hi all, i will be in infantry OCC soon, i wld like to check, is the JCC incorporated into the course? if nt, is it possible for one to volunteer? or is it like they only choose certain ppl to go for it?
thanks.
last time b4 i ord i heard jcc is added to the course(full)... not sure abt conversion...
yes. JCC is nicorporated as part of the infantry OCC. Are you a regular? if not, are you going into Pro-term? if you are just entering into OCS, you will not know if you will be an infantry officer. The basic training is infantry just like in bmt but end of service term you may be assigned to support arms. Support arms go does jungle training too but not JCC.
err.. when i was in ns, i heard that JCC is phrased out, in place is what CSB (combat skil badge). one of my friends is the last batch of officers commissioned with 2 badges - jcc n csb.
Originally posted by AlphaWhiskey02:yes. JCC is nicorporated as part of the infantry OCC. Are you a regular? if not, are you going into Pro-term? if you are just entering into OCS, you will not know if you will be an infantry officer. The basic training is infantry just like in bmt but end of service term you may be assigned to support arms. Support arms go does jungle training too but not JCC.
yes regular, and eac, confirm now phase out le ah?
cos the last batch of officers that were commissioned, i tink 2-3 weeks ago, i saw they had both csb and jcc
saf4life , u really sibei siao one arh!! haha
whats the diff between csb and jcc?
jcc is jungle confidence course right? combat skill badge is do what?
Originally posted by stellazio:whats the diff between csb and jcc?
correct me if im wrong. csb is teach u the basics of infantry like stripping weapon, setting up mine, topography, river crossing bla bla.
as for jcc, i heard from my friends phased out quite some time ago.
Originally posted by stellazio:whats the diff between csb and jcc?
JCC - jungle survivial and topography in Brunei. I'm told you're only given a day's worth of ration, and the topo is not easy as you can get lost in the thick brunei jungles.
CSB - Proficiency test on infanteer skills - weapon assembly and stripping, topo, signal setup, river crossing, marksmanship, etc.. all these while doing a 32km route march. Details are a little hazy since i've not been for csb
The weapons assembly and stripping have been shifted out of the 32km march, now you do all your technical skills with the various weapons and signals beforehand, as well as clear a 8km fast march in SBO and 10km run, before your 32km route march, which is just 24km, then a river crossing, then 8 km. Immediately after that, you go for 100m range, where you have to hit 6 out of 10 targets foxhole supported. If the conducting/supervising is nice, you get to change clothes after the river crossing :) if not then suck thumb.
Originally posted by edwin3060:The weapons assembly and stripping have been shifted out of the 32km march, now you do all your technical skills with the various weapons and signals beforehand, as well as clear a 8km fast march in SBO and 10km run, before your 32km route march, which is just 24km, then a river crossing, then 8 km. Immediately after that, you go for 100m range, where you have to hit 6 out of 10 targets foxhole supported. If the conducting/supervising is nice, you get to change clothes after the river crossing :) if not then suck thumb.
This CQB is only allowed for spec n officers?
I think JCC is back into the OCC syllabus leh...it was taken out for ahwile then now put back in..
As for CSB..i think riflemen also can get ba..i know my CO was planning for the men in my unit mono to go through the course to get the badge...but i ord before they got it..haha..:)