Pre enlistee here. I have come to know that we can't bring food stuff during BMT,etc. But what about the nutrition over there? I heard the cookhouse provide a variety of food choices for us which is good but is there any stuff that we can bring in like supplements/protein shake etc?
How strict can the checks be?
I assume you going for Tekong BMT?They don't allow food to be brought in for several reasons.The main reason is because of rat infestation in the bunks.Careless recruits who leave opened biscuit packs and half eaten food items around over the years have attracted an army of "commando rodents" into nearly every bunk.The rats will eat ANYTHING and EVERYTHING.My section had caught rats with garters,pieces of socks,pieces of our underwear and even bits of our FHM magazines dangling from their mouths...With that said,if they even find our inedible items attractive,what's more about food items?
Ziplock bags are useless as they will bite through it.A rat bit his way through my friend's 5 layer of ziplock bags to get to his one miserable bowl of cup noodles.My casualty list alone amounted to about 22 cup noodles,10 chococlate bars,5 mammee noodle packs,2 packs of combat rations(the one they issue just b4 field camp),a couple of underwears and the picture of my Ex,all items listed were sealed in triple layer ziplock body bags and were violated while in the bags.
Another reason applies to the obese batch for obvious reasons but they can bring food items in after fulfilling several conditions.
I believe the nutrition in the cookhouse is relatively well balanced out as I often see civilian cookhouse inspectors going down on a fequent basis to inspect the food prepared while I was still at Tekong.Non-muslim,muslim,vegetarian meals are available for all 3 meals.
Even if you are prepared to face the rat problem,you have to see if your company commanders allow you to bring food items in.Most will allow it but please don't bring in "wet" items like mee siam,laksa that kind.I suggest you wait for your first book out day after the 2 weeks confinement then ask your PC on that day whether can bring supplements/proteins when you book in.Most probably can.
You will most probably be asked to book out carrying fieldpack,I suggest you put those items into convenient packaging as there is a practice of "everything out" when you book in.That means they will ask you to empty all the stuff in your bag/s and lay it out infront of them for inspection(see if got contraband items) before they let you go back to your bunk.
In short,ask your commanders on the first book out for permission to bring those things in when book in.Long term goal?Defending them from the rats as I assure you that they can bite a hole through the tin container that holds your protein shake powder.
when i was in tekong(2yrs ago), we were allowed to bring food. My friends brought protein shake, oreos, snack bars...
whether they banned the food thing or not im not sure....
ndu cookhouse is probably the best in saf... cant say the same for tekong cookhouse... but its not as bad as some ppl claim
Don't be fooled by the lunch/dinner they provide to you and your parents on your enlistment day...
They will definitely give you something nice like taiwan sausage and all that but once that day is gone,the recycled cookhouse menu will kick back in.Only exceptions are on public holidays and cookhouse inspection days.On those days,they tend to give something nicer like satay or even lor mee!
Yes,the food on tekong is not that bad as most rumors would have it,infact,it is much better than some of the cookhouses back on mainland!
General view is that all EAST SIDE camp cookhouse is better than WEST SIDE because east side is under NTUC Foodfare,west side is SFI.
changi naval base has the best cookhouse. period. not even ndu can beat it.
I hate the BMT food.
And I'm not the kind to be picky on food taste normally.
LOL.... Talk about of Changi Naval Base cookhouse...
Im a Sea Soldier in CNB for 2 years and if you walk into the guardhouse and ask how is the food from CNB...
They tell you its sai beng!
Not that it's very bad... its ok actually... but because they pack it in boxes than bring there the taste take a 360 degree change
... wah i tel ya... some ppl one look throw liao!
actually it's really not that bad... i ate at the bmt cookhouse house for 2 yrs... school 2 food is better than school 1 imo. the hq cookhouse food is the best.. can 2 choose 1 but usually i ate both haha.
personally. during my NS stint. i was at tekong, theoritically for 2 years. though the food sometimes look unhealthy with all the fried and oily stuff, i feel that i was so much healthier compared to now. everyday will clear bowels, face so smooth with no pimples, sometimes i have 2nd servings but not grow fat....shiok.
Tekong food ok lah, the only thing I gripe about is the water parade before any activity, yes including breakfast, lunch, & dinner. The worst is every morning, Empty stomach + "tekong smell" water = vomit. It became so bad that even the breakfast I ate later got vomit out, I had to smuggle in glucose for the morning water parade to mask the smell.
Originally posted by octega:Tekong food ok lah, the only thing I gripe about is the water parade before any activity, yes including breakfast, lunch, & dinner. The worst is every morning, Empty stomach + "tekong smell" water = vomit. It became so bad that even the breakfast I ate later got vomit out, I had to smuggle in glucose for the morning water parade to mask the smell.
blame it on the lesson plan. theres a lesson plan for 5bx.
hey izit true everyone will lose weight in army due to the excessive running? i'm not really sure but i always hear people complaining about losing muscle mass and stuff...anyone care to confirm it?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hey izit true everyone will lose weight in army due to the excessive running? i'm not really sure but i always hear people complaining about losing muscle mass and stuff...anyone care to confirm it?
I was from a PTP batch and I lost 5kg while I was there but ONLY when I was there,lol
After POP,I gained it all back till I ord.It is true that most people will lose weight while they are there,even the fittest batch will loose some too.But the reason is not only running,it is the style of life there on the whole.Waking up at 5AM daily,5BX daily,regular PT regime,all contribute to a person's weight lost.Only those who MC all the way or OOC won't be affected.
