I am new to this forum & I found out from a eariler post from Chanjyj that his friend also get the same enlistment way as my friend who is going to enlist soon.
enlist to CMPB & then post to HQ RSAF.
Can I know how your friend is doing now & what is all about & also where is HQ RSAF? :)
Most likely you'll be ushered into a briefing room at AFRC in CMPB and then be posted to your new unit by AMD personnel who will do the posting there and then. Hopefully they will take distance to your home as an indication of which airbase you will be headed to.
pes e ar? or are your regulars?
will there be a 5.5 program? as in the letter it didn't say anything abt the 5.5 days thing. it
only say after enlistment procedures @ cmpb , u will be posted to hq rsaf.
so doesnt distance to your home as an indication of which airbase you will be headed to still apply at this suituation?
my fren is temp pes E after enlist.
at the same day will be posted to other air bases after interview with a DXO. same fate as me ba
martin you also get posted to hq rsaf?
wah.. how life in there?
so you wear no.3 airforce uniform?
My friend living @ sengkang, no idea how he going to go there... so far away. any suggestion ? :)
Your friend will wear the no.3 AF uniform. He may even be allowed to wear civilian clothes while at HQ RSAF until he is permanently posted. Most likely he will be a clerk. He will either stay at HQ RSAF permanently, or be a document/registry clerk at an airbase HQ or be a CO's Personal Assistant at a flying squadron. Those are the main kinds of AF clerk positions. I believe (they say so anyway) that they will try to post you to an airbase that is not too inconvenient for you. However it depends on other factors too, especially the manning situation at the various bases. For example if one of the squadron PAs is ORDing, there is usually only one or two of them at each squadron so "die die must replace" even if it's a long way from your home. Especially if you are well-educated and are able to handle all the clerk duties by yourself. Alternatively if there are few urgent openings but many new clerks, maybe they will let you sit at HQ and do nothing for a few weeks.
HQ RSAF (if it is still the same as 5 years ago) is really slack for people "in transition" i.e. who are waiting postings to other units. They don't give you work and just make you sit in the corner and be quiet and read books or whatever. 8-5 stay out of course. Basically they want to pretend that you're not there, so just be quiet, greet officers, don't do anything that makes them waste their time on you.
ic it is really great to get some info from you guys.
when report to cmpb for day 1, in the letter it say you will required to report in proper working attire - shirt or collar t-shirt with pants for your enlistment, i kind of don't get this part, i thought usually is jeans with a polo tee or something will do... sound like you need to wear something to the CBD area to work... haha... any idea?
does it mean he will be botak for the same day he enlist?
aiyah pes e how tough can it be..
Originally posted by IzoukerI:martin you also get posted to hq rsaf?
wah.. how life in there?
so you wear no.3 airforce uniform?
My friend living @ sengkang, no idea how he going to go there... so far away. any suggestion ? :)
no not hq. but to air base then sqn
Originally posted by IzoukerI:ic it is really great to get some info from you guys.
when report to cmpb for day 1, in the letter it say you will required to report in proper working attire - shirt or collar t-shirt with pants for your enlistment, i kind of don't get this part, i thought usually is jeans with a polo tee or something will do... sound like you need to wear something to the CBD area to work... haha... any idea?
does it mean he will be botak for the same day he enlist?
i just wore polo-t and jeans/pants to report on enlistment. oh in service my uniform is no.3 and sometimes no.4
no need botak lah just cut ur hair nice and neat will do
clerks will all wear no.3 la..
I would say just wear something nice for your first day and see what others are wearing. Short sleeved shirt, dark coloured slacks. Something like what no. 3 looks like. Also no need to be botak. Just basically look how you would look for work at an office job - neat hair, clean and proper clothes, shaved. If everyone else is more relaxed, well you only have to be that way until 5, then you can wear something else the next day.
That's one thing about AF, compared to other services and vocations you will be surrounded by a lot more regulars. So the atmosphere tends to be more like a workplace. Also if you are a clerk in that environment, remember that you are dealing with people's careers, don't go and give your CO the wrong meeting file and then he looks like a cock in front of all the other COs!
icic, My friend living @ sengkang, any suggestion or way that he can get to hq rsaf the fastest way?
anyway my friend have some minor health problem that why we were worry for him.
