Originally posted by monoslayer:CDO has female parachute riggers.
cookiecookie keep insisting there is no woman in INF, Armour, GDS n CDO. i really dunno where he got his sources from.
he didnt even know ippt got different standards for standard inf, gds, cdo, n service during his nsf time n even now as a reservist with his response as shown in page 2.
he cant grasp the past n present time concept...
e.g. To all, LKY was once PM of Singapore.
To him, it's "pls lah... LKY is not the PM loh... now he is meh? so where got he PM time?"
he seems to be biased against women in the force. like they owe him something like that...
Originally posted by tarutaru:So how many ladies specialist are there in the medical side? I know one in CAB and PLAB another in Seletar....
khatib n kranji med centre oso haf zhar bo senior medic
Dear Guys and Girls(Miricale you at this topic), first of all i would like to end all the confusion and disputes about female SAF Personnel.
Greetings. First of all there are female officers around. 1 year at least 20 odds will commissioned as officer. The majorities are commissioned as Naval Officer and Air Force Weapon System Officer. The minorities are into army vocations.
NDU you do have female Officer. One of them whom i know of is Major Tan. Always go for her water activities in SAF Sembawang yatch club. Catch her there and speak to her. She will tell you what she encounter when she go for her diver course where one of it is they have to sleep on ice "bed"
Secondly for commandos there are no girls because of the natural of their vocations. You know enemy catch and rape that kind. But they have female specialist who actually pack the parachutes for the commandos. These people are known as rigger. Althought they are not trained in commandos combat skills, they are very good in freefall stunts and skills. They can fall at Ang Mo Kio and glide to malaysia JB. Some can even open their chutes after the effective range of a airborne radar so as to avoid being detected by enemy radar.
Thirdly, although infantry there are very few females, there are still female officers and even guards officers. If you go to OCS, say hi to their Wing Commanders in Serria Wing. Don't be amaze when you see the colour of her beret. Guards Female Officer I do know that two of them are going to commission in 14 June 2008.
Also regarding the female BMT. First the female need to go for their 8-9 weeks of BMT in tekong. Because they are signed on regulars thats why they need not attend the Situational Test or known as SIT Test. Those who sign on for Poly Scheme need not attend this test too because this test is to mend to test whether one is able to make it for Command School. Regulars will go to command school so there isn't a need for them to go for the test.
Regarding the IPPT and modified training. To a certain extend they have some advantage. Like for example, they can skip some of the station that involved jumping for SOC because eventually they will become a mother and the government have to look after them you know. (Low Birth Rate). These jumping will cause destruction to their backbone and during pregnancy, you will need the backbone strength to support your few kg of weight at the front. Ask your mother regarding this. Some of the female officers is not in combat unit is because there are male officers around. These female officers have special assignment which many could not see like Ai De to the presidents wife. For more information please contact CMPB.
P.S: I am not the spokesperson of Mindef or SAF by the way.
Regarding to the woman fighter pilot, yes it is true also. The legendary female fighter F - 16 pilot is a living person. During the flying course, she beat all the men classmates of hers. Her results were the best among all the other trainees who are men. She should be a LTC by now because when i last seen her she was a Major already which were sometimes back.
Some side tracking. Regarding the butch looking female officers I think some of the comments were rather nasty. I have came across very pretty one just that they are a bit sporty. Navy Female Officers are the best. Also those female underwater medic is like a living angel. Imagine you are away at sea with a crew of male and these female underwater medic is among you. The "butch" looking one are just trying to blend in to a male enviornment. Thats they only way they would then be accepted. Does not mean that male who is compuslory to serve the nation then we cannot have female who is also as patrotrict as the males. Some even treat NS like a dread and wasting of time. Deal of lag of manpower like some FIT sportsmen have injured arm and legs cannot go for combat vocations and hence other manpower have to be used. But all the man are being used up already so left the WOman.
Originally posted by AnaLoG:Also regarding the female BMT. First the female need to go for their 8-9 weeks of BMT in tekong. Because they are signed on regulars thats why they need not attend the Situational Test or known as SIT Test. Those who sign on for Poly Scheme need not attend this test too because this test is to mend to test whether one is able to make it for Command School. Regulars will go to command school so there isn't a need for them to go for the test.
This is slightly out of topic but how come polytechnic students who want to sign on get to go to command sch immediately but the JC people have to earn their entry to OCS and have to go through BMT first?
Originally posted by eac:
he didnt even know ippt got different standards for standard inf, gds, cdo, n service during his nsf time n even now as a reservist with his response as shown in page 2.he cant grasp the past n present time concept...
e.g. To all, LKY was once PM of Singapore.
To him, it's "pls lah... LKY is not the PM loh... now he is meh? so where got he PM time?"
he seems to be biased against women in the force. like they owe him something like that...
No need to talk kok. I am completely unconvinced and skeptical of the ‘examples’. I am sure that in my time there was no woman in CDO or the only 1 in INF was quickly posted to staff tour without an OC tour. Please read thru Analog’s commentary on women in different arms. The CDO one now (time has indeed flown since my good old days) is a parachute packer. The Guards ones are supposedly commissioning in June. in my time there was no woman who join guards and INF once in a blue moon and after that end up as staff officer or instructor in school in a flash. Even today the trend is Commission? Can. Commander? No.
I guess this is a sure sign that economy is souring that there are all these BIT FEW (pls note operative words) women who sign on compared to the past. Hahahaha! HA HA HA HA! So funny!