I am curious. They are like one freaking uncommon vocation. Can someone introduce it to me?
And how do they find ppl to sign on for them? Like get selected for ocs can just take LSA and go army intelligence?
If you think you got what it takes to be a good Intelligence Officer (IO) , den go ahead go to CMPB lor..
... There is zero info outside on the net about them... I wan info...
have you ever thought why is there zero info?
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:have you ever thought why is there zero info?
SAF Intelligence Corps: http://www.mindef.gov.sg/joint/io/
For NSFs, u may get selected to go into the 1st Military Intelligence Battalion (1MI), formed recently....
Source:
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/careers/job_opportunities.html
PS: some person ar.... never use brain n his heart to search for declassified public information available
1st Military Intelligence Battalion (1MI):
More info:
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/news/2005/September/28sep05_news.html
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/news/2006/July/31jul06_news.html
http://armedforces.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/155557
New SAF unit brings reconnaissance to new level
By Dominique Loh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 13 December 2005 2049 hrs
SINGAPORE : A new unit in the SAF has been exploring new frontiers in technology.
The 1st Military Intelligence Battalion, which was inaugurated two months ago, is also bringing reconnaissance capabilities to a whole new level -- all part of the SAF's 3G transformation.
A soldier's rifle isn't the only weapon he brings to the battlefield anymore; today, he is also armed with a digital camera and laptop, turning the art of reconnaissance into a science.
Employing unmanned ground surveillance equipment, the SAF can safely detect enemy movement from far away, greatly improving a soldier's survivability.
Said Lt Col Arthur Kuan, Commanding Officer, 1st Military Intelligence Battalion, "Current reality for intelligence is that we still have scouts and recce troopers, using binoculars and exposing themselves to danger just to report on the enemy. The Military Intelligence Battalion is in charge of experimenting with new sensors; some of these exploit unmanned technologies and new imaging technologies to help us do more with less."
Pictures of the enemy can be sent back to the headquarters where commanders can then assess the situation.
"Live" video can also be fed back from remote positions.
Images can even be collected day or night, and enemy targets spotted using unmanned aerial vehicles.
Said 3SGT Cheng Wei Han, Reconnaissance Specialist, 1st Military Intelligence Battalion, "There is an element of excitement in dealing with this type of technology. We are at the vanguard of the tech in the SAF; whatever new sensors, new so-called toys the engineers develop, we experiment on them and give them feedback, improve upon them."
The combination of all this equipment means giving the SAF better information management in the battlefield.
Instead of just relying on voice information, there is now visual confirmation, helping commanders make better decisions with accurate information. - CNA /ct
SAF Intelligence Corps and Military Intelligence are two different things.
MI includes what formerly was the role of scouts and brigade recce, and is under the newly formed Combat Intelligence Group, those of you with 2007's issues of Pioneer will know.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/news/2006/November/17nov06_news.html
Intel Corps is an officer-only vocation. They deal more with strategic analysis and intel, from what is known in the public domain.
it's in plc right their vocation badge style sia one globe like that
If you are daring,it would be good if you could volunteer to spy inside this vocation
hmm i got a fren whos a SSG there..quite young staff le, 24 only. wonder is it cos of vocation??
Originally posted by fatone:hmm i got a fren whos a SSG there..quite young staff le, 24 only. wonder is it cos of vocation??
SSG eh.. what's his/her name?
In the intelligence field, you can only sign up as a regular as an officer, ie. "Intelligence Officer". You'll be interviewed to determine if you're suitable for the job.
But don't be too imaginative, you won't be a spy or Mi-6. Its mostly analytical work, other vocations/tasks are all classified and can't be discussed here.
There're specialists and warrant officers in intelligence departments as well, such as in MINDEF G2, all the respective G2s and JID (Joint Intelligence Directorate).
These are experienced intelligence specialists and warrants, transferred from other units or posted there after completing their courses in the School of Military Intelligence.
Someone mentioned the people in PLC with the globe voc badge, those are people from SMI - a training school.
During the NS selection, they purposely choose those who have speeach disabilities so they cannot talk!
Actually, during BMTC time, they already come recruit people into their unit.
I was tempted and went for the interview and got selected.
