bad news everyone, i fail my interview! seems like i'm the 1st person in history to fail a pilot interview! there were a colonel called tan swee bock who is the head of air force manpower, a fighter pilot: Major Desmond and a psychologist...basically everything was fu.ckup for me after the 1st qns of " why do you want to join RSAF?". they start shooting mi about my experience in YFC, asking "heard that you didnt make it to 1st solo,tell me about ur experience in YFC." then the sai starts to come from everywhere, i said its coz of the strong winds and stuff abt my nervousness and the colonel start to shoot mi by asking "are you sure?". basically i'm shot by them la. and i dun hav a strong record of leadership roles except when i'm in sec sch scouts. they tink that i'm lying to them abt my yfc records la coz the colonel even said that "we are looking for honest officers" in quite a impolite way. den after the interview, got this quite friendly recruitment officer who is a major said that he cant take mi for now but i can reapply for pilot if i made into OCS and he will consider my application. i was like wat for! wat makes you tink i can pass with a 2nd attempt! and i went for the commando VA, i dun tink i can make it into OCS if i'm in commandos lor...today is just another sad day for me...
Well don't take it too hard, not every interview will be sucessful & there is bound to failure. Try harder for BMT & if you are really good, chances are going to the OCS is high too but there is another interview with your officer during BMT. You can ask him to recommend into OCS too.
Chances are if you can't be a pilot, maybe you can take up other vocations in the RSAF. If you intend to sign on with RSAF.
wat u mean by another interview with an officer? i'm seriously confused with how SAF select potential candidates for OCS leh! but i tot selected into OCS is by merit, how come you can ask your officer to recommend you? and i seriously duno wat it means when he ask mi to get into OCS and try reapplying again coz i guess if u fail the interview means saying sayonara forever to your RSAF pilot career. care to enlighten pls??
I guess the main reason you have failed your interview is that the board, at the moment, still isn't sure about your leadership qualities. That is through what you've mentioned, morever the officer hinted something like "get into OCS and we will talk again".
Leadership here is a very very important issue, because it is said that even though one might not have the fullest potential to become an officer during BMT, but has passed the pilot interview, somehow he will get into OCS, for sure, unless hes really a prick during BMT.
As said, you have a second chance to become a combat pilot, fight for it dude, and goodluck.
Also, remember that honesty plays an important role.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:wat u mean by another interview with an officer? i'm seriously confused with how SAF select potential candidates for OCS leh! but i tot selected into OCS is by merit, how come you can ask your officer to recommend you? and i seriously duno wat it means when he ask mi to get into OCS and try reapplying again coz i guess if u fail the interview means saying sayonara forever to your RSAF pilot career. care to enlighten pls??
Simple to put it, during your bmt phase if you perform well in aspect of training or physical. Your BMT sgt or pc might recommend you into OCS if you have the leadership quality. Example from recurit to cadet and you graduate to become a officer.
For the reapplying stuff, if I not wrong you still can apply 2nd time if you shown outstanding merit during your OCS days & they might take a look at your profile or portfilio & give you a 2nd chance.
thanks vincent! anyway are you a pilot with air force? i seriously tink its coz of my leadership and yfc flying records la. they reali tot i'm trying to lie abt my experience in yfc. I reali screwed this gd opportunity up man! if passed, i wud've went for the medical and leave for airgrading after bmt. now got to try aiming for OCS in bmt when i wud have an easier route if i had passed today's interview. but chances of mi getting into OCS is slim coz if i'll likely be posted to commandos and OCS intake for poly students are much lesser than jc intake...so i guess i juz hav to pray hard!
nope im not. I'm just like you guys.
I've just received news today that ive passed my compass. I do have seniors and a friend that have successfully been signed as pilots.
Another point here is that, if you get through OCS first, your pay during airgrading is less miserable. - citation needed lol.
