Originally posted by sgFish:hello all..i'm currently a pilot trainee with the RSAF and perhaps i'll do one for the pilot-wannabes.
---------------------------------------------
The Requirements (from RSAF website):
- interest in a military career
- combat fit (PES A or B)
Your eyesight should be:
- normal colour vision
- not more than 500 degrees per eye
- correctable to 6/6
- not more than 200 degrees astigmatism per eye
Academically, you should have a Degree, Diploma or a full GCE 'A' Level Certificate with passes in English, Maths and Physical Science at 'O' level.
And if you are planning to study in NUS, NTU or abroad, we will provide a full scholarship under the Local Study Award - Pilot.---------------------------------------------
The selection process comes in 3 stages. The COMPASS test, which is a 5-hour computerized test which tests your aptitude as a potential pilot, eg. psychomotor skills, multitasking under stress, spatial awareness, decision making and so on.Following that is the Pilot Selection Board, which is an interview with a panel of 3-4 RSAF officers, of which one of them would be a pilot, and the main things they're looking for in you is your interest in being an RSAF pilot and also leadership qualities.
And lastly comes the aeromedical checkup at RSAF Aeromedical Centre, where aviation doctors determine your medical fitness and suitability to operate in an unnatural environment which pilots do.
After passing all the stages of the selection process, you would have to perform well enough during BMT to QUALIFY for OCS. By qualify meaning that your BMT ranking and performance meets OCS requirements, hence if you don't get into OCS through BMT as an NSF, it does not mean that you do not qualify for OCS. However this being said, all aspiring pilots should perform their best during BMT to qualify for OCS.
After BMT, you would go to Air Force School to prepare for your Air Grading Cource (AGC), which is a 6-week flying course of 15 sorties at Tamworth in Australia. This assesses your ability, aptitude and airmanship in handling an aircraft. The aircraft used in this course is the Pacific Aerospace CT/4B, a two-seat aerobatic aircraft pictured below. SYFC PPL holders are exempt from this phase, the only requirement being having to fly 4 aerobatics sorties on SYFC CT/4E before leaving for Basic Wing Course.
After passing AGC, you would go to SAFTI MI for the OCS common leadership module (2 weeks) followed by the Air Force Service Term (7 weeks). This would consist of lectures about RSAF organizational structure and other Air Force related topics, and quite a bit of physical training.
All RSAF aircrew are required to go through a 10 day Jungle Survival Training (JST) course, hence you would proceed to Brunei after AFST. The JST involves lessons about jungle survival, followed by a 3 day survival test in the jungle, and navigating 4km after that.
After completing your JST, you would return to Air Force School for a 3 month long groundschool course, which consists of theory lessons and examinations regarding flying. Here you would also go through G force endurance training, or G-FET, where you would be taught how to resist G forces with the use of the centrifuge at RSAF Aeromedical Centre.
Following that, you would proceed to Pearce, Australia for a 10 month Basic Wing Course(BWC), which is a full-fledged course which teaches all the basic skills required to be proficient as a military pilot. This is currently conducted on the Pilatus PC-21 aircraft, a tandem 2-seat turboprop military trainer pictured below.
At the end of BWC, pilot trainees would be streamed to either the Fighter Wing Course (FWC), Rotary Wing Course (RWC), or the Transport Wing Course (TWC), to continue your advanced training. The FWC is held in France, and outstanding FWC pilot trainees would go to Canada under the NFTC (NATO Flying Training in Canada) programme. RWC and TWC are held locally in Singapore. These advanced wing courses would last approximately 11 months.
Given all that, pilot wannabes must note that at every stage of this process, countless people are chopped/phased out/washed out, and it is indeed a tough climb to get the coveted pair of RSAF pilot wings. If this happens, you would return to the army to serve the remainder of your NS liability, and if you have none, then ORD loh!