SAF physical training emphasis on endurance not power...so average soldier you see is lean and not the "BUFF" GI Joe kind.They emphasis on "more reps" in gym rather than duration of the rep.That was what my PTI told me that time....now don't know if still the same
Those soldiers you see like got bulging muscles one are those that do power training in outside gyms in their own free time.
BMT cannot bring food in meh? Last time we were allowed to bring in some dry food.
den in commandos confirm lagi worse sia! commandos always like to do extra de...i'm bound to lose weight in army leh...the problem about going gym during NS is no time and you'll probably lose your overall strength...is there really time for you to go gym anot?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:den in commandos confirm lagi worse sia! commandos always like to do extra de...i'm bound to lose weight in army leh...the problem about going gym during NS is no time and you'll probably lose your overall strength...is there really time for you to go gym anot?
For all BMTs,even cdo bmt,there will be gym lessons involved.You will have lesser gym lessons than me though since I was in PTP and had to enlist one month earlier,so more time and NEED for gym.
During gym lessons,you will be split into teams and rotate around to use different set of exercise equipment.
I do not know about cdo bmt but in tekong bmt,some companies encourage their recruits to do their own training during the 1 hour or so free time after RO(around 9pm or so).Usually those who want to do it either end up doing running round the track or go gym.This is especially so when there is an IPPT test on the next day.Just remember to inform the COS when you decide to do extra training,safety procedure.
By the time we were doing our pull ups and combat runs in FBO,no one had the mood to do extra training anymore,strange lol
Of course,no extra time for shower or packing up will be given if you decide to use your free time to do training.Lights off still at 2230 hrs.
wah lau...no time for bath! i will not mind missing shower if the gym is air-conditioned though but i doubt it is rite? i hope they will be more gym sessions. s'pore army very weird de...always train endurance instead of strength and size...no wonder our army personnels are veri much smaller in size compared to others.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:wah lau...no time for bath! i will not mind missing shower if the gym is air-conditioned though but i doubt it is rite? i hope they will be more gym sessions. s'pore army very weird de...always train endurance instead of strength and size...no wonder our army personnels are veri much smaller in size compared to others.
If no time for bath,cover yourself in snake powder at least.Same as field camp where snake powder baths are compulsory to maintain hygiene since no showers outfield.So I suggest you get extra snake powder besides the one that SAF will issue you.They only issue you one packet of snake powder nia
Tekong gyms all airconditioned unless break down...not sure about cdo bmt.But most camps now in Singapore should have airconditioned gym...but the equipment is another case,some broken or even rusty.
BMT also have strength training lessons but not the kind to make you look like bodybuilder.Medicine ball,pushups and dual wielding 5 kg dumbells in each hand all part of it.
When you post out to unit,gym training is all up to individual already,no more lessons will be scheduled unless you fail IPPT like me then need to do weekend RT in gym
I personally consider mindless training in bmt even though I haven't entered yet. From what I heard about the training and especially nutrition. Anyway, I'm in no position to talk because I haven't gone through yet. Well, that's solely my point of view.hey izit true everyone will lose weight in army due to the excessive running? i'm not really sure but i always hear people complaining about losing muscle mass and stuff...anyone care to confirm it?
When we wake up in the morning, our body is in its catabloic state (muscle wasting). Instead of eating something, anything, we go and run. And the best thing I heard from friends in NS, they spam us with rice and more rice, little protein from meat and such. Energy but no protein, and when we do training, where do our body get protein from? Our muscles.
The result: Skinny NSF, a mockery for US soilders.
Interesting point of view,hardly ever hear a scientific explanation for anything related to SAF,lol
I agree with the rice part,you can always ask for more rice(even in current food crisis) but you can never ask for more portions of meat,vegetables or fruits.If you having western food,chilli sauce can spam too.
exactly mr shadows! i basically feel that local army personnels are consider well-trained in the international stage but seriously we just lack the size to give ourselves the intimidating and commanding presence. i guess you have to eat double or triple the portion to prevent muscle wastage lor...always run and no gym work is not a solution to produce highly-trained soldiers, i believe there must be a balance between the two.
I think that reasoning does not apply too well to obese recruits,no offense intended to them.In fact,they have it even worse than us when it comes to cook house food.During my time,they would display two sets of meals available for the meal period.One is for the obese recruits(aka LOW CALORIE MEAL),the other is for the rest.
On one of the days,the lunch was rice with stewed chicken drumstick and kang kong vegetables.The obese recruits had the same thing BUT the chicken drumstick was replaced by 2 small pieces of char siew meat and 1 piece of tofu..On days with western food...can you imagine them getting one boiled potato instead of french fries and steamed chicken instead of flash fried chicken?I felt horrible.
Going out on the week long field camp will most probably strip down your weight even further since you will be on combat rations and there is no guarantee that you will want to eat it throughout.I survived on only biscuits and fruit bar plus pokari sweat powder after the first day of field camp....my field pack damn heavy because of all the uneaten food packs.
Ha, do SAF even have a nutrition department in the first place? Even if they do, then what the hell are they doing? If they want us to perform, they jolly well provide us with performing food, not rice and more rice and drinking loads of water before running. HA! But all the whine aside, let's us pre enlistees and regulars face it, think they themselves know nutrition is expensive.
Let's hope my in charge is good/smart enough to bring some in.
haha...gd insights by baikachuchu! anyway when are you enlisting mr shadows?