At first , i got psoriasis , went to polyclinic to get referral to NUH , booked appointment , finally the day have come , went to see the dermatologist , he wrote me a memo , after a few days which is today , i went down to cmpb , reach there around 11am , the registration person told me to come back at 1pm as the MO is not available to see patient and so i did , went to the canteen and eat and drink , until 12pm , so off i went to depot heights shopping centre to slack , and went back to cmpb at about 1.20pm , asked the person at the counter , and he told me to take a seat first , and so i seated for about 15 minutes and the person called me in , and waited inside to see the MO , took a queue number , and finally at 2.15pm , the MO is available and called me in. When i got in , he asked me if i have any drug allergy and so i told him , and the 2nd qns he ask was whether i have a tattoo and the answer was no and yeah , he looked at my specialist memo , and trying to figure out what are the words , and he said he cant read his words and so , he went into another room and asked another MO what is this word and what is that word , in the end , he told me to show him my psoriasis rashes , and i showed him all the affected areas , there are a lot of small plaques on my upper back body and a few on the lower part , there is always some at my buttocks and some on the hips , my scalp have got a lot of silvery skin (look like those dandruff kind of thing but is more thicker). And there are a few small patches on my face , my ear is also affected , but didnt show him , and he said , i need to have 20% of rashes on my body then i can downgrade to pes C as he go by the book , and he says i got like at most only 5% , so i don't qualify for a downgrade , i told him that my psoriasis tend to act up when expose to sun , but he told me the same old thing "but we only go by the book , you need to have 20% of rashes on your body then you can downgrade." and yeah so i didnt argue back and left. Ok my concern is , does he mean that someone who have psoriasis less than 20% who go combat and chiong sua , until the guy develop 20% of the rashes then he can go for a downgrade? does he even know what is psoriasis? even for a mild case if it is always come into contact with dust or sunlight , it will become more and more serious? i am not even thinking of chao keng , my case is really genuine and i know my own condition , sometimes even without contact with sunlight , i woud scratch my rashes until it bleeds. and psoriasis is a skin disease that will nv be cured.... , i really don't know what i should do now.. more advice guys. =) thx.
Mo would respect the specialist working outside... so, you better seek one and ask him to downgrade you...
well , i have given up hope already , haiz , the MO keep saying my rashes need to have 20% , and he said i at most got 5% only , how to argue back? even with a report , i think it would still be the same leh.
Hey there, dun give up. Like caleb said, MO in cmpb will respect pte specialist decison. I was graded PES B by the MO even though i have gout and scolosis and heel pain and showing him all the relevant documents. He said he will grade me as PES B first. After that, i've an appointment with SGH specialist the next following day and i had an X-ray of my spine and heel. The specialist then take a look at my x-ray and said my spine and heel are in quite a bad condition. So then he wrote a memo requesting MO to downgrade me. I faxed over the documents and then in 2 weeks time, a downgrade letter was mailed to my letterbox and i was permanently downgraded to PES C2L2. So no matter wat, dun give up. Dun let ur conditions worsen during the service. :)
SAF is like this... when nothing happen everything also ask you to do. when things happen already they go find all those blame on other pple...
so what you can do now is just wait for your rash to act up again then go for downgrade :)
Originally posted by xXxJaylenxXx:Hey there, dun give up. Like caleb said, MO in cmpb will respect pte specialist decison. I was graded PES B by the MO even though i have gout and scolosis and heel pain and showing him all the relevant documents. He said he will grade me as PES B first. After that, i've an appointment with SGH specialist the next following day and i had an X-ray of my spine and heel. The specialist then take a look at my x-ray and said my spine and heel are in quite a bad condition. So then he wrote a memo requesting MO to downgrade me. I faxed over the documents and then in 2 weeks time, a downgrade letter was mailed to my letterbox and i was permanently downgraded to PES C2L2. So no matter wat, dun give up. Dun let ur conditions worsen during the service. :)
so i can just fax the report to them without going down?
u in ns already ah??
Originally posted by pigsticker:u in ns already ah??
nope havent still waiting to be enlisted , currently pes B , still a combat fit soldier =(
I definitely suggest also that you go to see a private specialist and get them to recommend you for downgrade. The MO is very unlikely to go against the specialist's word. Firstly because if something happens to you or your condition gets worse, that MO will look very bad for rejecting the specialist's advice, and secondly because now someone who is an experienced dermatologist has given his opinion, the MO has a reason to follow that and is no longer forced to just go by the book. Remember just like everybody else, MOs want to avoid trouble and will not want to risk their careers over a simple downgrade for an NSF.
Originally posted by botakturtle:I definitely suggest also that you go to see a private specialist and get them to recommend you for downgrade. The MO is very unlikely to go against the specialist's word. Firstly because if something happens to you or your condition gets worse, that MO will look very bad for rejecting the specialist's advice, and secondly because now someone who is an experienced dermatologist has given his opinion, the MO has a reason to follow that and is no longer forced to just go by the book. Remember just like everybody else, MOs want to avoid trouble and will not want to risk their careers over a simple downgrade for an NSF.
arhh , but a private specialist would cost a bomb right? and where do i find a good specialist?
Originally posted by Resentment:arhh , but a private specialist would cost a bomb right? and where do i find a good specialist?
Go to NSC lah