And getting your wings is just the beginning. As evidenced through many pilots i've spoken to, and also certain forumers, life as a pilot in an operational squadron is no bed of roses. Contrary to the 'glamourous' image an air force pilot's life has among the public, it also comes with many responsibilities and duties, which result in many weekends/public holidays burnt and also odd working hours at certain times. Also, it does not mean that as a RSAF pilot you'd be flying all your life with the RSAF. After a few years of high-key flying and getting your operational status up, most pilots end up with staff jobs in the RSAF, flying only enough to maintain currency. And not to mention the compulsory early retirement age of 44.
Bottom line is, make sure this is a career choice you would enjoy and not regret before you sign on the dotted line. Do not apply just because people think being a pilot is 'cool' and all.Hope this guide answers some questions from all you pilot wannabes out there. I would be glad to entertain any more questions if you all have any.
Thanks and out.
Er... Got a question regarding the OCS part... If let's say I failed to qualify OCS with my BMT, that doesn't mean I confirm cannot get into OCS right?
Then are there other requirements to get into OCS other than BMT?
Originally posted by KiraYamato100:Er... Got a question regarding the OCS part... If let's say I failed to qualify OCS with my BMT, that doesn't mean I confirm cannot get into OCS right?
best of best coy trainees in SISPEC r offered the chance of a crossover to OCS.
other than that, unless u r a white horse, else no other way.
Originally posted by KiraYamato100:Er... Got a question regarding the OCS part... If let's say I failed to qualify OCS with my BMT, that doesn't mean I confirm cannot get into OCS right?
Dun keng during bmt can alr. If u bmt also can keng, then seriously dont bother abt signing on. U sign on, its 12 yrs military life. If u alr keng during bmt, which is only 9 wks, i cant imagine how u will last 12 yrs. U dun keng, dun wayang, can go ocs one.
Originally posted by bloodsucker:Dun keng during bmt can alr. If u bmt also can keng, then seriously dont bother abt signing on. U sign on, its 12 yrs military life. If u alr keng during bmt, which is only 9 wks, i cant imagine how u will last 12 yrs. U dun keng, dun wayang, can go ocs one.
Yea... I have never intend to do that and I'm worried coz I'm not really so fit to do well for BMT >.<
I'll only try my best...!
Well if ur fitness is not up to scratch I'd advise u to train up. Cos fighter pilots still require a certain level of fitness.
any guideness for AOSS.
i've just passed my medical check at CMPB. next week im going RSAF Aeromedical centre.
can i know what will i expecting at there and after that.
any compass test?
Originally posted by galaxy84:any guideness for AOSS.
i've just passed my medical check at CMPB. next week im going RSAF Aeromedical centre.
any compass test?
The Air Force believes in training its people to the best of their potential. As an AOSS, you will be taught all there is know about operating, maintaining and servicing RSAF's advanced communications radar tracking and sensor systems. The training programme drawn out for you is comprehensive and challenging.
http://www.mindef.gov.sg/imindef/mindef_websites/atozlistings/air_force/careers/opportunities/aoss.html
Originally posted by galaxy84:any guideness for AOSS.
any compass test?
i have no idea what are the stages involved in the AOSS selection test, but i know there is a medical. never heard anything about going through the compass test.
and as mentioned, likewise for controllers, AOSS will also be streamed out to the various units, from the flying support squadrons to the radar squadrons.
roles of the AOSS includes doing NOTAMs, base operations, ground controllers, local assistants, controller assistants and also other duties.
same stuff, expect secondary appointments to be a major factor in your career.
the first AOSS course, the basic AOSS course is known as the 35 course. along the career, you will be sent for the 45, and lastly the 55, where upon completion, you would be entitled to wear the C3 bevret.
Finally guys !
A active forum threads for pilots wannabes.
sgFish, for the interview we have to wear formal, bring educational transcript and the letter ?
1) I lost my o level cert, do i have to bring it or i just have to provide my Diploma ?
2) What are the test like at the aeromedical ?
And lastly thanks for providing your knowledge for the next generation for pilots wannabe, on behalf of the people who are reading this post, Thanks a lot bro
basically its all about ranking. NSFs have to meet a higher percentile to qualify for OCS compared to regulars. Call up AFRC for your case.
