My friend in army wants to be S3 but he has not done an OC tour in army. Is this possible? Many thanks
You mean an NS S3? I think it's kinda tough if you have not done an OC tour. It probably means you have not gone for the right courses yet. You need to go for BTC. An OC tour is normally considered a pre-requisite.
Nope not NSF, of cos regular. There is no NSF OC. At most PC and stand-in 2IC. And certainly no NSF S3. Let's say he does not mind going through BTC, can he be without having done an army OC tour?
Why you ask this forum? Your friend should go ask MINDEF or observe his colleagues who are regulars. We wouldn't know what kind of policies MINDEF puts in place for this.
I would question your friend's motive for being an officer in the army if he wants to skip a command tour and go straight to a staff tour. Besides, S3 requires a good command of operations, and will take over the Battalion if the CO and 2IC are incapacitated. I don't think anyone who skips an OC tour should be allowed to be an S3.
it's comparable to ask a newly commissioned 2LT to take charge of a company
Originally posted by cookiecookie:Nope not NSF, of cos regular. There is no NSF OC. At most PC and stand-in 2IC. And certainly no NSF S3. Let's say he does not mind going through BTC, can he be without having done an army OC tour?
i tink he meant.. NS man/reservist OC....
Actually it is complicated. He did do an OC tour but he did it outside of army. dunno whether can or not.
wat is your frds rank??
I assume at the least he has completed his PC, DY SO, OC/2IC tour?
he is a cpt lor.
Cpt maybe PC or DY SO??
unless he is in a NS battalion, long way to go
He is cpt but due to be maj this year. He's already done PC in army and staff tour in mindef. He did an OC tour too but outside of Army. Is there a chance to do S3 tour in Army?
wat is his OC tour as?
I also dunno, all i know is it was not in army. very weird. Probably in navy or air force or dunno where else where the set up is totally different. Since the experience is different, like no. of guys you lead, its operational details are all different, i wonder whether can or not.
Originally posted by onlooker123:Why you ask this forum? Your friend should go ask MINDEF or observe his colleagues who are regulars. We wouldn't know what kind of policies MINDEF puts in place for this.
Because you assume that there are no ex-regulars in this forum. Yes, there are ex-regulars who may have the information needed but the best place to ask is CMPB or G1 army or heck n, not MINDEF General Office. If the commanding officer thinks highly of the person in question, certain rules and regulations go out the window due to pragmatic reason.
I don't think anyone thinks well of him.
has your friend cleared CTC/AIOC? If so then his OC tour needs to be as in combat OC tour before he is allowed to go BTC.
As what Herzog_Zwei said, better ask your friend to check with the unit's S1/G1. They can advise better.
he is due for major? has he gone for staff course yet or not? As far as i know, BCTC/CTC/AIOC prepares one for an OC...he has to get some brownie points to be referred for SCSC if not, he HK liao
Originally posted by cookiecookie:I also dunno, all i know is it was not in army. very weird. Probably in navy or air force or dunno where else where the set up is totally different. Since the experience is different, like no. of guys you lead, its operational details are all different, i wonder whether can or not.
Even Commandos/SOF officers clear their OC tours in the army... How can your friend do an OC tour out of the army? What formation is he in? Maybe that would clarify it further.
Originally posted by Master -_-:he is due for major? has he gone for staff course yet or not? As far as i know, BCTC/CTC/AIOC prepares one for an OC...he has to get some brownie points to be referred for SCSC if not, he HK liao
He has gone for CTC only, not AIOC. Yeah he's finished his staff tour (after OC tour) already. What is SCSC?
Originally posted by AlphaWhiskey02:has your friend cleared CTC/AIOC? If so then his OC tour needs to be as in combat OC tour before he is allowed to go BTC.
As what Herzog_Zwei said, better ask your friend to check with the unit's S1/G1. They can advise better.
If i am not wrong AIOC is for Infantry, Guards and Commando only. Armour, the all the support arms like Signals, Artillery and Combat Engineers go elsewhere, to another course. He did CTC before his OC tour but not AIOC. What does "combat" OC tour mean? Does it mean that it must be in a non-support arm? He did his OC tour in a support arm (one of those navy blue berets arm). Don't tell me officers from support arm cannot do BTC ah?
BTW, BTC is a preparation for S3 or CO?
ur fren = u?
No lah! I am in the private sector lah.
Did your friend do his OC tour at Joint ? or RSN CDS. There are Army chaps who get posted there .
What i joint? Joint plans? Don't think there are OC positions there right? All staff appointments one haha! I think mostly like RSN then.