Originally posted by Gun:All I read from your rants are me, me and me.
Yes, your life matters over everything.
I pity you.
I didn't even use one "me" in the OP. Moreover, it's already been mentioned, repeating doesn't really do anything.
I'm in a tied up position here. Someone criticises me, and when I respond to that, shouldn't I use "me"? It's clear I'm questioning something I have no thorough knowledge about, but talking about something as trivial as word choice has left me thinking if I'm really talking to people older than me, or just really stuck up.
Purpledragon, the goldmine is trading gold for your stuff, and although the goldmine is unguarded, it has large allies that could pound your base. I wouldn't whack such a goldmine.
Anyway, this thing is inevitable as a Singapore citizen. Guess it pays to be born in a safezone.
Originally posted by Paradogs:I didn't even use one "me" in the OP. Moreover, it's already been mentioned, repeating doesn't really do anything.
I'm in a tied up position here. Someone criticises me, and when I respond to that, shouldn't I use "me"? It's clear I'm questioning something I have no thorough knowledge about, but talking about something as trivial as word choice has left me thinking if I'm really talking to people older than me, or just really stuck up.
Purpledragon, the goldmine is trading gold for your stuff, and although the goldmine is unguarded, it has large allies that could pound your base. I wouldn't whack such a goldmine.
Anyway, this thing is inevitable as a Singapore citizen. Guess it pays to be born in a safezone.
if it's something you have no thorough knowledge about, then where did you get the assumption that we're not defensible ? ....
again .... would you defend your home, your loved ones ? .... maybe your wife ? ... maybe you should migrate to france .... you do have the right sort of psyche for that society ...
Originally posted by Fatum:... maybe you should migrate to france .... you do have the right sort of psyche for that society ...
ah..the infamous surrender monkeys with a long and uninterrupted history of getting their asses whupped. reminds me of the joke:
For sale: FAMAS assault rifle. Dropped once, never fired.
There are always risk involved in everything we do. Walk along the streets, we risk getting bang down by a car; cross a bridge, it might collapse, etc.
NS is definitely not an unnessary thing. Those who served it will remember their buddies and all the tough (and happy) times together. NS is definitely not a brainwash thing. The sense of common good and righteousness is always better because we are somehow inter-dependent on one another. Self-centredness will only lead to extinction.
Look at it this way: this is your home. This is where the foundation of your memories and love are built. This place is where your families and friends are. If you don't defend it, who will?
No one wish for a war of course, but should a war be fought here, I say we will lose if we have a weak mental and attitude.
It's easy to be a quitter. But are you always going to quit without giving it a try?
Just my 2cents worth.
Let's say a person has an average life-span of 80 years.
Tell that to MC King.
Sigh, the stupidity of some people.
Criticizing the French when you yourselves are already so beh kan?
Give a woman a choice between a French 'surrender monkey' and a behkan Singaporean NSman. Guess who she'll choose.
Sheesh.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:Tell that to MC King.
Also tell that to the person who came up with the annuity scheme
Originally posted by rooki:Sigh, the stupidity of some people.
Criticizing the French when you yourselves are already so beh kan?
Give a woman a choice between a French 'surrender monkey' and a behkan Singaporean NSman. Guess who she'll choose.
Sheesh.
how did you know I beh kan ? ...
have I farked you before ? ....
NS is nightmare....but also fun. I enjoy the experience!
Originally posted by Fatum:how did you know I beh kan ? ...
have I farked you before ? ....
Don't you remember me as the Malaysian bitch who went against all NSmen?
Originally posted by rooki:Don't you remember me as the Malaysian bitch who went against all NSmen?
no ... I remember you as a clone ....
but of course ... if your benchmark is Malaysia's "NS" "men" .... it's understandable ......
Paradog, have you heard or read about rape of Nanking?
If Singapore do not have NS, what happen when enemy capture Singapore. Your life are at mercy of enemy hand.
hey come on ts , i am entering ns in september , and i am totally positive about it. what are u whinning about? still got 1 year then go ns. ENJOY YOUR LIFE first lah. i am loyal to my country and will do my best for the country. Even in training. so that i gain ppl respect and finish my 2 yrs of service. i also will take pride in my training. not like u saying whats the use of ns , without nsmen , you already kenna bomb dunno until where liao. jsut becos we got a big armed forces , other country dun dare to invade us. think lah asshole.
Originally posted by Resentment:hey come on ts , i am entering ns in september , and i am totally positive about it. what are u whinning about? still got 1 year then go ns. ENJOY YOUR LIFE first lah. i am loyal to my country and will do my best for the country. Even in training. so that i gain ppl respect and finish my 2 yrs of service. i also will take pride in my training. not like u saying whats the use of ns , without nsmen , you already kenna bomb dunno until where liao. jsut becos we got a big armed forces , other country dun dare to invade us. think lah asshole.
Yeah. We have a big armed forces.
We have a huge gap up there.
Originally posted by Fatum:no ... I remember you as a clone ....
but of course ... if your benchmark is Malaysia's "NS" "men" .... it's understandable ......
