sg so hot grow long hair for wat... but camp discipline is boliao sometimes..
lols. i think short hair makes sense lar... students should look neat and presentable, and not like some paikia liddat.... imagine if evelybody start to compete hairstyles... den not good oso already wad... and i think short hair also helps ppl think better....head not so heavy
If they make you cut short hair, and you follow, it's actually a form of obedience.
You don't follow, it's rebellion.
There is no practical reason for short hair in schools, it's not hot especially when you sit in lectures all day.
They ask you to cut, because they can.
As for the army, it's a military trend.
Of course it's less hot and obstructive.
So it's ok.
if you are a healthy singapore male, expect to have short hair 95% of the time till you reach 40yrs old +.
Bo liao... if this rule can be abolished... it would not need to wait till now...
Hello TS, ask you to go reservist leh, ask you to go modelling ah?
And wearing uniform in school is good. It's call uniformity regardless of whether you are poor or rich everyone must be similar. Already there are some haolians trying to outdo one another showing off their parents wealth by buying expensive hp, ipods, laptops when the they themselves have not even earn one cents in their lives. Very 'guang rong' meh showing off lao pa's wealth? Not to mention it only create animosity among your peers.
but there should be more freedom in individual expression lor. NSF hair short still understandable, cos they are still below 21.
but asking NSmen over 21 yrs old to cut short hair is too much. you are suppose to be a fully independent adult who have the rights to make decision as to what to do with your body. your body does not belong to the state.
头å�¯æ–,头å�‘ä¸�å�¯ä¹±
this is call military, start getting used to it.
LOL?
all military over the world like this right.
chiu not happy dun cut lor... when go court that time just say you guilty of your charge pay $50 for that nia lor...
chiu happy can riaos
Originally posted by gunner77:
worst still, u have a exam paper later on, morning assembly ur hair kena cut infront of everybodydo u tink the student can do well in his exam ?
with long hair....the student may not do well too...
I think at the end of the day...the student knew there is an existing rule on long hair...he chose to break it...then he should not complain when he gets hauled up for it.
dun cut hair? no problem.. cut ur coc.k lor.. problem solved v
Originally posted by cApitaland:all military over the world like this right.
No. Singapore is one rare country which requires ICT.
Originally posted by FirePig:
No. Singapore is one rare country which requires ICT.
he's saying all military require neat hair style...
and it does make sense when u are seving to have neat hair..
imagine your long hair get stuff in chamber when u check clear or cock your gun... then u just lower your rifle.. the pain
Originally posted by Xcert:with long hair....the student may not do well too...
I think at the end of the day...the student knew there is an existing rule on long hair...he chose to break it...then he should not complain when he gets hauled up for it.
we are talking about WHY are there such rule now.
it makes no sense if u relate hair to studies
stompers are just typical whining singaporeans
Army is about discipline...to have short hair also reflect a clean look....can u imagine a soldier with long hair......would be a laughing stock.....just stop complaining......not like ur hair wun grow back.....if still not satisfied just migrate to other country lah.....!!!
what is the NS for sia....
discipline!
Short hair also can look shuai in army one mah. I saw before guys in NS who look just as shuai with botak hair.
Short hair = Maybe not shuai, but looks obedient.
Long hair = Maybe look shuai, but people see you as a paikia.
lol MOE will always b traditional and will nv change the hairstyle thingy
Honestly, this hair rule is fucking retarded. I don't see how cutting your hair improves your academic performance. my school(orchid park sec ) is probably the best enforcer of this dumb rule. This year, we have had hair checks every 2 weeks and about 2/3 of the boys of my level get sent out. Most of their hairstyles are acceptable, such as fringe not touching eyebrow, sides not touching ear and sideburns not extending below earlobes, but they still get sent out. Then we would all sit down at the parade square in rows and wait for the barber to come in. The whole process takes about 3 hours to complete. Furthermore, it costs $7 for a 10-seconds haircut by an unprofessional barber. Sounds like a collaboration between the barber and my DM, eh? Why can't they just write down the names of people who get caught and tell them to get their hair cut by the next day? Why can't they inform us of the hairchecks instead of saying "the next haircheck is coming soon"? Once my DM said that and I went to cut my hair anticipating a haircheck either this week or the following week but they had it 2 weeks later after my hair grew out. No surprises what happened. And I'm not some freak whose hair grows at a rate of 5cm/month, my hair grows at an average rate and this shows how short your hair must be to pass the test. My DM always says "I think you people need to be sent for a self-esteem course." Sorry? Self-esteem course? What you're doing is destroying our self-esteem and confidence, and wasting precious academic time. It's a pity we cannot do much against this rule even if we could because its a school rule and we're adhered to it. Oh yeah, and guess why is the JC admission rate decreasing? It's partly(and it's going to be mainly) because of these "appearance" rules. No one wants to get their hair cut and look like a dumbass, no one wants to be pushed around by the teachers, and no one wants to be confined in a cage. I myself am quite excellent in terms of academic results and am interested in a few JC subjects such as econs and even higher maths but I'm determined to go to poly because of this rule.
Has anybody tried writing a matured, logical and rhetorical letter/article on this hair rule? I'm thinking of writing one to show the public and parents how detrimental this rule is to a student's academic performance.
Hey boy, this is the military, not a fucking school.
Try telling your sergeants that having long hair will not have any effects on your IPPT, SOC, etc.
Can't believe that there are people who made life altering decisions based on their fucking hair.
disicpline, blind submission to authority, what else? they twist what is a right to become a privilage, like they've twisted so many things which never should have been.
This is Singapore.
I love short hairs though so this rule doesnt affect me.