Originally posted by freemovement:because i like the way how the army works. discipline and teamwork. OCS is the furthest i can go in ns so, if i sign on i wouldn't be wasting my effort.
but i would like to go through bmt 1st to really have a preview of army life.. thats when i decide if i wanna sign on
discipline and teamwork?
good what SPF.
sekali u become storeman @ sungei gedong how?
come on guys.. i made up my mind to go army.. so please stay with the topic and contribute some suggestions
thanks
Originally posted by eac:
NSPI (NSF POLICE INSPECTORS) ARE MOSTLY FROM SAF ENHANCED[LEADERSHIP] TEKONG BMT. ONLY A VERY SMALL HANDFUL OF HOPEFULS R SELECTED BASED ON INTAKE TIME OPENING...etc.
A MINORITY OF TEKONG BMT are also channelled to RSAF/Navy after POP from BMT.
if u want to try your luck with the MP, then go to your neighbourhood grassroot GRC and ask them. telling the MP of your interest is of NO USE. be prepared to write essay. think of the essay part of an university application.
hey thanks i will make an appointment with the GRC ppl asap. Why isn't the mp of any use at all ? i thought he/she have a bigger voice in the government sector ?
Originally posted by Gasfene:Are your parents pure singaporeans? Those who have non-sg parents are usually posted to police.
my parents were once malaysian.. but they converted to be singaporean like 20 years ago.
I alway dream to be in SPF during my NS day first time to hear pple want to go Army , that mean you like
night training
outfield training
brunei feild training
carry a lot of heavy stuff and MTC at night
SOC with M16
Guard duty and more guard duty if you sign extra
Stay in most of the time
dun see chiobu for a few weeks
confinment for BMT
Originally posted by seancannot:I alway dream to be in SPF during my NS day first time to hear pple want to go Army , that mean you like
night training
outfield training
brunei feild training
carry a lot of heavy stuff and MTC at night
SOC with M16
Guard duty and more guard duty if you sign extra
Stay in most of the time
dun see chiobu for a few weeks
confinment for BMT
i just see it as a good experience and a challenge.. i dun mind the above except for extras and confinement haha
how i wish i can switch place wif u...haiz
312 more days to ord
Originally posted by ctstalin:how i wish i can switch place wif u...haiz
312 more days to ord
sorry.
4 more days to ORD.
Originally posted by jay_rocks:Can use gun to shoot ppl at mrt station. why not?
SAF better.
can carry SAR21 go orchard jalan jalan.
Originally posted by sinicker:
sorry.
4 more days to ORD.
sorry.
ORD-ed.
Originally posted by freemovement:hey thanks i will make an appointment with the GRC ppl asap. Why isn't the mp of any use at all ? i thought he/she have a bigger voice in the government sector ?
I don't really think MP can help in this situation, either army or spf, u're still doing your part in the protection of the country unless maybe u sign on now maybe still can......btw i'm sure many people would like to switch with you.
Originally posted by monoslayer:sorry.
ORD-ed.
okay well done.
see you later.
MP wouldnt help you one.
maybe the aptitude test you did in CMPB something wrong?
what did you answer for.....
"I will fight for my country even if it means i have to shed blood & may eventually die?"
wtf are you out of your mind.
most people sign on because
a. saf scholar, good career opportunities in the saf
b. they don't have a choice. ie, family needs the income
c. they made a horrible horrible life decision
you are sliding towards path c.
SPF vs SAF
2 day work, 2 day off vs 5 day workweek, sometimes weekend burn
if u post to coast guard, good luck to u. ur corporal rank pay is much higher den a 3SG combat nsf.
can bring camera phone vs non camera phone
no smoking vs smoke all u wan
anyone care to compare more?
TS, if u r posted to SPF, jus stick with it. everyone has it's own good and bad..
I guess the only way to transfer from PNS to SAF is to sign on...
If you really want to, sign on before you get into Police NS. Once you're in it, you can't really sign on with the SAF till you're done with Police NS.
Originally posted by ctstalin:how i wish i can switch place wif u...haiz
312 more days to ord
we are brothers...dude....see my avatar...may our people united one day...
Well, you can always go to army and sign on... they would most probably try to channel you into OCS if you are really capable...
Damn, and here I was hoping to get into SPF instead of SAF when I graduated from poly.
so if you go army but didnt make it to OCS..
say you become storeman at sungei gedong.
what you gonna do? come SGforums ask whether can ask MP appeal??
MPs wont be able to help u.
i would say make do with what you have.
Originally posted by freemovement:come on guys.. i made up my mind to go army.. so please stay with the topic and contribute some suggestions
thanks
Hello,
If I'm not wrong, there should have some kind of contact number on the notification that you had received, you can try to call them and seek advice and see how it goes.
If you die die want to sign on as an Officer, you can go and apply as a regular first, but if you want to use the BMT experience to try it out, you will have to use the above option first.
I think both army or police NS will be a good experience and eye opener if you maintain a positive mindset.
I enjoyed my NS days =)
Originally posted by freemovement:i just see it as a good experience and a challenge.. i dun mind the above except for extras and confinement haha
Extras is very common in OCS. I was the armskote IC and was given extra 'cos some platoon mates didn't clean rifle properly.
It's like that one.
But confinement is very sad one...I had this wing mate, confined for 21 days, even have to help him buy detergent to do his laundry...very sian one...I
t's the espirit-de-corps that will pull you through no matter where you serve during your NS.
TS, why you dun wana go SPF? u can also be an officer there wat. inspector leh! the good thing abt being police are higher pay and not much physical exertions like in SAF. i wana go police also cannot leh. i'm damn afraid of being drafted into commandos la.