To all women who are considering to join or are already in the force, please tell your views and opinions about your experiences, likes and dislikes of army life.
Why do you want to join in the first place?
What type of vocation is the best, How different is it from being an officer or a specialist? How is BMT like?.. etc..
I still remember that signals officer I met at pasir laba 6 years ago ...
she makes felicia chin look like a butch ...
I observed that most servicewomen in the Army that I have met are either signal trained or working in the medical,logistical or engineering field.
I only saw a part of their training while they were in BMT and SISPEC.It is more or less the same as their male counterparts.FBO is really FBO but for some reason,their helmets always look very new compared to the male trainees*shrug*.They don't skimp out on the route march but on the way back to company line,I never seem to be able to hear them doing any singing.The instructors they have are definitely tamer than what the male trainees get.They may be in the army but they are still ladies no matter what,due respect and courtesy must still be given to them during conversation or tekan.You never hear their instructor screaming "Nabeh CB!".I do not know if their IPPT stations and requirements are the same.During my BMT day,I had the honour of doing 3 pullups compared to the 6 that a female recruit was doing on a chinup bar some distance away.My PTI then look like he suffering from traumatic depression because of this.I thought female suppose to do the incline chin up thing or i confuse it with NAPFA one?Maybe ish they want to make a statement to us guys.
I once asked a female signal spec as to why she signed on.She told me that this was probably the best she could get out of a NITEC cert and she wanted a break from studying.
of cos what .... they are kuniangs, literally ......
so you want to join them issit ? ...
The SAF has women in every vocation except the Commandos-- even the Guards have female officers and possibly female specs in the combat role.
In terms of IPPT, they have lower standards to meet.
In terms of attitude, not much different from the average regular I guess. Like guys, they sign up for different reasons ranging from money issues to a love for the colour green :P
In terms of treatment, I would say that they definately get some special consideration because of their gender. Still, life is unfair and that's just the way things are.
they join the airforce and hope to marry a pilot.
Originally posted by stellazio:they join the airforce and hope to marry a pilot.
they can continue daydreaming
Originally posted by bryanw:
for every 9 dreamers, there's 1 who succeeds.
Originally posted by bryanw:
it happens
women who joined the army shld not expect to be treated differently or expect an easier life than their male counterparts.
Originally posted by stellazio:for every 9 dreamers, there's 1 who succeeds.
but rare la
Originally posted by edwin3060:The SAF has women in every vocation except the Commandos-- even the Guards have female officers and possibly female specs in the combat role.
In terms of attitude, not much different from the average regular I guess. Like guys, they sign up for different reasons ranging from money issues to a love for the colour green :P
In terms of treatment, I would say that they definately get some special consideration because of their gender. Still, life is unfair and that's just the way things are.
there are no female PTIs....
true, but PTI is not a vocation :P
women in the force have sagging breasts and freckled skin.
Originally posted by edwin3060:true, but PTI is not a vocation :P
no? haha...actually i don't know.
Originally posted by edwin3060:The SAF has women in every vocation except the Commandos-- even the Guards have female officers and possibly female specs in the combat role.
Hi. I am pretty sure that your statement is inaccurate. There is no woman in Infantry. There could have been one put 'for show' at one time in the past but pls note the 'show' is not permanent. There is no woman in INF for a long time liao. There is also no woman in Guards, Armour and Commandoes.
Originally posted by stellazio:they join the airforce and hope to marry a pilot.
I know a woman in the SAF who candidly told me she joined the force hoping to marry a SAFOS.
Originally posted by edwin3060:
Yup they got lower standards to meet, and their BMT and OCS duration is shorter too. But one big problem I have is that their performance is really like shit and they kinda get away with it cos they are women?? I feel men and women should be assessed on the same plane. They really got no commanding and leadership skills and those who wear no.3 in office, the perpetual staff officers, their attitude is really shitty and many of them come to work late. Got a chi bao deng si attitude.
