Hi all. I'm a year 2.1 student studying aerospace electronics and i am interested in signing on for RSAF as a pilot. I got to know from a friend that my GPA needs to be at least 2.5 and i need to be PES A or B. My GPA is 3.8 now and i would like to know more about the procedures and requirements like body checkup, COMPASS test and interview. By the way my eyes are around 300 plus degress and i plan to join SIA after 5 years bond. Please enlighten me! Any pilot here please share your experience too please.
the bond is 10 years. you haf to wait til cmpb sends u the medical screening letter then u can apply. the grading is on the spot. once u are certified pes b or a just go online and apply. they wld get back to u in one week and will ask u to go down for the compass test. the compass test is about psychomotor skills. its a test which wld also find out more abt your personality which wld be used to get to noe u, and to size you up during interview. the key is to be honest. if u pass the compass test, they wld call u up in 3-weeks. if not, u wld receive a letter. if u get nothing, call them. if u pass, most probably u wld la, they will schedule u for an interview date before the pilot selection board. during the interview they wld ask you random questions. wad they are looking for is ppl who can adapt to military life, face shit, mentally sound and haf leadership qualities. they wld most definitely zero in on some screw ups in ur life ranging from school to yfc, and see how u answer. cope wif the things they throw at u. be courteous and patient. they can be very very nasty and mean and say things abt u which isn't true. juz be honest, polite and cool-headed. btw, do research on the rsaf intensively. if u pass the interview, you'd be given a civil service personnel form to fill in, a surety form for ur guarantors and u'd be given a date for ur aeromedical. aeromedical part is straightforward. results wld be out on an avg of 3 mths. and when u've passed that, you've cleared the selection phase. when u go in bmt, u'd haf to qualify for ocs on ur own merits. and after that u'd be called down to mindef to sign your trainee contract. you'd report to AFS when the posting orders are out. training will thence commence. yup. i hope i've given u the info u needed dude. if this is your dream...go for it. don't live life regretting having not giving wad u want a shot. all the best. =)
about the aeromedical, your biodata wld be taken, x-ray, blood, urine, eyesight, ears, nose etc. very standard stuff. its pretty much like the yfc and the cmpb test. only thing is...they are very strict. strict meaning, its harder to clear a station. yup. on the day of ur aeromedical, do not go if you are feeling unwell or you haf a block nose. read the instructions carefully when you are there. bring along your glasses, dun wear contacts, drink plenty of water.
impossible for you to join SIA after a 5 year bond. pilots bonds are 10 years, and not inclusive of flight school i think.. so by the time they usually leave to join SIA, they're 30+..
thanks alot for your reply bro. can i ask u a qns? are u a pilot? anyway, lets say if i managed to pass the tests and when i fail to qualify for OCS during BMT, what will they do to me? Do i have to compensate them or will they post me to other posts? I'm afraid that i will fail the interview because my friends say they are very strict on it plus i dont think i have leadership skills. I have no interest in the incentives or scholarship but i just want to pass everything and be a pilot for RSAF. If i sign on, chances will be higher that i will get in instead of after serving BMT if i dont sign on right?
if you pass their test and interview, you will definitely go OCS after your bmt.
what i mean is, what will happen if i fail during OCS, what will happen to me? will they post me to somewhere else or demands compensation from me? thanks alot bro for your replies!
but one thing i'm not really sure of, what do they ask actually in COMPASS test cause my friends say the test may be like they ask you to remember 10 numbers followed by asking random questions. After they finish their questions they will test if u remember the 10 numbers. My friend had many smart friends who went for the tests or interview. But none of them managed to qualify.
Originally posted by cy27:what i mean is, what will happen if i fail during OCS, what will happen to me? will they post me to somewhere else or demands compensation from me? thanks alot bro for your replies!
but one thing i'm not really sure of, what do they ask actually in COMPASS test cause my friends say the test may be like they ask you to remember 10 numbers followed by asking random questions. After they finish their questions they will test if u remember the 10 numbers. My friend had many smart friends who went for the tests or interview. But none of them managed to qualify.
u wun fail in ocs...u will only fail in basic wing or airgrading. lol! anyway abt the compensation, no...in no way wld u be held liable to compensate UNLESS you choose to break bond and leave the pilot training course. basic thing is...u cant choose to leave, but they can tell u to leave...aka kick you out. will they post u? well it depends wad was ur previous unit. if you are already commissioned, you wld serve ur ns in rsaf. shld u be kicked out of pilot training, your bond is over. so you are free to sign on as sth else, or simply serve ur ns finish. pilot training is day for day with NS. so if you train as a pilot for 2 yrs den u get kicked out, den you dun haf to serve liao, u can juz go uni. and abt the compass test, i dun rmb such games leh. its not really IQ la. IQ got, but its more of common sense plus psychomotor skills. hey, smart ppl may haf no common sense or body coordination right? so yeah...just becuz they are smart doesn't mean they will pass that test. as for interview, i told u liao...just be damn honest. if u suddenly interested to be a pilot, juz tell them the truth and tell them why. wad they want is leadership qualities and that includes honesty. well, like wad stellazio said (i'm not sure if true)...if u clear pilot selection u automatically go ocs. so if they wanna look for leadership, it gotta be the interview already. they dunnid die-hard, obsessive aviation loving, plane hugging people to join the rsaf. they want ppl who can take hardship, learn with humility, haf determination and are potential leaders.
btw u need to be at least 26 to apply for SIA. yup...the whole point is to encourage ppl to join the rsaf.