-
I think Sir Sickolot's estimate of 11 weeks for specs is more accurate.
As for the courses,I think you got abit mixed up already,nvm.
When you first go SI,you will be placed into either IC1,IC2 or IS course but from what detached said earlier on,IS don't have spec course it seems....so means only left IC1 or IC2.
Where you go after the course depends on whether you do IC1 or IC2 in SI. Your time in SI will involve very little chiong sua, it is where you get posted after training that will determine how much ching sua you got to do.
If you want to remain in SI,you will have to DO VERY WELL in your course for them to consider retaining you as a course spec to teach future batches. Of course,must see if there is also an opening for course spec too. If full liao then too bad. When you enter,you can try asking your course spec how he became one in the first place and if he is going to ord after you graduate.
There is no percentage involved,it is all about what course you did in SI.
If you IC1,after the course you will most probably go signal battalions(more likely) or even ADA(less likely).
If you IC2,after the course you will most likely go chiong sua units like infantry,armour or even guards.
Typical unit life means 5 day work week for most camps. You will usually book out on Friday but expect your Saturdays to be eaten up in short notice too. You will definitely need to do GuardCom or COS duties in your unit. When you first enter unit, you might have to do UIP which is basically tekan programme for all newbies. During that time,expect things to be ugly and fast paced. After that,things should settle down but like anywhere in the army, sai kang is plenty so you will always have something to do everyday.
Expect at least 1 overseas ex before you unit turn ops.
In the end, different unit got different lifestyle and training so hard to compare. A Guards battalion definitely got different lifestyle from signal battalion.
See what course you get first then tell us if you want. From there we should have an idea as to where you will most likely end up. Otherwise there is just too much to be explained here.
baikachuchu seems to have given you a very holistic perspective about the Signal cse, etc
just my 2 cents,.. IC2 doesn not necessarily mean you will get posted to a Battalion. Some people are needed at the Brigade level, to be in the BDE Signal Company.
IC2 ppl get posted to a whole array of vocations (because they are man-packed trained).. these include guards, infantry, armour, ADA (yes, that too!), Arty, Engineers etc
Most Signal Bn (mainly IC1 trained personnel get posted there) will undergo a UIP, or Unit Induction Program. This not your usual orientation. it is a hard and fast way to let the 'higher ups' show you that as a new spec, you are a peanut and deserve to be kicked around. Well, it sounds very bad in this light, but what it basically does is to bring you up to speed with Unit regimentation, since SI trainee life is quite slack.
i wish i could take mc.. but first 3 days leh. alot of administrative work to be done, if i go in on 3rd day things would be damn complicated. so i guess i will hav to miss the match :( unless theres block leave of course. heard units like mp will hav block leave
anyway ex. endurance isit only for IC2 ppl?
44km with fbo and signal set isit?
i 28km wif fbo alone oredi cannot make it alr.. how to tahan 44km
Originally posted by Exonerate:anyway ex. endurance isit only for IC2 ppl?
We walked in East Coast Park during my time. What a different feeling haha!
If I remember correctly, you will rotate with a few buddies, meaning one carry radio set, another carry field pack. Then interchange if cannot tahan the weight.
guard duty? whats that... me no heard of it..
no la, i mean guard duty u do today, next day off right?
thats how it is in the airforce, do 24 hr sit down at the guardpost zhobolan, next day off..
but heng i no need do la..its for techs..
ohh KrU so the 44km aint that bad after all ah? 1 signal set and 1 field pack among the detail only.. at first i tot is route march that kind den jialat liao
Originally posted by Exonerate:ohh KrU so the 44km aint that bad after all ah? 1 signal set and 1 field pack among the detail only.. at first i tot is route march that kind den jialat liao
Hmm pardon my memory. It was so long ago haha. Everyone has to carry something if im not wrong.
Originally posted by Exonerate:anyway ex. endurance isit only for IC2 ppl?
Ex Endurance is for IC2 Spec trainees only.
If you don't hor-lan, max is about 30km? whoever said 44KM?
I can't rem if it's FBO. But i know sure to have a signal set. and all must bear arms.
i rem one team went onto the Malaysian KTM. Just a slight detour only but dam, might have started an international conflict. hahaha
-
Originally posted by maxfly:do we have to cut our hair?!!!
Yup but not recruit hairstyle.
OH SO ITS ONI FOR IC2 ah? scare me.. i tot all also will need to go through. *prays to get into IC1*
1 thing's still unanswered though.. is dere block leave for signal specs course this time? hehe..
why do you guys want block leave? it eats into your annual leave right?
Originally posted by Exonerate:1 thing's still unanswered though.. is dere block leave for signal specs course this time? hehe..
When you enter,they should give you a time table of lessons that you will be doing from day 1 till your last day in SI. It should also state if any block leave is scheduled.
most prob i guess theres no block leave :( lets see how things go tmr then. thx for the info guys
got put in IC2 and there IS block leave :)
is IC2 much tougher than IC1 or generally still slack compared to other vocations?
kinda worried as i got a niggling injury which bothered my throughout the whole bslc