Originally posted by ManOne:It must be KAF then. It looks like a repatriation ceremony.
They have an Ice Rink, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Laundry, Massage palor, etc at KAF!
It's the same for most Coalition bases.
Not really. Camp Bastion is really spartan. The various FOBs are worse. What I am trying to say is there are worse places to be posted to in Afghanistan.
KAF is run by the RAF so you know it is going to be very civilized.
New SAF digital desert pattern uniform on the left....looks better than the jungle pattern ones.
got my jokey cao today XD
(Mod's note : Fixed images for you)
IMHO using differnt angles from my desk lamp , the new camo is quite light sensitive , changing color depth with different amounts of light.
in the first photo, . it appears extremely bright green.
2nd photo it dilthers down to nearly all brown ala MARPAT.
wether it is good or not , i will do experiments on the next few days (if im free ) on the grass patches , ie ERDL (SG TW and US) VS SGPAT :s22:
my reservist unit is the first reservist unit who get the new uniform. Just completed my 7yr High Key ICT last week. Given out the new uniform on last day. and weird that there are many people who is going to MR this time round (last ICT), also GOT the new Uniform + Cap. really waste of money only.. also, no stock available for those bigger size guys..
the camo cover for the helmet look like ninja turtle.. real ugly..
I saw a recruit wearing that some weeks ago at katong who probably was about to book in. Goodness, I hope i'm not getting it during reservist anytime soon.
3G SAF indeed.
GREEN, GLOWING, GROTESQUE =x
Originally posted by ManOne:Not really. Camp Bastion is really spartan. The various FOBs are worse. What I am trying to say is there are worse places to be posted to in Afghanistan.
KAF is run by the RAF so you know it is going to be very civilized.
I see. That's something new, because I've only read up on MNF Iraq FOBs.. and all those tales of well-fed FOBbits.
I guess the Afghan theater is less cushy in that sense, right?
Originally posted by Don©:I saw a recruit wearing that some weeks ago at katong who probably was about to book in. Goodness, I hope i'm not getting it during reservist anytime soon.
3G SAF indeed.
GREEN, GLOWING, GROTESQUE =x
It may look weird, ugly and bright.. but it is a very effective camouflage.Better then the old NO.4 which is uneffective and soaks up sweat!
Originally posted by lemon1974:my reservist unit is the first reservist unit who get the new uniform. Just completed my 7yr High Key ICT last week. Given out the new uniform on last day. and weird that there are many people who is going to MR this time round (last ICT), also GOT the new Uniform + Cap. really waste of money only.. also, no stock available for those bigger size guys..
the camo cover for the helmet look like ninja turtle.. real ugly..
How come???? They told us only those who had done 3 or less ICT are issued the mashed vegie marpat!
Originally posted by Ponders:What's the point them showing us a white picture with no solidiers in it? Can't seem to see them.
How come the shoes are not marpat?!
Anyone seen any e-mart selling the new digital uniform?
hv anyone posted this?
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/mindef_websites/atozlistings/army/army_news/Download_Our_Issues/Issues_2008.html
Army News Aug/Sep 2008
Issue 157 |
Although it looks bright and all, pple complaining that it looks ugly, but trust me, it is freaking effective in day time camo even at a close range of 50m.
There are many strong reasons why SAF make such drastic change to its uniform, and it is definitely a huge progress from the previous no.4.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/mindef_websites/atozlistings/army/army_news/Download_Our_Issues/Issues_2008.html
Are there ''stealth'' night sight feature in USA new ditgital uniform?
read below
@@@@@@@@@@
This company claimed SG is one of the customers..
''We have worked with or been asked to supply patterns for 29 different countries; Government, Military or Police''
''HyperStealth Simulation on Canadian CF-18 (March 2006) Digital Thunder
Disruption Pattern
(click to view full)''
''Underside of Canadian CF-35 version with false canopy simulated in
March 2006 with the HyperStealth
Digital Thunder pattern (Also simulated)
(click to view full)''
''Slovakian Mig-29 (late 2007) in HyperStealth Digital Thunder - This is not a simulation (click to view full)''
http://www.hyperstealth.com/Mig29/cloudcam.html
http://www.hyperstealth.com/hyperstealthfacts.html
@@@@@@@@@@@@@@
turning to USA new similiar uniform.
It has not been mentioned the ''stealth '' feature for nite sight!!
So,SAF guys shall be happy that they get better protection than Yankees!!
Just read my posting 4 inch above this post!!
http://www4.army.mil/ocpa/read.php?story_id_key=6042
This is official info.
''Uniform changes include:
1. Mandarin collar that can be worn up or down
2. Rank insignia centered on the front of the blouse
3. Velcro for wearing unit patch, skill tabs and recognition devices
4. Zippered front closure
5. Elbow pouch for internal elbow pad inserts
6. Knee pouch for internal knee pad inserts
7. Draw string leg cuff
8. Tilted chest pockets with Velcro closure
9. Three-slot pen pocket on bottom of sleeve
10. Velcro sleeve cuff closure
11. Shoulder pockets with Velcro
12. Forward tilted cargo pockets
13. Integrated blouse bellows for increased upper body mobility
14. Integrated Friend or Foe Identification Square on both left and right shoulder pocket flap.
15. Bellowed calf storage pocket on left and right leg
16. Moisture-wicking desert tan t-shirt
17. Patrol Cap with double thick bill and internal pocket
18. Improved hot-weather desert boot or temperate-weather desert boot
19. Two-inch, black nylon web belt
20. Moisture-wicking socks'''----EOQ
http://www4.army.mil/ocpa/read.php?story_id_key=6042
@@@@@@@@@@@
So,i can say US new uniform dunt come with the SAF feature.
Of course,u can say Yankees keep this feature as a TOP SECRET!!
PL tell me if USA Army new stuff come with this SAF feature:
''Additionally,the (lion note --NEW SINGAPORE SAF)uniform is chemically treated with special dyes to ensure that it still generates a pixelised pattern in the near
infra-red spectrum. This reduces detection through near infrared
based devices like Night Vision Goggles, allowing our forces
to operate stealthily at night.''--SAF Army News Aug 2008,last page
Issue 157 |
http://www.slate.com/id/2106359/fr/rss/
http://www.defensereview.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=506
infra ID for Fren and Foe ID--interesting!!SG shall learn this!
http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/images/GEAR_US_Army_Combat_Uniform_w_Descriptions_lg.gif
Anyone selling new digital IBA vest? Please PM me and let me know your asking price.
im urgently needing a set of saf new digital no.4!!
size
Shirt : M
Pants : 33"
anyone has lobang ?? tried for a month to NO avail, sibei sian.
tried her, tried army market, chevrons, forums, no avail.
alternatively, can just sell me ONE or two 33" pants, im willing to offer good price for it
ps, wht new no.4 so hard to get ar?
They dont even have enough to supply the active guys and you want to buy one? Its either sign on or wait to be issued with one.
Originally posted by Man!x:
New SAF digital desert pattern uniform on the left....looks better than the jungle pattern ones.
I don't think it's desert. Should be urban.
Originally posted by Man!x:They dont even have enough to supply the active guys and you want to buy one? Its either sign on or wait to be issued with one.
Im not local , both options unavaliable.
how you get your jockey cap then?
Originally posted by Man!x:how you get your jockey cap then?
chevrons? ironic isnt it? they DO sell caps there...= =
prefer the old one though
lol at least the uniform keeps you alive