But anyway, when I discussed this with my commando cousin, he told me if I'm set on becoming a pilot, I should never ever go for the commando VA. Because chances of me getting into commando should I attend the VA is like 80%.
To the ratio of the OCS intake, again, don't worry about it. If you have a cut for it, you will get it.
Just pray that you do not get enlisted into commandos, because once you get through their bmt, its a very-hard-to-say-scenario already.
What Vincent said is right, once you get into CDO the chances of going to OCS is slim unless you perform damn well & you are the top of the corp in the battalion. Never or less give it a try la.
sian...my heart is set on a air force career. the recruitment officer stil say will consider my 2nd application if i'm selected for OCS. i din even noe tt the CDO VA can juz dun go leh! they say u will be charged under enlistment 93 n some sh.it! den i read in a forum where a member say he gif it a miss and nothing happens. damn it!
NO. cannot dun go. they will call up those whose attendance not taken. I got called up....zzz. but i did go la, so i explain to the guy on the phone. den he said ok, den no more lor. he was like damn fierce like gonna charge me. zzz....so tts why i did go. those ppl who didnt get charged are lucky. cuz too many ppl and nobody bother checking on those absentees...but on days when the person incharge is damn on the ball how? bang balls and get charged?
cdo&pilot, remember there was an option saying that if you haf applied for pilot training. if u tick that, chances are they wun waste time touching you, cuz theres a chance you will eventually leave and u will leave a hole in their manpower.
heya. i went for the same session as you man, but only happened to see this thread today.. Personally I think you should have said something like... 'oh maybe my flying skill wasn't good enough' or appear super humble? Cause it's very easy to appear insincere and dishonest once you're nervous and under high stress.
And no, I don't think the interview results are based on prior leadership records and yfc - they use those to pick and hurl rocks at you to see how you react.
Best of luck man!
Originally posted by skashiva:heya. i went for the same session as you man, but only happened to see this thread today.. Personally I think you should have said something like... 'oh maybe my flying skill wasn't good enough' or appear super humble? Cause it's very easy to appear insincere and dishonest once you're nervous and under high stress.
And no, I don't think the interview results are based on prior leadership records and yfc - they use those to pick and hurl rocks at you to see how you react.
Best of luck man!
Leadership records are taken into the side considerations, what I've meant about leadership here is that have you been able to display and show that you do have leadership qualities. Thats the main point.
Anyway, how were your interview?
And to Del_Co, actually it depends. I didnt want to go, and I didnt turn up. All I did was to ring up the camp and told them tons of reasons. if charged, I know it can be serious, but till now i haven't heard of anyone being charge for failure to turn up for commando VA. My commando cousin told me they cant be bothered with those who did not turn up too.
I were determined in doing so because from what I were told, if one applies for pilot, sat and passed his compass, but went through commando bmt, the chances of being released is very very slim.
But if one attends the interview and passed aero-medical, meaning that he has been signed on, its a whole new story.
Maybe any commandos here can verify the above.
Originally posted by del_co:NO. cannot dun go. they will call up those whose attendance not taken. I got called up....zzz. but i did go la, so i explain to the guy on the phone. den he said ok, den no more lor. he was like damn fierce like gonna charge me. zzz....so tts why i did go. those ppl who didnt get charged are lucky. cuz too many ppl and nobody bother checking on those absentees...but on days when the person incharge is damn on the ball how? bang balls and get charged?
cdo&pilot, remember there was an option saying that if you haf applied for pilot training. if u tick that, chances are they wun waste time touching you, cuz theres a chance you will eventually leave and u will leave a hole in their manpower.
haha I didn't go and they called me...then I didn't go again the 2nd time and I never heard from them ever since
and to TS, quite a handful fail the interview...when I went for it, half the people who were there failed. But since you were given a 2nd chance, I'd say do your best during BMT and go for it again. If it's what you really want, putting in extra effort during BMT wouldn't be too much right? All the best, mate
Edit: Oh..Major Desmond, F-16 pilot with 143sqn?
you shouldn't use strong winds because they think that it's an excuse to cover up yourself you should say something like if you work harder you could have went PPL and admitted that you were at fault .
