because the money they get with their current education will not be available in the corporate sector.
while the more educated ones should be helping the country boost their economy in the commercial sector. the "lower educated" ones won't argue about their pay, or the work... because it is a good paying secure job.
gone are the days when u just had a technician. now a technician regular is virtually extinct. where are the missing lower rung regulars?
now they determine that a diploma is the lowest education qualification to accept, that would leave the "uneducated" or "lower educated" with lower job opportunities within the government sector.
i've got nothing against the "lower educated" because i'm one of them, but it is plain silly to see a SOP military employment policy being changed by the morons above. i don't even wanna get started on the PP scheme
anyway like what Twincat said, you've made up your mind then go for it but don't regret.
Twincat - liao lah, he reminds me of me. lol~ last time so siao on now everything down the longkang.
yeah nowadays with a diploma, most regular specs can become WO's in their mid 30's, and thereby having too many WO's with too little positions for em....
and its not even secured anymore, even if you're a WO, your contract might not even be renewed, and that leaves you with just the taxi to rely on..zzz..
Originally posted by kopiosatu:poisoning?
man, i think i am saving them from pain.
i don't think you've been around long enough to see all the pained regulars
manpower policies were screwed the day they introduced the PP scheme.
pay will never be justified, it is the ngiao government way of running things.
why are they commercialising? why are they saving costs getting NSFs to maintain equipment? its all for cost saving... the day my pay is justified is when i only turn up for work for 3 days, because the amount i get outside for working 3 days is that rate.
i've been around enough to see how its going down. the military will still be around, but at the rate that its going, its asking for more problems.
when i first came in, people were smiling, people enjoyed the work, even the lao peng. not anymore now.
well i think or i reckon i've been around long enough. maybe not as long as u but i think its a significant amount of time spent already. almost all my good years are gone.
i tend to agree for a fact that the manpower schemes don't really benefit the ppl. i for one lament the lack of medical coverage..
cost savings is a measure that not only our armed forces is doing. almost every other nation is doing it. and we're not the only unhappy military personnel in the world. its almost the same in every other country. worst stil those that have to go into combat. this is the feedback i got from my peers working in other countrie's armed forces. same shit different country different currency.
anyway, for commercialisation- they are only commercialising the not so critical stuff right? like training and some maintenence and the less sensitive operations. i think the fighter side is not going into that area anytime soon.
sometimes i think i hate the organisation. other times i think its alright. but i just thought i'd give my 2c worth cos too much bashing of the force makes us look stupid and bad. cos if its that bad, why are are we stupid to join in the first place. need to balance the argument a little.
but again to add. military is not the place if u wanna earn big $$.
go commercial! better life. job satisfaction i don't know. maybe money can compensate for it. but its individual i guess.
i already tell people that it is the stupidest thing i've done in my life. the good years of my life are gone. so i don't really see a reason from my side to "save the face" because of the farce its turning into now. last time? maybe not as bad. now... i give up.
last time i might give more positive reviews, now i can't think of positives.
commercialisation? its not as little as you think.
you may be right then i guess from where u're standing.
i'm in the ops side. different perspective from logs i think. so i don't see that much of the commercialisation nor does it really affect me..
so my view might be different.
i guess the logs ppl would have more to bitch about.
i'm in the ops side working with the pilots, and most of em i know cant wait to get out and jump to SIA..
and nsfs techs are gonna be phrased out for certain aircrafts like mine, which means that the regulars will be squeezed to the max.
Originally posted by stellazio:i'm in the ops side working with the pilots, and most of em i know cant wait to get out and jump to SIA..
and nsfs techs are gonna be phrased out for certain aircrafts like mine, which means that the regulars will be squeezed to the max.
your side handing over to the uncles lah.
because of your side, mine get pushed back. so i have to suffer somemore.
i hope i can leave by september
Originally posted by kopiosatu:your side handing over to the uncles lah.
because of your side, mine get pushed back. so i have to suffer somemore.
i hope i can leave by september
really meh? i heard from the enciks, the 2 squadrons going to combined which is confirmed already, so they combine manpower..
but even then, many regulars tech also going for early release..
Originally posted by stellazio:really meh? i heard from the enciks, the 2 squadrons going to combined which is confirmed already, so they combine manpower..
but even then, many regulars tech also going for early release..
