Originally posted by cookiecookie:What i joint? Joint plans? Don't think there are OC positions there right? All staff appointments one haha! I think mostly like RSN then.
Can you go and check with your frd where he did his OC tour? Are you even aware that there are several units in the three services participating as joint services resources? OR your friend's unit so secretive until cannot say?
No i was not aware that there are command appointments in joint. I knew that there were staff appointments in joint.
btw i replied u again in the phillip chionh thread.
Anyway, as your friend said, he should talk to the unit S1.
But from what you have said, I think it's quite tough. The OC tour is usually where they start to funnel people into combat or staff appointments. There's a lot of competition for S3 appointments.
Air-force, navy and army and 3 different Services. Support arms in army means artillery, signals, logistics,engineers etc in support of moving troops. They are also combat appointments just in their own arms. They are eligible for advancement courses e.g. CTC, BTC, SCSC, same as moving vocations i.e. commandos, guards, infantry.
CTC is to prepare for OC appt and BTC is to prepare for Bn S3 appt. Anything higher is to go through the SCSC (Singapore Command and Staff College). This course is also open to Singapore Police Force officers.
Youe mentioned earlier that "He did his OC tour in a support arm (one of those navy blue berets arm). Don't tell me officers from support arm cannot do BTC ah?"
I guessed he cleared his OC tour as OC of FDS (Field Defence Squardron) meaning to provide the land defence of the naval camps. My friend was a PC there. For this issue, I really suggest he check with his S1 regarding his ROA (Route of advancement).
Cheers.
I think no hope liao, from what all of you say. I think hong kan already.
Originally posted by Phaze:
. The OC tour is usually where they start to funnel people into combat or staff appointments. There's a lot of competition for S3 appointments.
Sorry I donch understand what you mean by this statement. Of cos after OC tour, it's either combat or staff appointments. Are there any other type of appointments besides combat and staff????
Originally posted by AlphaWhiskey02:
I guessed he cleared his OC tour as OC of FDS (Field Defence Squardron) meaning to provide the land defence of the naval camps. My friend was a PC there.
I dun mean in navy. I mean one of those support arms where they wear the beret that is "navy blue" in colour. if i am not wrong, all support arms people like signals and artillery wear this color of beret.
Really, if he's done an OC equivalent tour, I feel there's nothing to worry.
OC equivalent can be SO1/SO2 in any given branch in CSSCOM HQ too.
Originally posted by cookiecookie:Sorry I donch understand what you mean by this statement. Of cos after OC tour, it's either combat or staff appointments. Are there any other type of appointments besides combat and staff????
instructor?
think end of the day, it's still better for your friend to talk to his S1/Manpower with regards to his ROA.
All the best to him!
Originally posted by LazerLordz:Really, if he's done an OC equivalent tour, I feel there's nothing to worry.
OC equivalent can be SO1/SO2 in any given branch in CSSCOM HQ too.
wah you sound very sure leh! What is SO1/SO2? What is CSSCOM?
And are you positive that all OC tours within Mindef are transferable? I really question this.
for eg an OC tour in navy or joint would be totally different than an OC tour in army, eg no. of people you lead, operational intricacies. how can all the OC tours under Mindef be transferable? an OC in army leads over 100 men, an OC in navy is like 1/3 of that, airforce is even fewer leh. I think joint is also about 1/3 of that.Then like that, you will find officers crossing from army, navy, air force, joint, etc etc freely, which is not the case.