Cheer up anyway u've got another shot anyway . This will be experiance to improve ur second interview . after u get to OCS ok ?
whoa! nice response from u guys! i'm reali damn sad la. i tink i juz screwed big time today la! its reali demoralising, i sorta of lost interest for a while but i'll just go for a 2nd try whethe anot they accept mi is another problem liao. i'm not reali sure major desmond is with sqn143 but i juz noe he's a fighter pilot tt's all. i'm not reali sure abt the commando VA, i juz hope i wun get called up though i got a uneasy feeling. hey skashiva, r u the onli indian guy today there?
i think that when he said "are you sure" is because he feels that you are trying to tell him that if there were not strong winds and you were not nervous you could have went to first solo instead of admiting that if you worked harder on improving ur skills on strong winds and coping with nervousness you could have made it to PPL and improve ur SYFC flight records . or maybe it's the fact that they are not interested in the strong winds and nervousness factors but why you did't went first SOLO
mayb, i cant stand the colonel! the impression he gave mi is like he dead on kicking mi out of the interview. i believe i manage to convince the fighter pilot coz he said " i understand" at the end. i juz noe i've spurn a glorious opportunity to get fast on the pilot career path! i guess i'll juz have a 'take it or leave it' attitude for the next interview if i'm ever offered 1!
it's called a stress interview it's a interview whereby a single interviewer(the colonel) who will behaves in an uninterested or hostile style and ask questions in a demeaning or challenging style this is to access how the interviewee handles pressure or to purposely evoke emotional responses. that's why there was the presence of a psychologist in other words he delibrately trying to provoke you .
was the fighter pilot quite supportive of you ? maybe you can tell us more about the questions they asked and how you replied !
ya, share with us. lol
pm me your msn /hotmail :D !
didnt u c my long post in this page? most of the qns i stated there liao. some of the qns they asked:
1) Why do you wana join the RSAF?
2) Tell me about your flying experience in YFC?
3) You made into phase 2 and didnt go for your 1st solo, why is it?
4) What are your strengths and weaknesses?
5) What leadership qualities do you have?
and some other qns asked pertaining to my ans which i tink u all wun understand coz nid to tok of a long story b4 u all wil understand. I wun say he's veri supportive but he also got shoot mi abit abt my days in yfc n stuff. i juz tink tt the fact that he said " i understand" mayb shows he understands my situation and position i'm in in yfc.
eh exchange e-mail addresses please . i pm u my e-mail now .
i think i know how u feel.. been in your shoes before.
Applied for pilot, went for med/compass test all before.
Same with you, i've been in the syfc before. got my wings though..
Went for the interview after almost a year of waiting, several delays and an appeal.
but during the interview, instead of questioning me on aircrafts and whatnot, they ask me why i nv go OCS, can a spec be a pilot (i was halfway in spec training), what leadership qualities i have, how i screwed up in my yfc days.. etc. I was like wtf, why all these questions which aren't related? They asked others the difference between an F16C and D, how easy was that?
Seriously, at that time i did not see why all that mattered. To me a pilot was someone with talent, but sadly that was not what they were looking for. "Leadership" is the key, flying is secondary and 'can be trained'.
I have alot to say about how RSAF or the SAF does things, but i'm gonna keep it short. Was damn depressed n disappointed in the system when i got rejected, as that was the only job i was interested in doing at that time.
Now after almost 2yrs of NS, i'm hell glad i was rejected.
not to be sourgrapes though. i do enjoy flying, but i guess not with an organisation like that.
can i bring in a piece of paper when i go for the interview?
Originally posted by del_co:can i bring in a piece of paper when i go for the interview?
Hmmmm bring a piece of paper for???