But due to some personal reasons, I rejected them. and months later, they still called my unit to talk to me over the phone to see if I'm interested or not.
What is the colour of the beret used by military intel?
Originally posted by cyberr1981:Actually, during BMTC time, they already come recruit people into their unit.
I was tempted and went for the interview and got selected.
But due to some personal reasons, I rejected them. and months later, they still called my unit to talk to me over the phone to see if I'm interested or not.
You went for the interview by that 3 crab guy oso ar? Haha...but its a little crazy for them to ask you to sign on for 20+ years without even telling you wat your job scope is like...
Anyway...1st Military Intelligence Battalion do recon stuff...like out in the field
SAF Intelligence Corps do other things...which i'm not sure if i can say here...but it's really kinda like spying...
Originally posted by will4:What is the colour of the beret used by military intel?
beret? MI dun even wear uniform, wear bermuda and singlet, sit with the taxi drivers in the coffeeshop, meet their source.. sometimes their sources also come from the beer ladies...
Originally posted by dragoncloud:
You went for the interview by that 3 crab guy oso ar? Haha...but its a little crazy for them to ask you to sign on for 20+ years without even telling you wat your job scope is like...Anyway...1st Military Intelligence Battalion do recon stuff...like out in the field
SAF Intelligence Corps do other things...which i'm not sure if i can say here...but it's really kinda like spying...
Since when anything in Intel Corps can say come out one? lol..
Do de-mystify intelligence...
Military intelligence pple's vocation follows the formation that they're in.
ie. if they're posted to armour in their OCS pro-term, they're vocationalised as armour officers, and etc. and they will wear that vocations' beret.
Likewise, there can be combat-engineer vocation officers, serving as intelligence officers, etc.
Intelligence training takes place after completion of vocation training.
Anyway, its nothing scary to sign on as IO or IS, you won't get to be sent out as spies or whatever, its just that the scope of duties are so wide, they can't even finish telling you.
You'll be trained to cover majority of the duties, and your exact job depends on where they post you, but primarily analysis based and assisting with administration for analysis.
For 1MI, since they are primarily infantry based, you guessed it, they all wear green berets.
1MI's operational role and capability is classified, just like every other combat unit.
What is known to the public and allowed to be repeated here is that they do experimentations for different technologies and equipment, relating to collection and reconnaissance.
They are primarily infantry based, but have other capabilities.
Originally posted by specialOps:Do de-mystify intelligence...
Military intelligence pple's vocation follows the formation that they're in.
ie. if they're posted to armour in their OCS pro-term, they're vocationalised as armour officers, and etc. and they will wear that vocations' beret.
Likewise, there can be combat-engineer vocation officers, serving as intelligence officers, etc.
Intelligence training takes place after completion of vocation training.
Anyway, its nothing scary to sign on as IO or IS, you won't get to be sent out as spies or whatever, its just that the scope of duties are so wide, they can't even finish telling you.
You'll be trained to cover majority of the duties, and your exact job depends on where they post you, but primarily analysis based and assisting with administration for analysis.
For 1MI, since they are primarily infantry based, you guessed it, they all wear green berets.
1MI's operational role and capability is classified, just like every other combat unit.
What is known to the public and allowed to be repeated here is that they do experimentations for different technologies and equipment, relating to collection and reconnaissance.
They are primarily infantry based, but have other capabilities.
specialOps u r a IO?
as the classic saying: if i tell you, i have to kill you.
No la....I'm a nothing.
Let's just say that we have diplomats in the Foreign Service, and there's also defence diplomacy.
MINDEF doesn't run on Google alone lor.
"The Intelligence Corps
The
Intelligence Corps is a vital element within the SAF, entrusted with
the responsibility of collecting and analysing real time information
and helps in the sacred task of preserving the security of Singapore"
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/joint/io/motto.asp
The above basically sums up everything, analysis, research into areas affecting our defence and strategic interests and whatnot..
Heh, Intelligence Specialist course aka Gentlemen's course because practically got no outfield. Sit back and relax and wait for 3SG rank to roll in. Exclusive to OOC Corporals only. =D
1 MI Bn damn slack. when i was still a nsf, whenever i go to PLC for work, always see my fren playing basketball and have nv seen him in no.4. he's a trainer there teaching all those BRC ppl.