My friend in Infantry said long ago they put 1 or 2 women there 'for show' even though they can't cut it (the combat nature of the formation) and everyone thought they were really lousy. They were eventually moved elsewhere.
Originally posted by cookiecookie:Hi. I am pretty sure that your statement is inaccurate. There is no woman in Infantry. There could have been one put 'for show' at one time in the past but pls note the 'show' is not permanent. There is no woman in INF for a long time liao. There is also no woman in Guards and Armour.
i don't know about guards.....but for armour....isn't there the well known WO Jennifer?
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i don't know about guards.....but for armour....isn't there the well known WO Jennifer?
Izzit?? then maybe for Armour lor. Definitely not armoured infantry LOL.
I am very sure there is no woman in INF, Guards and Commando.
Have ever heard an INF officer saying they walk 10 klicks while carrying full pack then chiong sua, armour officers take a tram, alight then chiong sua. :P
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:i don't know about guards.....but for armour....isn't there the well known WO Jennifer?
Yeah, there is WO Jennifer from 46SAR's.
Cookie-- I have no idea where your sources come from but I suggest you double check them-- there are women serving in Infantry battalions, and there are female Guards, Armour, Arty, etc officers. There is/was even a woman in NDU.
It is not true that their BMT/OCS is shorter- in fact, within OCS the female cadets train, and commission, with the guys, since it would not be cost effective to have a seperate program for the handful of female cadets that sign on.
I doubt that ALL female officers are as you describe-- I am pretty sure some are, just like there are male officers who chao keng, got no command or leadership skills. That is just the nature of human beings, regardless of male or female.
In fact, the only thing we can agree on is that having 2 different IPPT standards is wrong when the IPPT is supposed to ensure a minimum level of fitness for combat. However, like baikachuchu mentioned, some of the girls do train to the same IPPT standards as the guys, and they should be given credit for that.
Don't let your personal bias distort your view of women in the armed forces.
Originally posted by edwin3060: Cookie-- I have no idea where your sources come from but I suggest you double check them-- there are women serving in Infantry battalions, and there are female Guards, Armour, Arty, etc officers. There is/was even a woman in NDU.
There is a woman in NDU but none in INF for quite a long time now. I suggest YOU double check your info. I got my info from friends in INF, and not just one source. I am less sure about Armour but am sure about INF, Guards and Commando.
Artillery yes there are, I never said there wasn't for Arti. Women are more inclined to sign on and are more commonly seen in Signals and Arti, which are combat support arms. Which do you think is more physically siong? Arti or INF? Obvious answer right?
You want to compare the job nature of Arti and Signals vs INF? If you know any woman who can garang garang walk 15 klicks with full pack and chiong sua with the men, sure thing, you can claim they are as good as men in combat work. Who's kidding who?
Compared to combat arms most significantly Infantry, Guards and Commando, combat support arms are a piece of cake. Walk in the park literally. Is it a coincidence that women are found mostly in Arti and Signals, if they are built the SAME as men physically and mentally for combat work?
There is tactical combat in Armour but the physical rigors of Armour is not even close to INF, Guards and Commandoes. They're always in the tank or they sit tram and then chiong sua.
Originally posted by edwin3060:
It is not true that their BMT/OCS is shorter- in fact, within OCS the female cadets train, and commission, with the guys, since it would not be cost effective to have a seperate program for the handful of female cadets that sign on.
I am pretty sure that the
BMT for women is shorter. It was even reported in the news that SMS women
candidates' BMT is only 9 months. http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_214449.html
Originally posted by edwin3060:I doubt that ALL female officers are as you describe-- I am pretty sure some are, just like there are male officers who chao keng, got no command or leadership skills. That is just the nature of human beings, regardless of male or female.
Of cos there are keng guys too. But for every keng guy, I can find another siao on guy. For the women and their limited numbers, they either 1) are keng or 2) not keng but cannot make it.
Face it, it's not a woman's job and you know the age-old saying "An Officer and a Gentleman"? There is a reason why it's a gentleman.