hey guys, you all know the medical status letter that is given to you after your pres-ns medical checkup? the letter that confirms your pes status and stuff...is it ok if i lost it? coz the letter is needed during enlistment day leh and obviously i have misplaced it...
it's alright if you lose those documentation while you're civilian. they have your records. But once you're in green, don't lose anything even if it's just your own name tag.
so it doesnt matter whether i lost that piece of letter anot la...but will they kpkb if i told them i lost that piece of shi.t during enlistment day?
i also think the things that we need to bring like nail clipper, watch, alarrm clock very unnecessary leh...what do you think?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:so it doesnt matter whether i lost that piece of letter anot la...but will they kpkb if i told them i lost that piece of shi.t during enlistment day?
i also think the things that we need to bring like nail clipper, watch, alarrm clock very unnecessary leh...what do you think?
don't thk they will make a big whoha over it...
out of these 3 items.. jus bring the nail clipper will do
It's best you don't lose anything. but I think pes letter is not that important. must bring IC, and those things they ask you to bring very subjective. I don't bring a clock cos I wake up with my watch. if you're going into where you are going, better to bring a watch, then can monitor your timings.
Bring washing powder(for me I put in a coke bottle), snake powder, glucose, clothes hangers, some cloth for area cleaning, chinese chess set if you play. OH most important, slippers!
it's always because of the standardising that some items are essential. like clothes how many hanging, how many folded. blah blah..
I forgot to bring slippers and I have to go toilet barefoot for the confinement period. then again, you can borrow from your buddy if he don't mind.
will they do an inspection of the stuff you bring, notice that you did not bring the stuff that are listed in the enlistment and fark you up? what are all previous immunisation certificates and are they necessary anyway? where to buy a small lock?
but i'm enlisting in commandos so i think there will be slight differences from your time in tekong...i dun really know whether the stuff you can do in tekong also applies to commando mono-intake sia...
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:but i'm enlisting in commandos so i think there will be slight differences from your time in tekong...i dun really know whether the stuff you can do in tekong also applies to commando mono-intake sia...
sorry. I've ord and done my share in hendon. And I have been to PRC too. so I hope that clarifies your doubts.
all those things I've mentioned are what I think is useful after going thru there. Oh, please bring goggles also for your swimming lessons, hendon pool isn't that clean all the time.
I can only say, IF you have all the things in the list, Just bring it. You can get away with all the punishments, but you might get your buddy or company in trouble.
That letter is only important if you have certain type of status that will excuse you from certain items.If you have any such status,you must present the letter to them on first day so that they can take note of your condition.
Otherwise during my batch,most of us pes A(no excuse),don't even bother to bring the letter on first day.PC ask anyone got any form of illness,if have show letter,if not,can go back bunk and prepare stand by universe.
Originally posted by baikachuchu:That letter is only important if you have certain type of status that will excuse you from certain items.If you have any such status,you must present the letter to them on first day so that they can take note of your condition.
Otherwise during my batch,most of us pes A(no excuse),don't even bother to bring the letter on first day.PC ask anyone got any form of illness,if have show letter,if not,can go back bunk and prepare stand by universe.
omg.. stand by universe.. it always occurs especially before book out.. thats when the cloth become so important..
huh? cuddles, you are an ex-commando ah? but cdo bmt is held at pasir ris camp leh, not hendon. only BCT which is after bmt then held at hendon...can tell me your commando experience anot? what are the highlights during the cdo bmt?
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:huh? cuddles, you are an ex-commando ah? but cdo bmt is held at pasir ris camp leh, not hendon. only BCT which is after bmt then held at hendon...can tell me your commando experience anot? what are the highlights during the cdo bmt?
hiyo.. PTP and BMT all in PRC. Vocational training some in PRC some go other camps. BCT is shortened to a crash course like period but it will be a lot to learn. the highlights is never during the BMT. it's only during Airborne course which I feel like it's the best part of my life. all the training for 3 weeks just for less than a minute floating in the air.
the whole experience is great. PRC is like a holiday school so don't worry that much. back at hendon will be hell.. because of ATEC, some evaluation, if you don't know.. :)
oh, got something known as Ironman challenge before you pass to hendon, which is also part of BCT.
wah lau...i hate running lor. the ironman challenge is run 10km, SOC or something like this within timing rite? what is ATEC anyway? how can BCT be shortened o a crash course-period coz from i heard it can last for 9-10 months rite?
how many people are there in your batch? how many went on to ebcome specs and officers?
Read here more about ATEC
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/cyberpioneer/backissues_jun04_02.htm
Basically they act as the enemy in wargame evaluation to see if the unit will sink or swim.
I only see them when reservist come back camp for ICT so far....
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:wah lau...i hate running lor. the ironman challenge is run 10km, SOC or something like this within timing rite? what is ATEC anyway? how can BCT be shortened o a crash course-period coz from i heard it can last for 9-10 months rite?
how many people are there in your batch? how many went on to ebcome specs and officers?
I'm so sorry for you. cdos have to get under 9.14 for 2.4km. so Running is inevitable. that including 6km ahm, and 21km ahm. Ironman challenge I don't know got change or not.. but it's just some running, clearing some obstacles, doing some crawling around, testing on your weapon knowledge. very easy one(subjective) don't worry!
BCT in PRC is just the tip of the ice berg, when you pass over to hendon, you still got turnouts, and that's when you get banished back to a recruit life again. so you'll get trained again and again. don't worry about not siong enough! :) it's true there's less(doesn't mean don't have) tekan, but the tight training schedule will be a challenge! it'll be around 9-10 months before you earn your beret.
And that's only just turning operational.. :D more training comes and life gets hectic with endless outfields carrying heavier loads. all for Atec, which is basically a proficiency test of all combat units on their performance and etc.. part and parcel of NSF life.
Lastly, you start with platoons of 60-70+ people, and it gets trimmed down before you get to hendon. we work in small numbers so don't worry about efficiency nor imtimidating factors.. either way, you'll be required to get it over with.
all officers go thru spec course aka leader course. and only a handful like maybe 15% become selected. I don't know if they remained that way cos the last i know of is they cut down the number of leaders..
Just try to adapt the military life first, before thinking so much.. :D
For commando BMT, how many companys are there? i heard there are 1-2 companys coz the intake is very small in number like 60-70+ which you say rite? wah lau... that means i will only get to know 60-70 people when i enlist? in fact the lesser the better, no overcrowding will occur...lol
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:For commando BMT, how many companys are there? i heard there are 1-2 companys coz the intake is very small in number like 60-70+ which you say rite? wah lau... that means i will only get to know 60-70 people when i enlist? in fact the lesser the better, no overcrowding will occur...lol
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Armed_Forces_Commando_Formation
http://www.geocities.com/raymondrjs/armylifehomecommando.html
go and read up for yourself. whatever you want to know.
Originally posted by Cdo & Pilot:hey guys, you all know the medical status letter that is given to you after your pres-ns medical checkup? the letter that confirms your pes status and stuff...is it ok if i lost it? coz the letter is needed during enlistment day leh and obviously i have misplaced it...
no problem...they wouldnt need it....everything is in the computer.
oic...thanks alot...
Survive BMT and talk about the rest...