Originally posted by v6g:Finally guys !
A active forum threads for pilots wannabes.
sgFish, for the interview we have to wear formal, bring educational transcript and the letter ?
1) I lost my o level cert, do i have to bring it or i just have to provide my Diploma ?
2) What are the test like at the aeromedical ?
And lastly thanks for providing your knowledge for the next generation for pilots wannabe, on behalf of the people who are reading this post, Thanks a lot bro
I think the diploma would do fine..check with AFRC as always if you're unsure. Yep wear formal.
The aeromedical checkup consists of a full body check, with blood/urine tests, hearing tests, eye tests, dental check, and ECG.
you're most welcome =)
so that means if i fail to qualify for OCS....its as good as "the end"? anyway i've heard of people who are specialists in unit who then applied for pilot, and after clearing all the selection...they are pulled out of their unit and then offered a chance in the airforce.
hi, i got rejected because i failed the compass test but anyway i called RSAF and they said that i could apply for other vocations that do not require a compass test results. May i know what kind vocations they are as i want to be expose to aviation so that it will help me in my careeer in becoming a commercial pilot as right now, i am unsuitable to be an RSAF pilot and i will have to wait for 2 years if i were too.
Any advice would be appreciated. And if there are other vocations that i can apply for do they also require us to sign on for ten years?
Originally posted by del_co:so that means if i fail to qualify for OCS....its as good as "the end"? anyway i've heard of people who are specialists in unit who then applied for pilot, and after clearing all the selection...they are pulled out of their unit and then offered a chance in the airforce.
well if you fail to meet the OCS percentile for regulars then yes.
The ones you are speaking about are those who failed to meet the NSF OCS BMT ranking (usually posted to SISPEC), but still meet the OCS ranking for regulars. Hence when they signed on, they are converting to regular status hence qualifying for OCS.
geez. so its GG.
hi. i've been called up for the pilot interview.
just wanna ask, when they ask for educational transcripts, does it include those school based exams? so do u just give them like your o level cert or do u also have to bring your common test etc results slips?
Originally posted by rs rs:hi. i've been called up for the pilot interview.
just wanna ask, when they ask for educational transcripts, does it include those school based exams? so do u just give them like your o level cert or do u also have to bring your common test etc results slips?
photocopies of results for semester exams
oh ya !
sgFish...can please provide some insider info for the interview like that should we prepare for or how to handle stress interview ?
ok, just a couple of question here.
If sign on as pilot liao, then went for air grading but happened that u fail air grading. Will u be throw back to OCS or they just randomly throw u to other vacation??
If throw back to OCS, will u be in army wing or air wing??
Originally posted by relgn:ok, just a couple of question here.
If sign on as pilot liao, then went for air grading but happened that u fail air grading. Will u be throw back to OCS or they just randomly throw u to other vacation??
it usually depends. i know of people kena thrown here n there. u will be at the expense of the army of course. if airforce nid ppl then they will keep you. i noe of ppl kena posted to WSO, but there are some go OCS army wing, and there are people who go become man...so it depends. no definitely answer although people will tell u the official answer is u go back to where u came from...and no its not BMTC.
Originally posted by relgn:ok, just a couple of question here.
contract void and null. so just do 2years nsf and fuck off.
hello all.
i am posted to airforce school as a airforce tech. but what is the job about? and since i am a diploma student, issit worth to sign on as i am also a pes c recruit?
where will i most likely to be posted after the initial course of training? issit a stay in unit?
hopefully someone can guide me along. thanks!
Originally posted by Chipurinu:hello all.
i am posted to airforce school as a airforce tech. but what is the job about? and since i am a diploma student, issit worth to sign on as i am also a pes c recruit?
where will i most likely to be posted after the initial course of training? issit a stay in unit?
training course time, stay in.
sign on... siao... go read all those threads on sign on... usually is against...
Originally posted by Chipurinu:hello all.
Pes C, don't sign on.....
pes c cannot sign on le. so dun even think bout it..hahaha..