People, enough with the mindless criticism-- if you think that there is a way to improve, make the effort to say it! Rather than just posting two words. Previously, I also thought that the new uniform would be a waste of effort, time and money-- but after seeing how much more effective it was in the jungle setting, I changed my mind.
Anyway, Vitasoys-- did you guys get issued the field pack and assault pack in digital pattern also? Also, what is the quality of the BPV and pouches as compared to the LBV that you guys got previously? Can pm me if you dun wanna announce the answers
heya eurofighter~fellow scorpions lol
the bpv much better than the old 1 but the thing tat stick it together sux.always fall off...but overall beside the weight,still nt bad..
Originally posted by Chunseah:waste money again...
It's money that should have been spent a long time ago.. sometimes, the grunts need to be invested upon as well.
the new IBA is still not bad...at least you can attach a hydration system easily, not like the old BPV. But it would be much better if the pouches were of the same style as the Force21 LBV ie. with a button clip at the end of the MOLLE straps..
Hellraiza: I thought that there were issues with the button rusting, which is why they went to the new strap system? Having tried both I prefer the strap system myself, which is much lower maintenance, although I would prefer the plastic clip fastener in front rather than velcro, which is so noisy.
What about those for reservist with no unit? I wonder if they going to b given the uniform or need to wait for posting to unit?
Originally posted by will4:What about those for reservist with no unit? I wonder if they going to b given the uniform or need to wait for posting to unit?
Originally posted by edwin3060:Hellraiza: I thought that there were issues with the button rusting, which is why they went to the new strap system? Having tried both I prefer the strap system myself, which is much lower maintenance, although I would prefer the plastic clip fastener in front rather than velcro, which is so noisy.
Erm...i don't know man. All the button clips on my LBV are in as a good a state as the day i was issued it. And ditto about the pincer clips man...
Oh and btw i am NOT from 3 SIR so to the "scorpions" here, please stop pm-ing me and asking which company i'm from. Thanks. LOL.
Originally posted by Hellraiza:the new IBA is still not bad...at least you can attach a hydration system easily, not like the old BPV. But it would be much better if the pouches were of the same style as the Force21 LBV ie. with a button clip at the end of the MOLLE straps..
will the front and back armour plate be issued in training now? got new NVG mount also.. die man..
Originally posted by Man!x:will the front and back armour plate be issued in training now? got new NVG mount also.. die man..
Erm. Honestly can't answer your question. We personally have been training with BA for a coupla years already.
As for NVG...can't say anything much lah. Even though it might be open secret or whatever.
worn the BA once for a live excursion in tekong in 04'. worn with sbo extended like obese guys. i sweat like a pig man... dunno how some units run SOC with it.
Originally posted by Man!x:worn the BA once for a live excursion in tekong in 04'. worn with sbo extended like obese guys. i sweat like a pig man... dunno how some units run SOC with it.
with Alert Red FBO, u cannot even aim thru the scope of ur SAR21 at standing position.
sorry dunno if it's been asked...
1) Goretex jacket also gonna change pattern?
2) what's the unit that conducted the exercise highlighted in the report in the previous page? The soldiers wore Guards formation patch, but i can't spot the Guards tab....ADF maybe???
3) Now Guards do urban ops too?
everybody also do urban ops. it is always been part of the training. but the SME is not Guards.
If the SAF says 3 SIR is the UO pros...then let them be the UO pros. As for developing the drills, it's definitely not them. I'm praying for the day that we can be the OPFOR for their ATEC.
i guess 3 SIR got the gucci kit like the foldable ladders, the magic 8 ball like camera and some other shite....but end of the day their men are still NSF and are less motivated compared to you guys who serve together for some time. so your drills definitely more kilat. anyway the doctrine still remains that the defender of an urban area have the advantage over the attacker. but it still can either way.
Originally posted by Man!x:i guess 3 SIR got the gucci kit like the foldable ladders, the magic 8 ball like camera and some other shite....but end of the day their men are still NSF and are less motivated compared to you guys who serve together for some time. so your drills definitely more kilat. anyway the doctrine still remains that the defender of an urban area have the advantage over the attacker. but it still can either way.
6 SIR is protector of Jurong Island, right?
i got qns over the new uniform~~~
we move the ranks from the shoulder to the chest
but if SAF go for UN or humantarian mission
how are they going to put on the Singapore Tag(the one similar to Ranger tab but it is written Singapore) and Flag without the empulatte???
Originally posted by Hellraiza:If the SAF says 3 SIR is the UO pros...then let them be the UO pros. As for developing the drills, it's definitely not them. I'm praying for the day that we can be the OPFOR for their ATEC.
Dude... be nice man! Must give the Infantry some pride what...Cannot everything you all bao ka liao right? (even if that was the original intention of you guys...heh)
Kajagugu: Eventually everything will be in digital camou-- how long it takes to get to this endstate is debatable. Also, every Infantry/Guards unit will have to know how to do urban ops, because it is part of the basic mission profile.
gaoxingdcf07: Thats a really minor issue that some additional velcro can resolve.
Originally posted by edwin3060:Dude... be nice man! Must give the Infantry some pride what...Cannot everything you all bao ka liao right? (even if that was the original intention of you guys...heh)
Kajagugu: Eventually everything will be in digital camou-- how long it takes to get to this endstate is debatable. Also, every Infantry/Guards unit will have to know how to do urban ops, because it is part of the basic mission profile.
gaoxingdcf07: Thats a really minor issue that some additional velcro can resolve.
Eh, i'm proud to wear the green beret man! But i just damn dulan. We do all the shit and 3 SIR/9 DIV INF gets all the credit.
Edwin3060-eh i always thought that you were one of us man. LOL.
Oh and by the way. The pixel camo jungle hat is UGLY!
Yeah and off topic abit. One of the 3 SIR log spec is damn damn hot. Wahahaha
Originally posted by Hellraiza:
Eh, i'm proud to wear the green beret man! But i just damn dulan. We do all the shit and 3 SIR/9 DIV INF gets all the credit.
Haha since when have you guys really got the credit for anything? I think your life is to work quietly in the background ba... :) Last year the same thing also happened with the mechanisation thing.
Heh I am abit lah... I was attached to you guys last year... went back to visit this year though... maybe you can guess who I am now? :P
Pixel Jungle hat? interesting... it was only a matter of time before it appeared-- but what pixel stuff isn't ugly anyway? Just imagine the pixel Jockey cap.. outstanding man...NOT.
Originally posted by gaoxingdcf07:i got qns over the new uniform~~~
we move the ranks from the shoulder to the chest
but if SAF go for UN or humantarian mission
how are they going to put on the Singapore Tag(the one similar to Ranger tab but it is written Singapore) and Flag without the empulatte???
My guess...it'll be just a velcro patch like the Yanks.
i still think that SAF should put sleeve onto the uniforms~~
like that when need to attached unit patch and flag is more easier ~~~