Originally posted by botakturtle:I would say just wear something nice for your first day and see what others are wearing. Short sleeved shirt, dark coloured slacks. Something like what no. 3 looks like. Also no need to be botak. Just basically look how you would look for work at an office job - neat hair, clean and proper clothes, shaved. If everyone else is more relaxed, well you only have to be that way until 5, then you can wear something else the next day.
That's one thing about AF, compared to other services and vocations you will be surrounded by a lot more regulars. So the atmosphere tends to be more like a workplace. Also if you are a clerk in that environment, remember that you are dealing with people's careers, don't go and give your CO the wrong meeting file and then he looks like a cock in front of all the other COs!
oh ya. that remind me of the good old times. every friday got to prepare meeting minutes for CO then he go meeting on monday. zzzzzzzzzz one if meeting minutes dun come in on time, OT on fridays
o.O haha.. no longer monday blue is friday blue....
If your friend is posted to HQ RSAF permanently, they used to have buses that go to most parts of Singapore, like school buses. The monthly fee is quite cheap. I also remember that they were trying to encourage car-pooling and other things like that. Otherwise, hope he gets posted to Sembawang Air Base, that is probably the closest one for him.
And meeting minutes are easy, the worst one I remember was writing the Squadron RO because my CO was the very "on" kind who wanted to pretend that it was a real magazine. Always made me search the Intranet for interesting stories and notices to make the thing like 10 pages long.
o... didn't know they have such a service for camp... intresting... but you already over your ns life, ha ha can relax relax liao
Originally posted by botakturtle:If your friend is posted to HQ RSAF permanently, they used to have buses that go to most parts of Singapore, like school buses. The monthly fee is quite cheap. I also remember that they were trying to encourage car-pooling and other things like that. Otherwise, hope he gets posted to Sembawang Air Base, that is probably the closest one for him.
And meeting minutes are easy, the worst one I remember was writing the Squadron RO because my CO was the very "on" kind who wanted to pretend that it was a real magazine. Always made me search the Intranet for interesting stories and notices to make the thing like 10 pages long.
haha sqn RO i nv update one cos notthing much too put in. just copy and paste lol. minutes alway must get from base sec then they always slow one, email to CO but nv CC to me . SBAB far ar if no mini bus, must walk 'uphill' all the way to the gate. if tio my sqn worst! haha
Originally posted by botakturtle:Your friend will wear the no.3 AF uniform. He may even be allowed to wear civilian clothes while at HQ RSAF until he is permanently posted. Most likely he will be a clerk. He will either stay at HQ RSAF permanently, or be a document/registry clerk at an airbase HQ or be a CO's Personal Assistant at a flying squadron. Those are the main kinds of AF clerk positions. I believe (they say so anyway) that they will try to post you to an airbase that is not too inconvenient for you. However it depends on other factors too, especially the manning situation at the various bases. For example if one of the squadron PAs is ORDing, there is usually only one or two of them at each squadron so "die die must replace" even if it's a long way from your home. Especially if you are well-educated and are able to handle all the clerk duties by yourself. Alternatively if there are few urgent openings but many new clerks, maybe they will let you sit at HQ and do nothing for a few weeks.
HQ RSAF (if it is still the same as 5 years ago) is really slack for people "in transition" i.e. who are waiting postings to other units. They don't give you work and just make you sit in the corner and be quiet and read books or whatever. 8-5 stay out of course. Basically they want to pretend that you're not there, so just be quiet, greet officers, don't do anything that makes them waste their time on you.
As an Air Force clerk, r u able to get third sergeant?
Martin, you from where, Tower?
Will - yes it is possible, but you have to go for a certain course that very few will get selected for. During my time, maybe 1 out of 50 NSF clerks at my base would ever become 3SG.
whats the pay for recruit now adays?
Originally posted by IzoukerI:whats the pay for recruit now adays?
I think it's around $350?