Originally posted by Rednano:
SG got what desert?
i only got see some MAJ/LTC on pre-deploy training to overseas mission to Afgan/Iraq got wear... saw during nsf time...
those boots machiam like the Timberland quality and looks type...
yeah i know, it just looks better with desert boots then black boots.. the enlisted/spec rank appears to be smaller..the officer/wo rank hard to see...more reason not to greet them..heheheh. anyway the new vest appears to be a plate carrier system. definitely hotter to use than lbv/sbo
Singapore Armed Forces to introduce new combat uniform in 2009
By Lynda Hong, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 03 September 2008 0238 hrs
SINGAPORE: Singapore's men in green will be seeing a new combat uniform from next year.
Some 300,000 servicemen will eventually be wearing the new SAF combat uniform with high-tech pixelised patterns on it. The patterns replace the large green patches on the old outfit.
The new material maintains the camouflage effect even when viewed through night vision devices.
It is also designed to be used in war zones that extend beyond the jungle.
Colonel Tan Chor Kiat, Chief of Staff, HQ 9 Division, Infantry, Singapore Armed Forces, said: "When you talk about urban terrain, you are really looking at a very unique characteristic where the opposing forces can co-exist within the same urban terrain in a very volatile system.
"Consequently, the soldiers are going to get shot at a lot more often, and at a much shorter distance."
According to the SAF, the new uniform increases detection time by 30 to 50 percent in the urban environment, making it harder for enemies to find their targets.
It is also made from better quality fabric, which helps dissipate sweat and heat away from the body quicker, and comes with ergonomic features such as extra padding and pockets.
It will be introduced to all servicemen over a three-year period starting from 2009.
The first to receive the new uniforms will be recruits from the January Basic Military Training intake, as well as active personnel and NSmen in their sixth and seventh In-Camp Training years, while the rest will get theirs in 2010 and 2011.
NSmen currently in their seventh to ninth years, however, will not receive the new uniform.
SAF said this phased approach takes into consideration the wear and tear of servicemen's existing uniforms. - CNA/de
the camo is really good.. but the nametag and singapore tag still stands out too much..
Originally posted by stellazio:the camo is really good.. but the nametag and singapore tag still stands out too much..
so how ? revert back to the camo nametag days?
see what a waste of public taxpayers money...
but the tags and badges is no good ~~
want to change,standardize the uniform lah !!
Originally posted by gaoxingdcf07:but the tags and badges is no good ~~
want to change,standardize the uniform lah !!
the officer rank sew on chest front there very funny leh...
cos i remembered gurkhas also put the lcp/cpl rank on the front of the chest pocket...
can see what rank meh.... major...
for NSmen reservist:
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/publications/cyberpioneer/news/2008/September/03sep08_news.html
Originally posted by Rednano:
the officer rank sew on chest front there very funny leh...
cos i remembered gurkhas also put the lcp/cpl rank on the front of the chest pocket...
if officer put rank, specs also muz put infront also--- standardize
then the name and country tag,change to digital camo
then also change the badges to digital camo~~
or else 2 tones very funny...
Originally posted by gaoxingdcf07:if officer put rank, specs also muz put infront also--- standardize
then the name and country tag,change to digital camo
then also change the badges to digital camo~~
or else 2 tones very funny...
You may call the MFU hotline (1800-760 8844). You may also send us a fax (our fax number is 67646119) or an email at [email protected].
if they make the goretex jacket digital too it'll be damn shuai
Originally posted by newcomer:if they make the goretex jacket digital too it'll be damn shuai
maybe they already have..? Considering that the picture shown in AsiaOne's gallery is a plater carrier system, i wonder if they have developed a digicamo LBV..
if they've already done so, wouldnt it be a waste of money considering it hasnt been too long ago that they came up with the LBV system..? what would happen to all the surplus of the current LBV..?
yup, they will deduct your credits for one set, but you'll get three sets. so it's 3 for the price of one
Originally posted by Onepax:yup, they will deduct your credits for one set, but you'll get three sets. so it's 3 for the price of one
NSman reservists here...
what if i spent all my credits 1st?
will go into a negative (-) credit ?
Originally posted by Master -_-:
You may call the MFU hotline (1800-760 8844). You may also send us a fax (our fax number is 67646119) or an email at [email protected].
email them,will they take our suggestions into consideration ??
Originally posted by superlibra:
maybe they already have..? Considering that the picture shown in AsiaOne's gallery is a plater carrier system, i wonder if they have developed a digicamo LBV..if they've already done so, wouldnt it be a waste of money considering it hasnt been too long ago that they came up with the LBV system..? what would happen to all the surplus of the current LBV..?
AFAIK, there are no stockpiles of LBVs-- the spiral development system also means that there will be no build up of equipment, just constant improvements and issue. What I have seen so far seems to support the theory-- in the past 2 years in the Army, I have seen 3 major changes and many minor changes in the issued LBV-- I would guess that each production batch is different.
Of course, this also means that "uniformity" is a thing of the past :P
Originally posted by gaoxingdcf07:email them,will they take our suggestions into consideration ??
No...
so suggest also no use wan mah ~~
but ish really prominent 2 tones ~~
Originally posted by gaoxingdcf07:so suggest also no use wan mah ~~
but ish really prominent 2 tones ~~
Outfield, the LBV would cover the chest area anyway so it wouldn't matter. In camp, or in civilian areas, or where ever, you want the name tag, country tag, to stand out so that people will be able to recognise who you are and where you come from. So the two-tone solution seems to be best, doesn't it?
Photos of the SAF urban operations training: CLICK HERE. hope the kids of tomorrow got strong spine & back cause all those stuff look quite heavy and cumbersome...
i tink i was quite lucky to be chosen to be 1 of the 1st in saf to try the uniforms (3sir) somemore wid the full set,including bpv all tat wid the pixiel camo.its quite gd the new uniform,sweat dry much faster compare to the old uniform tat stinks like mad after outfield.and the new camo design really works,we tried putting someone around 30m away in thick vegetation and we totally cannot see him but the old uniform we can spot easily.althou the design quite ugly but i tink the new 1 is gd
waste money again...