How does one qualify for it? For example, Sandhurst or West Point. Only scholars can go there? Can anyone here enlighten me on this issue please?
You mean military schools overseas?
Yep!
How can one be qualified to go there, still as a Singapore citizen. There are schemes like that right? I've heard of Singaporeans graduating from Sandhurts but not from West Point.
Nvm, got some updates, there are Singaporeans who graduated from West Point...
The problem now is, how can one qualify for it?
The only Singaporeans I hear graduating from foreign military academies, e.g. Sandhurst (Army) and Dartmouth ( Navy) are sponsored persons by the SAF or GOS.
To enter these academies without sponsorship, usually means you must be a citizen of the UK or from its dependencies. Or you are a Gurkha serving in the british forces.
In OCS, if you perform well, I think they will send you to Sandhurst even without you signing on.
I rem there was a malay OCS cadet who was sent to Sandhurst and he came back as the top overseas OCT. http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/people/2006/feb06_people.html
if you sign on as ATA (military), you will go to military academies.
how do you perform well in OCS? izit same as performing in bmt to get into OCS? i tink getting into OCS for poly students are fre.aking hard if u know wat i mean...
To perform well in OCS is a combination of skill and luck. Some of the skills you need are fitness, common sense, and a willingness to learn the other skills (navigation, leadership etc). The most important luck you need is the luck not to get injured and OOC, because many many potential good officers drop out through no fault of their own.
injured and medical issue varies. i haf a fren who OOC cuz he fainted while on guard duty....dunno why. when on to ICU for a period of time...den finally come out and hang ard at OCS to join another batch of cadets. the cases varies...if u OOC very waste of time and suay of cuz, but it doesnt mean its gg. cdo, i tink we shld worry more of bmt 1st den ocs.
hahaz...ya lor del...but competiting with so many ppl in OCS to get the title of best officer cadet is no easy feat! hey edwin, wat r u currently doing rite now?
No one heard bout West Point?
I heard a few CDO got sent there and one actually came back as a Rhodes Scholar, that's a high compliment can you get from West Point, not many are able to get it in the 200 years history of their academy.
Originally posted by Master -_-:West Point got quite few…Some senior officers serving at MINDEF were from there…Sandhurst i guess relates to those new officers who only sign on for 6 years that type ah..but of course, only the CdlC of the OCC cohort will be selected ah..Commission from WEST Point and u get a degree in Military Instructions or something that u have actually graduated with locally…but right now, cadets are likely to be sent to ADFA instead of RMAS or WP thanks to a MOU between SAFTI and ADFA..
what is ADFA?
Australian Defence Force Academy, i tink its a conjuncture between ADFA and uni of new south wales. you wana pursue some subject over there and it will be related to military to a certain extent de. anyway not easy to get into all these military institutions coz u muz hav excellent academic results or veri good the least. i tink if u do not hav excellent grades then outstanding performance in OCS may help u in your application for entry into 1 of these institutions. not sure abt this though. maybe some1 can correct mi if i'm wrong...
To qualify for the SAF Academic Scholarship (Military)? I think you need an A and some Bs for A levels. Then commission and then sit through the interviews.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:i tink getting into OCS for poly students are fre.aking hard if u know wat i mean...
Freekin hard? Dun assume. Poly and JC people go in different batches and every batch will have recruits selected to go for OCC.
Cdo&Pilot: Right now I am replying to this topic :P Anyway, its not about competition in OCS, because if you treat it like that, you will most likely OOC because of attitude problems :) Really, just do your best--- No need to act garang or anything, because if you like the military life, it will naturally show in your attitude and behaviour. Also, the "Best Officer Cadet" or Sword of Honour, doesn't automatically get a scholarship, although he will probably be offered one. The SOH one batch ahead of my batch didn't want a life in the military and rejected an SMS offer, for example.
The problem with having degree from military academy is that it has no value after you go out of SAF. then you will only have a dip/A level cert.
ADFA is good for post-graduate studies in security studies if you want to pursue a specialisation in Asia-Pacific.
As for West Point or USNA, if you want to get in as a civilian, you need to be a US Green Card holder. There's no way to hoodwink a State-side recruiter to get you in any other way.
Not sure if Naval Postgraduate School or Army War College takes in foreign post-graduate students though.
If you are studying at UNSW, you can take some classes at ADFA.
aiya...the % of potential candidates sent to those military institution frm s'pore is veri small la. dun forget we r competing with other foreign nations wif much bigger armed forces. i tink one is considered good if he can make it into OCS.
Obensturmfuhrer, though they are segregated from each other but the intakes are different. A lvl intake are much bigger than dip batches. and there are more dip students than A lvl students. some more i heard it oso depends on ur academic results to get into OCS, i'm like only an average student la...lol
With regards to "
The problem with having degree from military academy is that it has no value after you go out of SAF. then you will only have a dip/A level cert.
Thats not true. Take adfa for example. All cadets going through adfa get a university degree as well (look at http://www.unsw.adfa.edu.au/ or http://www.defencejobs.gov.au/education/adfa/ for the uni and military side of things respectively)
Also to get into a military academy, I'm pretty sure you need the sas-military. http://www.mindef.gov.sg/scholarship/sas_intro.asp for info. Best thing to do is let someone know. Eg: if you're already in OCS let one of your instructors know so that they have a head up and you can also speak to the people at mindef recruitment or scholarship centre.