HAHAHAHAHAH u dun find that idea stupid?
combine squadron, combine manpower into 1 squadron. but total aircrafts same as 2 squadrons.
that's so WTF.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:HAHAHAHAHAH u dun find that idea stupid?
combine squadron, combine manpower into 1 squadron. but total aircrafts same as 2 squadrons.
that's so WTF.
yar, but i think the tasking set aside for flying is lesser, and also some pilots will be gone already.. but either way, they're still gonna be totally maxed out..
but i find that the F5's will still be here for another few years, so why exactly did they stop the intake of nsf techs is beyond me..
anyway our tower controllers are also paid much lesser then SIA. although i agree that their job over there is much much more..
Originally posted by stellazio:yar, but i think the tasking set aside for flying is lesser, and also some pilots will be gone already.. but either way, they're still gonna be totally maxed out..
but i find that the F5's will still be here for another few years, so why exactly did they stop the intake of nsf techs is beyond me..
anyway our tower controllers are also paid much lesser then SIA. although i agree that their job over there is much much more..
how to be lesser when there is a minimum amount of flying hours to be met?
they stopped because the uncles are taking over.
technicians are grossly underpaid here, no OT nevermind... clock and clear day off also ngiao.
i already experienced splitting of squadron, no manpower still split. CB. just to create jobs for the highly paid people. yeah, create more jobs for me also. now they want to combine, people are saying WTF for, its the same anyway.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:how to be lesser when there is a minimum amount of flying hours to be met?
they stopped because the uncles are taking over.
technicians are grossly underpaid here, no OT nevermind... clock and clear day off also ngiao.
i already experienced splitting of squadron, no manpower still split. CB. just to create jobs for the highly paid people. yeah, create more jobs for me also. now they want to combine, people are saying WTF for, its the same anyway.
no ar, the acc command can set a lower tasking requirement to be met if they want to. F16's also usually never meet their tasking one..
isn;t nsfs even cheaper labour then those uncles from ST?hahaha..
yeah i see the techs work so hard and long hours, its not justified for the pay that they're getting and the food they're eating.
Originally posted by stellazio:no ar, the acc command can set a lower tasking requirement to be met if they want to. F16's also usually never meet their tasking one..
isn;t nsfs even cheaper labour then those uncles from ST?hahaha..
yeah i see the techs work so hard and long hours, its not justified for the pay that they're getting and the food they're eating.
it doesn't work that way here. we usually over achieve everytime 120%. tasking cannot fail.
cheap labour but SAF just has to pay a lump sum everytime, instead of worrying about regulars ROA, or whatever.
and u think the techs in ur base have it bad hor... good thing they removed the annual chiong sua.
dudes...is the rsaf REALLY that screwed up? man...even i dun hear abt the Navy being that bad. anyway, if i were a pilot i wun like the idea of ST uncles working on my plane man. if this whole ST uncles thing is true...that wld really be weird. like flying with the syfc. haha! no, im not siao on. but its more of...for the sake of doing wad i wanna do and to make my parents proud. the tradition. u noe? been wanting to join the SAF since i was a kid. can say i kena influenced by family, although my mum is against it she has finally accepted it. haha!
the organisation is screwed up, depending on who u ask.
whether they are high flyer, so-so, or condemned or not doing so well or just simply unhappy. everyone will have a point of view. those doing well would encourage, those so-so ones might be 50-50 depending on who u ask. the condemned ones generally will hate the whole organisation for their misery.
generally, admittedly the place is far far far from ideal but if u still want to follow your ambition you can decide for yourself later if u made the right choice.
i mean, no matter how screwed up a place is. if its really what u wanna do, u'd be able to find something good out of all this. because at the end of the day its your own dream and ambition here, not others. if u just want to fly and make money then go SIA. cos airforce is not the place to be.
but think carefully, once u're in and u pass out from training. they own your ass for 10 years. so even if u regret ur decision then, u got to suck it up....
the way i see it, as a pilot... what's the point of flying when you don't earn loads of cash? at least with SIA, you literally see the world... u get to fly around to different countries and visit them. who can beat the comfy seats and cabin crew to serve u coffee?
i personally am more money driven. i for one, do not like the idea of working long hours and i'm not rewarded for it. especially so when the commercial sector has been paying well for God knows how long. the pay increments that they give sporadically doesn't cut it either. evern more so when i am earning my monthly pay in 2-3 days outside. so that explains my general perception to work in life.
there ARE positives, its up to you to decide if the negatives outweighs the positives. if u want to fly higher as an officer in the airforce, it'll be better if you join with a degree. you don't have to be condemned to hate the organisation, i have high flyers at my unit who also hate the organisation... its just that they professionals and continue to do their job well. that's why i said these guys are a waste to be in the force when they should be flying even higher elsewhere.
but like cheeze has said, u have think carefully... they are going to hold onto you for 10 years.
well thanks guys.