Oh please, you really think I like Malaysians?
I despise all those who'd rather dispense with their individuality to serve the government rather than fight for their rights, Malaysian, Singaporean or otherwise.
Worse still if the government treats them like the dirt they're supposed to be. Then it becomes pitiful.
I despise all those who'd rather dispense with their individuality to serve the government
NS is dispense with their individuality?
Why? Very strange idea.
But hey, TALKINGCOCK kena HACKED!
I think it is very unfair to call the TS humiliating names. This only reflect the character of the person who insult others to get the message across.
TS. I've served 6 years in the SAF as a regular and have been doing well. But I did not stay despite repeated offers because I realised one important aspect of our lives.
'It does not make any sense to protect a country who will not protect you'. Alternatively, 'It does not make any sense to serve a master who will not take care of you.' 'It does not make any sense to keep an agreement with someone who will not keep his agreement with you.'
Over the years I realised that the SAF practices dirty politics and the operational management feel that they are entitled to do it. And it is a great risk to stay employed by someone whom you know do not honour promises. I weighed the entire situation with all aspects and decided to leave the army. I am doing much better in the private sector now.
But in times of war, I will still go back to serve the unit which I am already attached to. This is because I have friends still in the SAF who're doing their part to protect me with their skills and lives. Not for the sake of blind obedience to our leaders but for the lives of my brethrens fighting for me. And therefore I will support them by giving them the best maintained vehicles to the best of my capabilities. (I was a mechanic)
And on the contrary, this is only applicable if we are not the aggressors. If our leaders want us to start a war to attack and kill our neighbours, I will never abide by that and AWOL if necessary.
Know what is right and do what is right. Even though the consequences are not going to do you good.
But first, I advise you to go throught the NS whereby you will make a lot of new friends and make the best of the 2 years and acquire the skill you are designated to perform which will come in handy when you are called up to fight for the brethrens who are protecting you.
Originally posted by rooki:Oh please, you really think I like Malaysians?
I despise all those who'd rather dispense with their individuality to serve the government rather than fight for their rights, Malaysian, Singaporean or otherwise.
Worse still if the government treats them like the dirt they're supposed to be. Then it becomes pitiful.
I think you need to differentiate between the government and the country
You are serving the country by doing NS and not the government.
SAF aims to be like a bee; the sting hurts you real bad, but the bee dies. It makes one think twice before disturbing
I gg to serve in about 2wks. Though the possibility of me being injured/maimed or die is real,I'll still do it. I know many say that my perception of the SAF will change when I'm inside, but I vow to myself, I'm not doing this for the ruling party, I'm doing this for my fellow citizens. The very citizens whom have provided me,my family,extended family and friends with subsidized housing, education and a relatively peaceful and secure environment to grow up in. They paid for it through their taxes, and it is my responsibility to stand on the fence, with a rifle and look fierce to deter any punks whom try to stirr up trouble.
This is my country, my home, my past, present and the future. I fight for its freedom as it will be for myself. NS is about sweating a gallon to ensure u don't bleed a pint. Thats a fair trade off to ensure the domestic and regional security and stability. And though I'm sure there are many more people like TS whom resent and think its ultimately stupid, I'll still stand on the fence to ensure you have the privilege to enjoy your night's rest andwake up to post such postings.Because I believe it is my duty...I BELIEVE
Originally posted by rooki:Oh please, you really think I like Malaysians?
oh, but we are really training to fight for what's ours, really ... to defend ourselves and our loved ones ....
of course, up there, it's an alien concept ... that's why certain groups of you chaps have always been farked over by a marginally larger group ... cos one group learnt to stick together, and the other two didn't ... who preferred profits and individual gains to the betterment of the larger group ... that's why you guys are getting shit right now ...
it's precisely the "me" in you guys that got you where you are now ....
neways, if you like surrender monkeys, by all means ...
NS simple logic lah.
Got territory must protect or else others take you for granted and attack.
Like USA attack Iraq.
Small small population no choice must conscript.
Big big population like Indonesia don't need conscript.
I think SAF needs to do more propaganda work to brainwash people like TS.
nonsense. TS has no idea about the politics and wayang that involves the military.
even his bro who is serving NS also doesn't see the picture.
Originally posted by Poh Ah Pak:NS simple logic lah.
Got territory must protect or else others take you for granted and attack.
Like USA attack Iraq.
Small small population no choice must conscript.
Big big population like Indonesia don't need conscript.
I think SAF needs to do more propaganda work to brainwash people like TS.
Propaganda works on what I'm not and what you are.
Originally posted by kopiosatu:nonsense. TS has no idea about the politics and wayang that involves the military.
even his bro who is serving NS also doesn't see the picture.
What? The only time I mentioned my brother was his incident and nothing else. You linking that up with the TS aggression atmosphere is amazing.
Propaganda works on what I'm not and what you are.
Forgive me, but I don't really take the views of someone who haven't served NS seriously.
Sorri hor.